Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CL: St. Pats vs. Legia Warsaw (Agg: 1-1) KO: 7:45pm

• 23-07-2014 7:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭

Live on Setanta Ireland.

Massive, massive game tonight for Pats in the Champions League 2nd round qualifier.

A 0-0 draw will put them through.

Would love to see them do it but I think playing in Tallaght instead of Richmond will swing the game in Legia's favour.

2-1 win for Legia for me but hopefully I'm wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

What's the reason they've gone to Tallaght?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,374 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Although I'm now dreading a potential Pats/Celtic match for obvious reasons, I still wish them well tonight. I expect Legia to get it together and win by 2 or 3 though.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Ugh

Go Pats, go

*shivers*

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Soups123 wrote: »
    What's the reason they've gone to Tallaght?

The Guards for security reasons.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Stadium starting to fill a bit now. It's strange being in Tallaght for a non Rovers game.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Best of luck to St.Pats tonight. Expecting a strong Legia performance though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

best of luck lads. hopefully a sell out at tallaght tonight. do the country proud !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,496 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Best of luck Pats, hope ye can do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Full time ref.

Talking about time wasting after 14 mins....

Damn

Damn it anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,979 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I thought Pats should have had a free just before the goal, just when Legia got back possession. Good finish in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Oat23 wrote: »
    Although I'm now dreading a potential Pats/Celtic match for obvious reasons, I still wish them well tonight. I expect Legia to get it together and win by 2 or 3 though.

Why would ya dread a Pats/Celtic tie? Makes no sense, I'd imagine most Irish soccer fans would love to see it happen.

eagle eye wrote: »
    I thought Pats should have had a free just before the goal, just when Legia got back possession. Good finish in fairness.

Same here, fairly clattered him!
    TheCitizen wrote: »
    Why would ya dread a Pats/Celtic tie? Makes no sense, I'd imagine most Irish soccer fans would love to see it happen.

Not for this thread...dear god, not for this thread!

Ohhhh thought that was going in!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Unlucky by fahey but the set pieces are gonna have to be a lot better than they were at that corner

Good play there from Pats to get the chance there, Legia keeper did well.

Considering most Irish soccer fans don't follow the league, yes, you are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,133 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Serious support for Polish team here, completely out singing the St, Pats fans which must be fairly embarrassing.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Mushy wrote: »

Not for this thread...dear god, not for this thread!

Still plenty of time left, hopefully we will see that Pats/Celtic tie still.
    Pats up against it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,566 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Serious support for Polish team here, completely out singing the St, Pats fans which must be fairly embarrassing.

Probably not that embarassing. They'd outsing almost every Premiership club too.

Still plenty of time left, hopefully we will see that Pats/Celtic tie still.
    Pats up against it now.

I know. I'd like to see the actual match, but its the associated crap that will go with it is why people don't want to see it!

Mushy wrote: »
    I know. I'd like to see the actual match, but its the associated crap that will go with it is why people don't want to see it!

By crap you mean the national embarrassment of Irish people outnumbering Pats fans 4 to 1 as they support the away team.

and the overcompensating LOI fans...

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭shteve

What are you on about?? Best fans in the world and all that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Pats were shocking for the goal, although it could have been argued that it was a free, need to play the whistle ffs

Hard to see a way back now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,133 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Pats been terrorised both by the Poles and the "away" support.

Hope they can come back and get a result although I highly doubt it.

Was like watching Brazil the way Pats defended for the first goal.
    David Luiz, eat your heart out

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Maybe that's how it appears on the telly, Pat's fans are singing their hearts out and have been loud through out the first half.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

Maybe that's how it appears on the telly, Pat's fans are singing their hearts out and have been loud through out the first half.
    Yeah, the Poles are situated under the tv gantry so will obviously come across as louder than they are on tele.

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭yohan the great

Pats need to get Forrester involved more. Warsaw are good going forward but don't look very safe defensively

Yer man from the monopoly game is in the crowd...

Dempsey wrote: »
    and the overcompensating LOI fans...

Tell me I'm wrong, though.
    Dempsey wrote: »
    Yer man from the monopoly game is in the crowd...

I honestly thought it was the guy from hardcore pawn because my tv was muted.

interview-les.jpg

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

This on tv lads or are you watching it on a stream?

cournioni wrote: »
    This on tv lads or are you watching it on a stream?

It's on setanta.

Pats defence is terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Pity Oman got injured in the warm up, Foran has played very poor. He hasnt been able to read high balls at all. Rest of defence has been ok though.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Game over. Shame.

And that is that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Pats are frustrating to watch...Fahey is a class apart a mile ahead of everyone.

Well deserved by Legia but Celtic will beat this lot

Game over

Very poor, that's the end of that. Great try Pats!

major bill wrote: »
    Pats are frustrating to watch...Fahey is a class apart a mile ahead of everyone.

Well deserved by Legia but Celtic will beat this lot
    Ya can't see Fahey staying in the League of Ireland for long, way ahead of the rest of the Pats team

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Awful defending.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Terrible defending. Haven't seen much of Pats this season but they look awful compared to last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,064 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Why did fahy return to loi so young?

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Why did fahy return to loi so young?

Injuries. He barely played for 2 seasons before coming back IIRC.

Legia look a different side tonight but you have to wonder if that is an improvement in them or a different approach by Pats letting them back into it. I thought Pats were a lot more deliberate and built slowly in the away leg and they looked good doing it. Tonight they have looked more defensive to me and more direct with the ball and they haven't had anything close to the possession they had in the away leg.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Huge difference in how both teams have performed tonight compared to last week, no comparison unfortunately