Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pit versus bales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

mahoney_j wrote: »
    So u get up every day and work for nothing,fair play to you.i ain't no Slave and certainly ain't working for nothing every day ,I hear that argument many times andvits a pike of crap.lads sitting on there hole drawing the dole get what 8 euro an hour for doing nothing,some lads here happy to work an 80 hour week for half that!!
    As regards time I've loads of it ,I take holidays,weekends away,the odd evening and Sunday off.nothing suffers here if I do.working for a few years away from farm was best thing I ever did,makes u really appreciate structured work hours and time off

Starting and building up a business, especially in commodities, isn't easy. Most dairy farmers on here are making a decent profit because the infrastructure was put in place piecemeal over the past decades sometimes by the previous generation, here on this farm some of my cubicle houses were put in place in the sixties. The cost of producing milk costing everything, starting with bare land, would be somewhere in the region of 40c/lt . Therefore while building up to a good profitable business it is necessary to make do and sometimes this involves working for less than the min wage but must be seen as an investment that will pay back many times over in the years ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

This debate is worse than the one about je v Ho or god forbid topless v sheds! At the end of the day it's small enough fish in comparison to some of the other gains you can make on the farm, and as has been shown in many examples different systems suit different farmers. Maybe it's just me but boards seems to be going downhill lately with everyone just going in circles with arguments as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

Bale silage is only better than pit if you have less than 5 bales per acre and grass is younger than 5 weeks growing- then again if you put it in the pit at 5 weeks you'd have the same quality but would cost way more with a contractor to pit

Gg continue to bale you have the machinery but if I were you I'd only be baling crops of less than 5 weeks old
    You have mentioned that you winter diet isn't up to scratch- your silage quality isn't good enough for winter milk

Mahoney give the lad some slack- he inherited a system and that's just the way it is
    It will take time for him to change his fathers thinking but slow steps will get him there

I'm not having a go at you Mahoney or gg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Starting and building up a business, especially in commodities, isn't easy. Most dairy farmers on here are making a decent profit because the infrastructure was put in place piecemeal over the past decades sometimes by the previous generation, here on this farm some of my cubicle houses were put in place in the sixties. The cost of producing milk costing everything, starting with bare land, would be somewhere in the region of 40c/lt . Therefore while building up to a good profitable business it is necessary to make do and sometimes this involves working for less than the min wage but must be seen as an investment that will pay back many times over in the years ahead.

Agree ,starting from scratch you need all the hours u can get and proab at less than than desirable rates but long term gain there for short term pain.infrastructure been improved for an easier life def worth it..over 3500 per cow borrowed here ,not easy by any means but manageable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

Timmaay wrote: »
    This debate is worse than the one about je v Ho or god forbid topless v sheds! At the end of the day it's small enough fish in comparison to some of the other gains you can make on the farm, and as has been shown in many examples different systems suit different farmers. Maybe it's just me but boards seems to be going downhill lately with everyone just going in circles with arguments as such.

Totally agree with you Tim
    Everyone Is different with different set ups- what works for one might not work for another

Everyone needs to chillaxe

stanflt wrote: »
    Bale silage is only better than pit if you have less than 5 bales per acre and grass is younger than 5 weeks growing- then again if you put it in the pit at 5 weeks you'd have the same quality but would cost way more with a contractor to pit

Gg continue to bale you have the machinery but if I were you I'd only be baling crops of less than 5 weeks old
    You have mentioned that you winter diet isn't up to scratch- your silage quality isn't good enough for winter milk

Mahoney give the lad some slack- he inherited a system and that's just the way it is
    It will take time for him to change his fathers thinking but slow steps will get him there

I'm not having a go at you Mahoney or gg

Fair point ,no intention of having a pop at anyone here either.

Yep agree,things just going round in circles here,think some are given an easier time here than others too,cosy little cliques developing .getting a bit bored of it tbh .anyway im off babysitting duties over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Yep agree,things just going round in circles here,think some are given an easier time here than others too,cosy little cliques developing .getting a bit bored of it tbh .anyway im off babysitting duties over

How much a hour do ya get for babysitting?

mf240 wrote: »

Not half enough ,herself has vommiting bug daughter had it Thursday ,that leaves me!!!!.off to swimming pool now to chill out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

Up until last year we made a pit every year, a neighbour cut with a single chop and i backed it up myself it was very cheap way of making the pit but then I started getting a loader to push up which increased the cost a fair bit but saved me and my tractor. The slab is buggared its there 35 years so I said I'd try the bales before I replace the pit.It's handy not having to get the pit ready and cover the pit and the hassle of effluent and danger of getting done for pollution and the fact that the cattle prefer the bales are real benefits of bales and being in control of when i cut.On the other side, I mow, ted and stack myself which is a fair task and takes loads of time and diesel, bales are difficult to feed as I have a 9ft passage. I try to keep numbers of bales to a minimum by giving a good wilt. I like the end product of the bales but the price of the plastic, hassle of feeding,extra diesel and work is too much. Think I will get the pit slab done and make pit next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

mf240 wrote: »
    lol, Beat me to it:):)

