Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mick Wallace and Clare Daly reportedly arrested at Shannon airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Ivor Callely - another snappy dresser that I omitted to mention in my earlier post. :Dhttp://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0824/134805-callelyi1/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

they were caught dogging at the viewing point ??

Now there's an image I'd prefer to forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ah here, Never any proof that CIA moved people through Shannon. Investigation was done as far as i know. Still no proof but i guess these lot have posters "The truth is out there".

Have said it on another thread, I can say Santa moves elves through Shannon to the north pole. That does not make it true.

Guys just a reminder, There is a world shortage on tinfoil. buy it while you can :pac:

Why not read up on something before you talk about it. It would be nice for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Ivor Callely - another snappy dresser that I omitted to mention in my earlier post. :Dhttp://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0824/134805-callelyi1/

& he is being sentenced on monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

They both need a good wash. Daly probably had a few ales on board as well:)

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

These two eejits god help us trying to catch a bit of hype. Wasn't the oul wan who went to prison over protesting at Shannon in the paper recently spouting rubbish about Irish planes could be possible targets of Russian weaponry because we're in cahoots with the American army? Wonder where those two clowns got their inspiration...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Nodin wrote: »
    Why not read up on something before you talk about it. It would be nice for a change.

They may have forgotten a few weapons on board. But i doubt they forgot 10-15 people with hoods on in the back. And i have read up on this it is an accusation nothing more. Just saying they have to of had help means nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I'd take it since they found that fixed weapon which seems to have been a mess up on the Americans part that they are doing checks.

In fact that article says nothing about checks not being carried out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

They may have forgotten a few weapons on board. But i doubt they forgot 10-15 people with hoods on in the back. And i have read up on this it is an accusation nothing more. Just saying they have to of had help means nothing.

If there is nothing of interest on the US military planes then why aren't they being inspected ? If there's nothing to hide why are the Iish govt acting like there is something hidden by refusing to search the planes ? Other countries search planes, I don't see why the Irish govt has to act like lapdogs on this issue. Either we're a sovereign nation or we're not but as we've seen time and time again Irish sovereignty is for sale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Maybe they had good intentions, but they should still be in the lock up. Too often, like the groups they represent (socialists), they only get upset about what the loony left media (huff post, guardian etc.) tells them to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Pity Wallace wasn't as worried about his tax affairs and decisions regarding buying of property, but sure what does he care, like the other developers he will never have to pay it back.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    If there is nothing of interest on the US military planes then why aren't they being inspected ? If there's nothing to hide why are the Iish govt acting like there is something hidden by refusing to search the planes ? Other countries search planes, I don't see why the Irish govt has to act like lapdogs on this issue. Either we're a sovereign nation or we're not but as we've seen time and time again Irish sovereignty is for sale.

Why should Joe soap have access to highly sensitive military aircraft ? The relevant authority's here inspect the planes or have done in the past. Would you feel the same right of walking around the Dail in the private areas looking for stuff you heard of on the internet ?

I'd take it since they found that fixed weapon which seems to have been a mess up on the Americans part that they are doing checks.

In fact that article says nothing about checks not being carried out.

Try reading it.
    "For years now Shannonwatch have been asking for proper inspections of US military planes at Shannon, and this admission by Minister Gilmore vindicates our demands. Regular and routine inspections are now required until such time as the US military use of the airport is finally ended.”

There is no default inspection regime at Shannon. That's why the two were there today.

Why should Joe soap have access to highly sensitive military aircraft ? The relevant authority's here inspect the planes or have done in the past. Would you feel the same right of walking around the Dail in the private areas looking for stuff you heard on the internet ?

No they do not, nor have they. I see you didn't take my advice.

Have you a report categorically stating the opposite ? Plenty of Gardaí operations going on people are not privy to same with the defence force and Air Corps.

the state is argueing that these us miltary planes are not enagaged in military operations thats the nonsense of the states arguement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

they were caught dogging at the viewing point ??

Now that would be some beautiful baby.....

Have you a report categorically stating the opposite ? Plenty of Gardaí operations going on people are not privy to same with the defence force and Air Corps.

Why would they have a covert inspections regime whose very existence was secret? Its a bit much that you were assigning tin foil hats to others earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭Chickentown

Who gives a crap. We all knew they were idiots anyway.

Yes they must be idiots, the newspaper I read told me so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Yeah, if they wore lovely €1000.00 suits and spouted platitudes, they would be great lads altogether. FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭Chickentown

geeksauce wrote: »
    Climbing a fence and breaching security is a great way to go about it, even if the use of Shannon by military planes going to war zones is wrong, breaching airport security is most definitely wrong.

