Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Note in OP, 13/8

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

GavRedKing wrote: »
    My follow up on Lord TSC warning was regarding the doping talk, there's a seperate thread setup for doping talk, regardless if Vidal is a Utd target the doping chat dragged in talk of other sports in sportsmen so its not really relevant so I just want to stop it right there.

Talk about Vidal all ye like but try and leave any talks of doping out of it.

Discussion about the possibility that a United transfer target has been doping is definitely on topic. Edit: And there are separate threads for discussions of all sorts that are still valid topics for team threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I'm with Pro F on this. How can you only discuss part of a rumour?

Fair enough if you're talking about Lance Armstrong or whatever, but if it's a target for your club? Definitely needs more clarity please Gav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,436 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Coat22 wrote: »
    He could be but the state I was in that night I doubt it

Flopper_pipe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

MagicIRL wrote: »
    BACKSEAT MOD, BACKSEAT MODDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD!!

Have we signed anyone yet? The buzz of Herrera and Shaw has worn off! :pac::pac:

Noooo! That's not what I was... Damn it I'm deleting that post just in case. :p

What post? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I think its pretty clear, talk about Vidal, dont talk about Vidal doping.

Theres not 1 shred of evidence to suggest he or Juventus curerntly dope, other than Juventus apparently talking part in it in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Pro. F wrote: »
    Discussion about the possibility that a United transfer target has been doping is definitely on topic. Edit: And there are separate threads for discussions of all sorts that are still valid topics for team threads.
    I'm with Pro F on this. How can you only discuss part of a rumour?

Fair enough if you're talking about Lance Armstrong or whatever, but if it's a target for your club? Definitely needs more clarity please Gav.

Mod Post: Can either of you produce any reputable links at all to any suggestions that the player has been involved with or even suspected of illegal drug use?

Pretty sure the answer to that is going to be a resounding no, and it should be pretty clear as a result as to why any talk on here that links an individual with such illegal activities is not going to be allowed.

If doping in sport is something you guys want to get into as part of a general discussion, then you have already been pointed towards a thread to do so in. If discussing the "possible" drug usage by an individual who has never been suspected/investigated/named as being involved in such activities is what you want to do, then I suggest you do so on some other website and see how that plays out for you.

This is not going to drag on, and it is not going to eat up anymore of my time or that of my co mods.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

You want to talking about doping, you can discuss Juve, but Vidal has never failed a test. When the day comes that he has it can be discussed but that's a different type of rumour to the ones that directly concern our club.

I personally don't mind talking about it but there's a structure for a reason

I've been roped in to this for originally saying that doping doesn't fall under the threads category unless Vidal was involved in it. Then I asked for clarity from Gav and now according to Kess I somehow need to prove Vidal is doping despite not even talking about him doping. Talk about a headwreck!

Any signings yet? Please God let there be a signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Christ almighty

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

I miss Bebe.

ElChe32 wrote: »
    I miss Bebe.

He was the hero we need, but the not the one we deserve.

ElChe32 wrote: »
    I miss Bebe.

Yeah it's gonna suck for us when he bangs in 35 goals this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

Macca07 wrote: »
    Vermaelen
    Alex Song
    Nigel de Jong
    Mat Hummels
    Marco Reus
    Vidal
    Cuardrado
    Mehdi Benatia
    Guarin

Have I missed anyone?

Heskey

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭steps_3314

bbc reporting Vidal has signed for United. Anyone know if this is tru or just more speculation.

Heskey

You may laugh but he's more prolific now than at any time in the last decade. :pac:

steps_3314 wrote: »
    bbc reporting Vidal has signed for United. Anyone know if this is tru or just more speculation.

WHERE?????????

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,691 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Holy ****, it's there.

But so is Liverpool being favorites to sign Falcao.....so.....

EDIT: Found it. They are quoting an Italian paper.

