Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mick Wallace and Clare Daly reportedly arrested at Shannon airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

100,000 protested? Send on a link to that please. With official attendance figures from the Gardai

From Wiki, the spring of all knowledge (along with top gun)

Ireland

In Ireland, the Dublin march was only expected to draw 20,000 people, but the actual figure was given variously as 80,000 (police estimate), 90,000 (BBC estimate), 100,000 (Guardian estimate) or 150,000 (Socialist Worker (SW) estimate). The march went from Parnell Square, passing the Department of Foreign Affairs at St. Stephen's Green, and on to the Dame Street for a rally where popular Irish folk singer Christy Moore, Kíla and Labour Party politician Michael D. Higgins were among many speakers from the platform. The march disrupted traffic for more than four hours. Protesters demanded that the Irish government stop allowing the United States military to use Ireland's Shannon Airport as a transatlantic stop-off point in bringing soldiers to the Middle East.[24]

gramar wrote: »
    Attention seekers. What in the name of jaysus would they know about military aircraft?
    A right pair of goons.
    Didn't she work for Aer Lingus and let Blondie park in her free parking space while he went off on a jaunt to some football match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

100,000 protested? Send on a link to that please. With official attendance figures from the Gardai

You seem to have missed my point completely, choosing instead to focus on a point of extreme pedantry. There are generally no official attendance figures at marches - just estimates. RTE estimated it at around 100,000. Whether it was 50,000, 100,000 or 1000,000, my point (the point that you ignored) is that it was still a fraction of the population. And nobody could possibly use those figures as a method of suggesting that the other 3 or 4 million actively supported the war. I don't seem to remember any pro-war marches in Ireland, but I wouldn't use that as evidence that nobody in the whole country supported it either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Didn't she work for Aer Lingus and let Blondie park in her free parking space while he went off on a jaunt to some football match.

Free parking at the airport is a basic right for 'da commin wourkir'.

But NOT while she's taking time out to serve her country, surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

O look, sneering elitist snobbery. How cool.

In fairness, you'd want to have a Heart of Glass not to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ah phaphuxache I'd have done the same myself, and I'm a Right-Wing Idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

eeepaulo wrote: »
    From Wiki, the spring of all knowledge (along with top gun)

Ireland

In Ireland, the Dublin march was only expected to draw 20,000 people, but the actual figure was given variously as 80,000 (police estimate), 90,000 (BBC estimate), 100,000 (Guardian estimate) or 150,000 (Socialist Worker (SW) estimate). The march went from Parnell Square, passing the Department of Foreign Affairs at St. Stephen's Green, and on to the Dame Street for a rally where popular Irish folk singer Christy Moore, Kíla and Labour Party politician Michael D. Higgins were among many speakers from the platform. The march disrupted traffic for more than four hours. Protesters demanded that the Irish government stop allowing the United States military to use Ireland's Shannon Airport as a transatlantic stop-off point in bringing soldiers to the Middle East.[24]

You are seriously putting Wikipedia forward as a reliable source for this? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

Nothing in Top Gun is relevant to this

But NOT while she's taking time out to serve her country, surely?

It is standard practice to keep the original job while being the humble servant of the Soviet. :)

RayM wrote: »
    You seem to have missed my point completely, choosing instead to focus on a point of extreme pedantry. There are generally no official attendance figures at marches - just estimates. RTE estimated it at around 100,000. Whether it was 50,000, 100,000 or 1000,000, my point (the point that you ignored) is that it was still a fraction of the population. And nobody could possibly use those figures as a method of suggesting that the other 3 or 4 million actively supported the war. I don't seem to remember any pro-war marches in Ireland, but I wouldn't use that as evidence that nobody in the whole country supported it either.

No, but you claims that only a small percentage of right wingers actively support US military presence etc is still unsubstantiated garbage. You seem to have failed to address that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Are you not capable of searching for the numbers yourself? They're not exactly hard to come by

No, but you claims that only a small percentage of right wingers actively support US military presence etc is still unsubstantiated garbage. You seem to have failed to address that point.

I stated it as an opinion, not a fact. As I said, my 'extreme right-wing blowhard' might be your 'eminently sensible moderate person'.

Are you not capable of searching for the numbers yourself? They're not exactly hard to come by

Yeah, I'll search for a number to back up a spurious figure that someone else posted. That's they way the internet works.

RTE say it was 100,000. For what it's worth, like...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I agree with our neutral position and believed it has served us well. In a Red C poll last year 82% of the Irish public felt the same and want our neutrality to continue.

For me we can allow military planes to refuel here and still remain neutral if, and only if, we have a system in place to inspect the planes. Not just US ones, any nations planes who have made a declaration that Shannon will not be used as a hub for wars.

The very fact that successive Irish govts have refused to inspect the planes shows me two things-
    1) Official Ireland's usual deference and bowing down to what it perceives to be a higher power
    2) There is likely something going on after all

The default position of Official Ireland is to bow down to power instead of asserting our nations sovereignty and making our own decisions without outside coercion. You only had to look at Michael Noonan waiting in Shannon airport for Donald Trump or Enda Kenny getting rubbed on the head by Sarkozy for an example of how Irish politicians behave in front of their 'betters'. They're scared of them so they laugh and play about nervously, all the time hoping to gain approval in the same way a lapdog would.

For me personally I don't want any wars in my name and I object to Shannon being used as a supply line for war anywhere by any nation. That's what Irish neutrality means to me. It's a shame our spineless politicians can't see that.

Well I reckon you could discount about 70% of that 82% - if they were actually educated on the options rather than "do you want to be on the side of the Brits or the Russians?"

Nodin wrote: »
    O look, sneering elitist snobbery. How cool.

