Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

czechlin wrote: »
    Once years ago I had to use the facilities in Busaras. I've seen my share of bus/train station toilets but this by far was the worse! I felt like I was walking the line and wasn't meant to return among the living. I did come back. Utterly disgusted, feeling like I needed a bath in bleach. Yuck. And they had the cheek to charge 20 cents!

Careful what you wish for - the bus station facilities in Limerick they use so much bleach in there it'd tear the eyes (well, 'eye' in my case :pac:) out of you! :eek:

They could do with one of those weed killer sized backpacks for around the station though, I often picture something like Ghostbusters :D

Feeling flat. Isn't feeling flat shyte? I'd rather be sad, or mad, or better yet - happy. But "flat" is just so meh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

When stuff breaks soon after you've cleaned it. I descaled the kettle a week ago, a task I hate doing. I picked up the kettle to fill it earlier and there was a puddle of water under it, I could see the water trickling down the plastic level indicator. I stupidly paid 60 odd euro for that, I don't usually pay silly prices for kettles but I got sucked into the red morphy richards one.

Worst kettle I've ever owned, even though it was the most expensive. So now I've reserved a 15 euro one in Argos to collect tomorrow. Never buying an expensive kettle after the Morphy Richards one.

Been using a basic plastic kenwood kettle for the last 2 years and will never get a fancy one again.

used to have a fancy stainless steel one before that. the stainless steel ones inevitably get streaks of limescale on the outside of them from water trickling down the side when filling it, ends up looking fooking awful then it went and broke after a year will defo be sticking to basic plastic ones in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Feeling flat. Isn't feeling flat shyte? I'd rather be sad, or mad, or better yet - happy. But "flat" is just so meh.

That post sounds like turbo charged Fat Christy for some reason.

I'll be around in a minute with one of these:

http://www.iosss.com/shopping/images/aa0504.jpg

and a couple of these:

http://partyinflatablesinc.com/inflatables-for-sale/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/s/u/sumo-adult-inflated.jpg

And you'll be laughing in no time. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Like you just don't care or couldn't be ars*d with anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

czechlin wrote: »
    Once years ago I had to use the facilities in Busaras. I've seen my share of bus/train station toilets but this by far was the worse! I felt like I was walking the line and wasn't meant to return among the living. I did come back. Utterly disgusted, feeling like I needed a bath in bleach. Yuck. And they had the cheek to charge 20 cents!

I opened a door of a toilet at a London Tube station once. Words fail me, it was unusable, to be polite about the state of it. I think I've mostly blanked the memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Gongoozler wrote: »
    A woman on the bus having a conversation through face to face chat. Yes the whole bus can hear everything.

Everyone should join in. I've often been tempted when someone is yelling into a phone, in a public place, to start a competing yell. :D

I can't recommend one of these highly enough. I have zero interest in exercise, etc, but I got up on one of these the other day and laughed my ass off, they're deadly altogether.

Ugh, embedding YouTube videos, pain in the proverbial, I don't want to share the bloody thing, I just want the link and not that youtu.be shyte! :mad:

Anyway, a vibrating stepper pad thing!

"storms off in frustration* :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

gugleguy wrote: »
    That post sounds like turbo charged Fat Christy for some reason.

You've got Fat Christy on the brain. ;)

It's a curse. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

It's a curse. :pac:

LOL. Maybe he needs to be exorcised.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I can't recommend one of these highly enough. I have zero interest in exercise, etc, but I got up on one of these the other day and laughed my ass off, they're deadly altogether.

Ugh, embedding YouTube videos, pain in the proverbial, I don't want to share the bloody thing, I just want the link and not that youtu.be shyte! :mad:

Anyway, a vibrating stepper pad thing!

"storms off in frustration* :(

It doesn't trump inflatable sumo.
    Nothing trumps inflatable sumo.

Why oh why are those 'peel and reseal' packets of sliced cheese allowed make such outlandish claims?