Lets tackle the serious issue here; two people climbed over a fence.

When the newspapers finish investigating this to the fullest they may have a little time left over to investigate what is actually going on in Shannon airport with the last ten years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

For medicinal purposes, no doubt.

Lets tackle the serious issue here; two people climbed over a fence.

When the newspapers finish investigating this to the fullest they may have a little time left over to investigate what is actually going on in Shannon airport with the last ten years.

Yeah, that's a really serious issue. Puts the recession etc in context.

Why would they have a covert inspections regime whose very existence was secret? Its a bit much that you were assigning tin foil hats to others earlier.

What's tinfoil hat about the government not shouting from the roof tops what different agency are up to? What they have said is enough in relation to military activity. Do people need a detailed inspection report every time one lands ? Would be very surprised that they were not inspected for a number of reasons like quarantine issues, customs. I would assume authorities attached to Shannon inspect all planes periodically commercial or otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Try reading it.
    "For years now Shannonwatch have been asking for proper inspections of US military planes at Shannon, and this admission by Minister Gilmore vindicates our demands. Regular and routine inspections are now required until such time as the US military use of the airport is finally ended.”

There is no default inspection regime at Shannon. That's why the two were there today.

I did see that but fail to see it's actual usefulness in confirming your original claim.

Is Shannonwatch actually involved in carrying out inspections? Do they work from within the airport?

They don't. Basically a weapon was found on an inspection, which was there due to a mistake, that incident was chased up with the Americans. Shannonwatch then say they are vindicated in calling for inspections of the aircraft. Inspections like the one that was carried out anyway.

I did see that but fail to see it's actual usefulness in confirming your original claim.

Is Shannonwatch actually involved in carrying out inspections? Do they work from within the airport?

They don't. Basically a weapon was found on an inspection, which was there due to a mistake, that incident was chased up with the Americans. Shannonwatch then say they are vindicated in calling for inspections of the aircraft. Inspections like the one that was carried out anyway.

Do these 'Shannonwatch' people not have jobs to go to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Think of all the talented, decent Irish people who could have excelled in the Dáil if they had only got elected over the years. David Hall, not elected. Mary Robinson, not elected. Mary McAleese, not elected. Paul Sommerville (economist) not elected. Christine Buckley (advocate for victims of child abuse), not elected. Hanna Sheehy Skeffington, suffragette and nationalist, not elected.

It really makes you despair that Daly & Wallace managed to get their place in the annals of Irish parliamentary history, and so many capable others have not.

Wonder if people would like Td's just walking in to their gaffs for random inspections.

That's right, anybody who puts their head above the parapet is obviously a social welfare sponger, probably sell drugs too. :rolleyes:

it was only because it was plainly visisble on the outside of the plane that it was highlighted, they were no 'inspections'

So your saying the ground crew just went are sure it's grand and did not report it ? are you saying someone phoned in and told them. These planes get inspected. Any ship, plane ,car via ferry can be randomly inspected via different agency's. From Gardaí to customs to quarantine issues the list goes on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

No great supporter of Mick, but I will say that he always speaks on issues from the heart AS HE SEES IT. That is not to say that he isn't as mad as a bag of spanners, but I do not think he is on any agenda to deceive the public from public office.

I do cringe when I see him in the Dail wearing a Torino jersey and then see him later on the same day, standing on his own, behind the goal, watching a ****ty LOI football match. Then I think that he puts the same passion in to that, as if it was the World Cup final and he hasn't shafted the country half as much as his Louis Copeland wearing predecessors.

He isn't to my taste but he isn't a demon either. It took far worse than him to force our sons and daughters to emigrate and it took career shysters to force many of us to lose our jobs

These planes get inspected.

I probably have missed something in the thread, but when did this start?

I know the UN HRC and the European Parliament criticized Ireland for not having inspections in place, and ireland was regarded as being in breach of international law. I assume from your comment this has changed?

That said, Wallace and Daly's behaviour was wrong even if there are no inspections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

So your saying the ground crew just went are sure it's grand and did not report it ? are you saying someone phoned in and told them. These planes get inspected. Any ship, plane ,car via ferry can be randomly inspected via different agency's. From Gardaí to customs to quarantine issues the list goes on.

Lol.

"Hello Mr CIA heavy, sure we'll just nip in there and have a quick look, shall we?"

"No. Fcuk off."

"Right you be so..If you need anything, we'll be over here, Sur"

"Fcuk off now."