Nothing elitist. I'm trying to point out the hypocrisy of Daly for giving out about her hated establishment politicians when herself and scarecrow engage in the type of behaviour that would have them roaring in the chamber if someone from FG did it.

Coat22 wrote: »
    Well I reckon you could discount about 70% of that 82% - if they were actually educated on the options rather than "do you want to be on the side of the Brits or the Russians?"

Is it not possible to be generally favourable towards the UK or the US, yet simultaneously disagree wholeheartedly with some of their military endeavours. Or is it, as George W. Bush said, a case of being either with or against them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

:mad:I'm detecting from this thread that you can only be a legitimate campaigner/protester if your background is squeaky clean, your dresscode is approved by Louie Copeland and your methods are based on absolute decorum.

Easy to see why so many kids in homes were abused and killed. Sure who'd believe some scruffy bastard, whose mother was nothing more than a whore.:mad:

Isn't humanity great.

Is it not possible to be generally favourable towards the UK or the US, yet simultaneously disagree wholeheartedly with some of their military endeavours. Or is it, as George W. Bush said, a case of being either with or against them?

Especially when they're both with and against themselves. Just check out the administrations of LBJ, Gerry Ford, Jim Carter, even the much-reviled Nixon.

RTE say it was 100,000. For what it's worth, like...

Not much.

Grandeeod wrote: »
    I'm detecting from this thread that you can only be a legitimate campaigner/protester if your background is squeaky clean, your dresscode is approved by Louie Copeland and your methods are based on absolute decorum.

Easy to see why so many kids in homes were abused and killed. Sure who'd believe some scruffy bastard, whose mother was nothing more than a whore.:D

Isn't humanity great.

Calm down with the hyperbole.

Nothing elitist. I'm trying to point out the hypocrisy of Daly for giving out about her hated establishment politicians when herself and scarecrow engage in the type of behaviour that would have them roaring in the chamber if someone from FG did it.

By throwing in an effort at a Dublin accent ? Yes it is I'm afraid.

Not much.

Which is exactly the point I was making. Finally, he gets it. :)

Grandeeod wrote: »
    I'm detecting from this thread that you can only be a legitimate campaigner/protester if your background is squeaky clean, your dresscode is approved by Louie Copeland and your methods are based on absolute decorum.

Easy to see why so many kids in homes were abused and killed. Sure who'd believe some scruffy bastard, whose mother was nothing more than a whore.:D

Isn't humanity great.

Just in case anyone misunderstands me, I'll fight anyone to the death for the right of those two dreamers to say and protest what they please. As I said earlier, I do think there's more effective and less gob****ey ways of going about it.

By throwing in an effort at a Dublin accent ? Yes it is I'm afraid.

I'm as Dublin as Rashers Tierney, Nodin. Miss Daly isn't. She's a mucker, despite the accent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Can these two clowns be fired now, k thnx bai!

Well, if you can name a TD who has been slung out of the Dail, you'll have your answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

Seriously who really gives a fcuk about whether US military traffic passes through Shannon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Nah, they are untouchable - a bit like CIE employees. :D

PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    Seriously who really gives a fcuk about whether US military traffic passes through Shannon?

*sigh

*sigh
    You do obviously. I'd hazard a guess you're in 5% of the population who does give a fcuk.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Just a small and vocal minority. Usual suspects.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

No hiding here pal. I live close to the airport and have a friend that works closely with the us military when they use the airport. Fully support them and the business they bring to the airport. Wallace and daly....... Couldn't care less about them. When the airport was in the doldrums when the daa was in control none of these politicians thought it worthwhile to help in any way. To hell with them

Yes but does your friend (or you for that matter) know if these military planes transport weapons through Shannon?

You do obviously. I'd hazard a guess you're in 5% of the population who does give a fcuk.

Really?
    http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Survey+shows+opposition+to+US+military+aircraft+using+Shannon+airport.-a097775221

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Egginacup wrote: »
    Yes but does your friend (or you for that matter) know if these military planes transport weapons through Shannon?

Sure that's no ones business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Egginacup wrote: »

He doesn't care as long as they stock up in the duty free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

No physical inspections are carried out.

Out of interest do you have any links to support this claim?

There is no default inspection of planes. A specific plane may be investigated if a member of the public complains to the Gardaí.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/politics/ahern-defends-policy-on-inspecting-us-flights-50332.html

10%.....I call BS on that. Irish Times lefty crap.

The Irish times reported on the survey, they did not carry it out. That was done by MRBI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Coat22 wrote: »

So your argument is that the vast majority (82%) of Irish people are ignorant and should instead be educated around to your point of view :rolleyes:

There is no default inspection of planes. A specific plane may be investigated if a member of the public complains to the Gardaí.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/politics/ahern-defends-policy-on-inspecting-us-flights-50332.html

That article is 7 years old. Do we have any idea if that still the case? I would have assumed things would have changed after that revelation.

When has anything changed here without a disaster to prompt it? It's the same now as it was then. that's why yer man was hopping over the fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

I bet they were sneaking around for some durty public sex video

When has anything changed here without a disaster to prompt it? It's the same now as it was then. that's why yer man was hopping over the fence.

I'll take that as a no then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Does anyone know if he got his vat bill sorted out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Ah here, Never any proof that CIA moved people through Shannon. Investigation was done as far as i know. Still no proof but i guess these lot have posters "The truth is out there".

Have said it on another thread, I can say Santa moves elves through Shannon to the north pole. That does not make it true.

Guys just a reminder, There is a world shortage on tinfoil. buy it while you can :pac:

I'll take that as a no then.

What are you on about? They haven't changed anything.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/us-plane-landed-at-shannon-armed-with-weapon-admits-gilmore-246664.html