Reseal my eye. :(

Like you just don't care or couldn't be ars*d with anything?

Yeh. That.

Be grand.

My favourite running pants were in the car. They needed to be washed. So I went and put all the dark things together to wash with them. And then I put the wash on but I had forgotten to put in my favourite pants >.< I might have to wear shorts for my race on Saturday and I didn't want to wear shorts. I wanted to wear my favourite pants.

Yeh. That.

Be grand.

My favourite running pants were in the car. They needed to be washed. So I went a put all the dark things together to wash with them. And then I out the wash on put I had forgotten to put in my favourite pants >.< I might have to wear shorts for my race on Saturday and I didn't want to wear shorts. I wanted to wear my favourite pants.

Yep, I can identify with that.

I have 2 pairs of running pants I absolutely love and then loads of other pairs I hate. My runs are never as good when I'm wearing the sh*tty pairs. :(

trying to watch a movie on SolarMovie and it keeps laaaagggging :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Candie wrote: »
    Why oh why are those 'peel and reseal' packets of sliced cheese allowed make such outlandish claims?

Reseal my eye. :(
    Yeah, I just put them in a zip and seal bag, especially that vile, evil smelling blue cheese my husband loves.

My runs are never as good when I'm wearing the sh*tty pairs. :(

Of course your runs are no good if you're wearing sh!tty pants.

Wash them Christy. :pac:

Yep, I can identify with that.

I have 2 pairs of running pants I absolutely love and then loads of other pairs I hate. My runs are never as good when I'm wearing the sh*tty pairs. :(

My favourite ones just fit perfectly and I don't feel like as much of a heffer in them as I do in my other ones. And they've a tie string because my waist is feckin tinch so everything falls down. And they've a pocket that fits my phone because I can't bear anything restrictive like an arm thingy or the likes.

Jaysus whoops. They're just trousers would ya stop :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

LynnGrace wrote: »
    I opened a door of a toilet at a London Tube station once. Words fail me, it was unusable, to be polite about the state of it. I think I've mostly blanked the memory.

Years ago we were travelling by train from York to London then on to Essex for Christmas. That train comes down from Scotland and there was really bad snow. The train was delayed for ages and the power went when it finally pulled into York station. Eventually we got on and every single toilet on the train was disgusting, I've tried to erase the memory. Thankfully in those days you could smoke on the train, so I could try to ignore the urgency of my full bladder. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

My favourite ones just fit perfectly and I don't feel like as much of a heffer in them as I do in my other ones. And they've a tie string because my waist is feckin tinch so everything falls down. And they've a pocket that fits my phone because I can't bear anything restrictive like an arm thingy or the likes.

Jaysus whoops. They're just trousers would ya stop :rolleyes:

If you have a tiny waist, how can you look like a heifer?

People who put themselves down annoy me now.

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    If you have a tiny waist, how can you look like a heifer?

People who put themselves down annoy me now.

My arse and thighs are not so tiny :)

There is a phrase for this situation, but mind has gone blank.

People who couldn't be bothered to get up of their arse to do something about their bodies should be forced to go to gym before docs see them.

"But its in my genes" while reaching for the hob-nobs. No its in your belly & the sh1te you put in it.

Exercise is addictive though.

People who couldn't be bothered to get up of their arse to do something about their bodies should be forced to go to gym before docs see them.

"But its in my genes" while reaching for the hob-nobs. No its in your belly & the sh1te you put in it.

I'll think of you while I'm running a 15km race over a mountain on Saturday and I'll laugh at your suggestion I should do more exercise :)

Have you seen Whoopsy? :eek:

She definitely does not need to be forced into a gym. Plus we were talking about running! :P

I'll think of you while I'm running a 15km race over a mountain on Saturday and I'll laugh at your suggestion I should do more exercise :)

There ya go, I motivate in mysterious ways.