Juventus midfielder Arturo Vidal has agreed personal terms with Manchester United on a £182,000-a-week contract, reports Italian newspaper La Stampa.
    Italian champions Juventus are said to have asked for a final decision from Vidal on whether he plans to leave or not on Wednesday and La Stampa reports he has agreed terms on a five-year deal.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/live/28528600

This is all I've got from the Transfer page on BBC.

317517.JPG

EDIT: BBC saying report is from http://www.lastampa.it/2014/08/07/sport/i-soldi-dello-united-o-la-sua-juve-la-scelta-di-vidal-Dl8Jfy4F4pCDxM4tqXq9HP/premium.html

BBC aren't reporting it, they're saying that someone else is reporting it:
    Vidal terms agreed?

Juventus midfielder Arturo Vidal has agreed personal terms with Manchester United on a £182,000-a-week contract, reports Italian newspaper La Stampa.

Not the conspicuous question mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

35518b95c77b884802b9499c4c310750.gif

It also claims Allesandro del Piero is a former defender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭statto25

Christ I got very excited there for a minute. Feck!

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭steps_3314

Fair point - still sounds promising though..
    BBC aren't reporting it, they're saying that someone else is reporting it:

Not the conspicuous question mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

nothing_to_see_here.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,691 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

According to the Man United reddit, La Stampa is super-reliable about Juventus news, since...

Both Juve and La Stampa are owned by the Agnelli family (La Stampa through Fiat and Juve through Exor (who have a 30% share in Fiat anyway)) and both are Torinese. Pretty sure if this story was complete bull**** it would have been blocked.

statto25 wrote: »
    Christ I got very excited there for a minute. Feck!

I'm reformed! My whole boards career flashed before my eyes if I had been banned before we signed Vidal and missed out on the gif party.

I'LL NEVER BE WARNED AGAIN!

Probably. Maybe. Well... not as much.

EDIT: Please forgive me. Keep this link on standby, one and all. http://www.reactiongifs.com/

Lord TSC wrote: »
    According to the Man United reddit, La Stampa is super-reliable about Juventus news, since...

Both Juve and La Stampa are owned by the Agnelli family (La Stampa through Fiat and Juve through Exor (who have a 30% share in Fiat anyway)) and both are Torinese. Pretty sure if this story was complete bull**** it would have been blocked.

Could be Juve using their mouthpiece to push on the deal. It's a lot of money

I'm reformed! My whole boards career flashed before my eyes if I had been banned before we signed Vidal and missed out on the gif party.

I'LL NEVER BE WARNED AGAIN!

Probably. Maybe. Well... not as much.

Pleasepleaseplease find a reason to give him a yellow for this. :D

CAN'T HELP MYSELF.

enthusiasm.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭weisses

hogandrew wrote: »
    What was it that van gaal called De jong during the world cup?

Chef Incidental Pressing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭Mr_Red

Vidal and Reus to be signed this week

I can feel it

vidal-penalty.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

ericzeking wrote: »
    I personally don't care if we sign Vidal, Hummels or some unknown 19 year old Dutch centre back for a million quid so long as they are the pick of the manager and they are the ones he wants to fit his system and we play well as a result.

Too many fans are too fixated on big names, big reputations and big pricetags.

wow, fans of the biggest club in the world wanting 1 or 2 of the best players in the world to be signed....after our CE portraying we had big intentions to sign the best players and could break world records to show our power...

How dare they.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

Thomas Vermaelen has a verbally agreed a deal with Manchester United which would see him earn £100,000-a-week. (Source: Telegraph)

Just read this ... I know it's from twitter and stuff get posted all the time.. but has anyone anymore info on it. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

“Italian champions Juventus are said to have asked for a final decision from Vidal on whether he plans to leave or not on Wednesday”

Does that mean they asked him on Wednesday or they asked him to make a final decision by Wednesday? Presume it’s the former in which case he’ll mull it over for a few more weeks before he decides that new improved offer he’ll surely get from Juve is worth staying for after all.

From ManUtd.com
    Frans Hoek claims Manchester United's new coaching team are always seeking perfection. The goalkeeper coach worked with Louis van Gaal at Ajax, Barcelona, Bayern Munich and the Netherlands and enjoys a fabulous relationship with the manager.