"Grand so."

Lol.

"Hello Mr CIA heavy, sure we'll just nip in there and have a quick look, shall we?"

"No. Fcuk off."

"Right you be so..If you need anything, we'll be over here, Sur"

"Fcuk off now."

"Grand so."

Lol this just Reminds me of Archer would he be sporting a Tactical Turtle neck ?

/in accordance with international practice, foreign military aircraft passing through Ireland with the permission of the Government are not subject to routine searches or inspections. As the Tánaiste outlined in a response to the Deputy in this House on 19 November 2013, the principle of sovereign immunity applies automatically to foreign State or military aircraft.
    http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2014-04-03a.34&s=military+inspections#g36.r

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

They have the same jobs the Shell to Sea and Occupy guys and girls have.

As the Tánaiste outlined in a response to the Deputy in this House on 19 November 2013, the principle of sovereign immunity applies automatically to foreign State or military aircraft.
    http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2014-04-03a.34&s=military+inspections#g36.r
    We're generally talking about civilian aircraft associated with the US military activities here, as far as I can see. No such immunity attaches to those aircraft, only to military aircraft.

Gardaí have powers to obtain warrants and search civilian aircraft landing at Shannon under the Criminal Justice (UN Convention against Torture) Act 2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Why should Joe soap have access to highly sensitive military aircraft ? The relevant authority's here inspect the planes or have done in the past. Would you feel the same right of walking around the Dail in the private areas looking for stuff you heard of on the internet ?

Please outline the current regime for inspecting planes. You can't ? Because they don't inspect them. If you think they do then that is extraordinarily naive. Sure they might have inspected one plane in the past, it's called tokenism. The American embassy was probably laughing about it at the time.

Fact of the matter is if they inspected them then we wouldn't have a problem with people protesting them not inspecting them. As I said before if there is nothing to hide why are all parties here acting like there is something to hide ? Why not just be open and transparent if you're not doing anything that is illegal ?

That's right, anybody who puts their head above the parapet is obviously a social welfare sponger, probably sell drugs too. :rolleyes:

I wouldn't go that far, but wouldn't imagine many pay their own way.

conorh91 wrote: »
    We're generally talking about civilian aircraft associated with the US military activities here, as far as I can see. No such immunity attaches to those aircraft, only to military aircraft.

Gardaí have powers to obtain warrants and search civilian aircraft landing at Shannon under the Criminal Justice (UN Convention against Torture) Act 2000.

no we're talking about military aircraft, both planes on the runway today were US military aircraft afaik

conorh91 wrote: »

they also have instructions by the AG afaik not search the cia planes, as long as the the torture and internment happens elsewhere the state is ok to wave these planes through.
    In 2006, in a conversation with a member of Shannonwatch, a detective superintendent referred to a "letter of advice" from the Attorney General to the Garda Commissioner that US military and CIA associated aircraft at Shannon were not to be searched. Again on 30th October 2007, at Shannon Airport, an officer informed the same Shannonwatch member that Gardaí at Shannon had been instructed by the Attorney General not to search US military or CIA associated aircraft at the airport.

http://www.shannonwatch.org/story/garda-reports-instructions-not-search-rendition-planes-need-be-clarified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Fair play to them I say they are showing a pair of balls at least even if they are definitely shagging

Wonder if that lad from Libya passed through...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,281 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

So if we land in Shannon and a couple of nutters start running towards the aircraft, can we shoot them?

smurfjed wrote: »
    So if we land in Shannon and a couple of nutters start running towards the aircraft, can we shoot them?

Not sure what you mean, but if airport security was being properly implemented, OAP's, students and hippy TDs shouldn't be able to get near planes unless they are boarding for a flight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

The place needs a few snipers to take care of any security breaches.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Please outline the current regime for inspecting planes. You can't ? Because they don't inspect them. If you think they do then that is extraordinarily naive. Sure they might have inspected one plane in the past, it's called tokenism. The American embassy was probably laughing about it at the time.

Fact of the matter is if they inspected them then we wouldn't have a problem with people protesting them not inspecting them. As I said before if there is nothing to hide why are all parties here acting like there is something to hide ? Why not just be open and transparent if you're not doing anything that is illegal ?

Neither do you so what's your point, hearsay some report that was never ever corroborated. Here is an idea Joe over there is not doing anything wrong. Can we just come into your house Joe you know to confirm your not doing anything wrong. You know for transparency.

The place needs a few snipers to take care of any security breaches.

No, the place needs proper security and then there wouldn't be any security breaches.