Oh it won't be motivation. It'll be giggling at the patheticness and ignorance of your post.

My motivation comes from my friends, and from my heart.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

When somebody goes into a chipper and orders a "garlic cheese chip".

Do they not know you could get a whole bag of chip"S " cheese and garlic for the same price?

Oh it won't be motivation. It'll be giggling at the patheticness and ignorance of your post.

My motivation comes from my friends, and from my heart.

Been a long day, & prob didn't come across right.

I know the feeling :)

I get plenty of exercise flapping my gums and chomping on chocolate digestives all day, them hob-nobs have a woeful habit of sticking between my teeth :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Dying for a cuppa when I got home today and there was no milk left.
    And I had €0.30cent to my name.

Was too embarrassed to ask my neighbour for a cup of milk, so just had water :o

fussyonion wrote: »

Next time you have money you should buy milk powder to keep in your press for emergencies. It's not the same but it's better than nothing.

If you lived nearby I'd bring you milk :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Really? My neighbour asked me for bog roll, with a pained expression on his face before. I couldn't refuse :D

Been there fussy, never be embarrassed to ask for help, there'll come a day when you can return the favour :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

whirlpool wrote: »
    When you're watching an American tv show, one of the hour-long ones, and it's been on for ten five minutes.... and then the intro/credits an ad break comes on. Wtf?

FYP.

Next time you have money you should buy milk powder to keep in your press for emergencies. It's not the same but it's better than nothing.

If you lived nearby I'd bring you milk :(

Aww you're so sweet!
    Good idea re: milk powder, I'll get some tomorrow when I go shopping. Better than nothing :)

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Been there fussy, never be embarrassed to ask for help, there'll come a day when you can return the favour :)

Aw I know. I will next time it happens. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

When I'm in bed, sick, and needy. So I want cuddles but he's too warm, so I push him away from me and then I get cold again and feel miserable. There's no perfect temps when I'm sick, I'm either too warm or too cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

If my neighbour called round to ask to borrow a cup of milk, my first thought would be "What is this, 1950?"

But it wouldn't even cross my mind that it might be due to financial issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭bronn

Kids. Tipp-ex. Carpet.

:mad:

And Mr Clever Clogs thought he'd cover the place in turps to get the stains out. Now, we've a ruined carpet (bleached in places) and the place stinks to high heaven. It's only feckin' Tipp-ex and the kids didn't mean it but I went nuclear. And I feel bad about it.

But the carpet is ruined. <sobs quietly>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Wisdom tooth coming up, half my gum is flapping off and swollen.

Swollen tonsil on the same side. makes chewing and swallowing a nightmare. Even breathing is painful, its throbbing so bad every time I open my mouth :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

The coffee machine in work.
    It's a big beast of a yolk and presumable expensive so why does the coffee taste so awful?
    Usually I bring in my own coffee, but I've run out so am having to drink this awful muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

That I didnt say no to the shots on the counter at last call!!
    Actually rewind further.....that I didnt say no when I got a call to go out with the buddies!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

traffic is light but in about two weeks its going to be mayhem ..............

sigh ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Am I a heartless person because RIP threads annoy me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

smash wrote: »
    Am I a heartless person because RIP threads annoy me?

well, since we are being honest - a fb friend of mine... one of their elderly relatives passed away...

and they have posting pictures and big long messages to their relative that passed away on their timeline... which everyone obviously sees.

I don't get it. and it annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭foggy

mauzo! wrote: »
    Wisdom tooth coming up, half my gum is flapping off and swollen.

Swollen tonsil on the same side. makes chewing and swallowing a nightmare. Even breathing is painful, its throbbing so bad every time I open my mouth :(

Wisdom teeth in general.
    I got mine removed over a week ago. My face is still swollen, my mouth is still sore and I still can't open my mouth fully. And it's made my ear sore too :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Poor Foggy and Poor Mauzo. Hope you both feel better very soon