In an exclusive interview with MUTV, the 57-year-old touched upon his philosophy and methods that have proved so successful over the years.

"It's like we both are searching for perfection," he explained. "For goalkeeper coaches, this is more normal than regular coaches as we know, as a goalkeeper, when you make a mistake, it could be very painful. So we try to work to perfection - to make as few mistakes as possible. What I find with Louis is we're both physical educators and have Masters degrees in Physical Education so we hit each other there as well.
    "We are not like former players who did not have a University education as well, so we meet each other there and, as well as looking forward to the feeling of being a player, we also have scientific backgrounds that we really use in teaching and developing and stuff like that.

"We complement each other in the things we do and that means working with Louis is always working at the highest level, always going for the highest prizes, and for the best clubs in the world. It feels comfortable. It feels good.

"We still develop every day," he insisted. "There is no routine. [There's] no 'we did it like that so we do it again'. Every day is a challenge and completely different. I haven't seen two days the same as long as I've worked with him.
    You cannot be in a routine - you have to develop.

"You look at what happens to the club and look to the players and their way of playing and how to influence that. I can only say what works is he asks me all the time and I say 'yes'. We have a very good co-operation and understanding together.

"One of the things I like as well in that co-operation is we always strive for a better way of doing it. The society is changing every day and we have to change with it. The players change too. The players you see now are not like the players of 10 years ago. So we have to look at it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Coat22 wrote: »
    “Italian champions Juventus are said to have asked for a final decision from Vidal on whether he plans to leave or not on Wednesday”

Does that mean they asked him on Wednesday or they asked him to make a final decision by Wednesday? Presume it’s the former in which case he’ll mull it over for a few more weeks before he decides that new improved offer he’ll surely get from Juve is worth staying for after all.

They mean, when he leaves*, would he prefer to leave on a Wednesday, a Thursday, or a Friday. If it's Wednesday they can get him a cake from the local bakery, but they're usually booked solid with weddings etc closer to the weekend so they'd have to order in advance or from somewhere further away.

* which might be 2018, they just like to know these things in advance

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Kess73 wrote: »
    Mod Post: Can either of you produce any reputable links at all to any suggestions that the player has been involved with or even suspected of illegal drug use?

Pretty sure the answer to that is going to be a resounding no, and it should be pretty clear as a result as to why any talk on here that links an individual with such illegal activities is not going to be allowed.

The answer is not a "no" at all.

The trials and convictions at Juventus for organised doping in the 90s are well known (here's one reputable link of many easily found). A conviction for organised doping is exactly what you would call reasonable grounds for suspecting a club of organised doping. As I said earlier, Vidal has phenomenal stamina so it is reasonable to link the two and raise the question when discussing the proposition of buying the player.

Since the rest of your post doesn't contain a direct question I'll respond to it by PM like a normal mod note.

Hummels is off, according to the Daily Star. So... it may still be in fact on, or never was on, or was always off, anyway...

I found this http://www.reddit.com/r/reddevils/ which seems to be a decent spot for people giving rumours and reasons why you should/shouldn't believe them. All things point to Le Stampa as a very reliable source for Juve news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

This thread has gone mad! Less posts about me and my "father" please.......

• Registered Users Posts: 33,758 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

This thread has gone mad! Less posts about me and my "father" please.......

You’re not 20 years and 3 months old are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

bangkok wrote: »

Was in Manchester in June with a few lads from college. Went to a karting track and Ravel Morrison was in the session after us!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

I would suggest that the gifs be prepared now in readiness. There seems to be a lot of news and rumour flying around today, this is a crucial few days now before the start of the season - so it would be best to prepare the gifs and have them ready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

13825706558797.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

Lord TSC wrote: »

http://sportwitness.ning.com/forum/topics/vidal-for-just-32m-and-he-wants-manchester-united

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

after our CE portraying we had big intentions to sign the best players

He didn't say that though, he said if LvG wants the best players we can compete for them financially.