Not half enough ,herself has vommiting bug daughter had it Thursday ,that leaves me!!!!.off to swimming pool now to chill out
    Jaysus, if you had a baler you'd have great peace. You could tell her you're busy:P:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Ye had great fun today lads? Can't say the same for myself :( any way 57e an acre I worked it out at cow porter. We'll say 60 to keep Mj happy.
    As the lads said majority of farms have been developed over gererations.
    We left a perfectly developed farm. 70 cubicles and a big slurry tank parlour roadways the whole job. Father had built it up since his 30s and sold it when he was 54.
    Yes we should have spent money on yard but that's nothing to do it with me.
    I'm not selling machinery. End off.
    I would really break my fathers heart if I did after all the hard work he out into getting them.
    Why should I? If I sell mower and baler and wrapper I'm supposed to ring contractor to take bales. No thanks.
    Every one has there things. My father started with absolutely nothing only 5 cows. I think he has done pretty well even if I do give out about him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ye had great fun today lads? Can't say the same for myself :( any way 57e an acre I worked it out at cow porter. We'll say 60 to keep Mj happy.
    We left a perfectly developed farm. 70 cubicles and a big slurry tank parlour roadways the whole job. Father had built it up since his 30s and sold it when he was 54.
    I would really break my fathers heart if I did after all the hard work he out into getting them.
    Why should I? If I sell mower and baler and wrapper I'm supposed to ring contractor to take bales. No thanks.
    Every one has there things. My father started with absolutely nothing only 5 cows. I think he has done pretty well even if I do give out about him
    exactly no two farms are the same and what suits one doesnt suit another. I do things that people think i am stupid/mad here but they work , feck the begrudgers;)

You had lots of time to work that out while in Thurles today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭eric prydz

Much the same story here except for doing pit silage, the way I see it if the systm you use works well for you why should anyone else give out about it
    whelan2 wrote: »
    exactly no two farms are the same and what suits one doesnt suit another. I do things that people think i am stupid/mad here but they work , feck the begrudgers;)

Exactly once they work for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

We have a pit, but switched to bales over 15 years ago. Main reason was it was next to impossible to get a contractor when we wanted.
    Bales may be expensive, but when you are a small operator like me, working off farm, the bales are dead handy.

Pluses are;
    - Easy to get contractor when you want
    - Easy to budget, just count bales.:cool:
    - No silage effleunt
    - Absolutely no waste
    - Can cut smaller fields at different times

alot of posters on here seem to have a problem getting contractor on time, why??? i ring contractor a week before i want him here, let jim know the story and dont have a problem. previous contractor was a prick but you just find someone who will work with you not for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

alot of posters on here seem to have a problem getting contractor on time, why??? i ring contractor a week before i want him here, let jim know the story and dont have a problem. previous contractor was a prick but you just find someone who will work with you not for you

Lack of contractors in our area anyways. A gap I'm trying to fill :D. Most contractors here are farmer/contractors not full time contractors

had a lad came here on a saturday evening sowed 2 lines of maize up the field and then told me he doesnt work sundays, it rained monday and tuesday.....fooker came back on the thursday it was the last work he did here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I usually can get my lad to within 2or 3 days of when I need him, however a friend afew miles had to wait till mid June for his 1st cut as his contractor was busy! I hate to think how much that 2wk delay cost him in reduced grass quality, several thousand at least?

I usually can get my lad to within 2or 3 days of when I need him, however a friend afew miles had to wait till mid June for his 1st as his contractor was busy! I hate to think how much that 2wk delay cost him in reduced grass quality, several thousand at least?
    more fool him for waiting

I'm always happy!! Was going to ask for breakdown of 57 euro but couldn't be arsed nor bothered ..sounds low to me but what do I know!!this could stay going round in circles and end up nowhere notcworthvthevagro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

At 60 per acre you are doing your silage at half the price of people around here. Drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

The issue is size, if you are cutting 20-30 acre most contractors are not really interested, in my case the whole farm is paddocked biggest one is 5 acres. Lots of them want to go into 15-20 acre fields or 10 anyway. Machiney is getting bigger and bigger. Then they could ring you and the forecast is bad what do you do

I'm always happy!! Was going to ask for breakdown of 57 euro but couldn't be arsed nor bothered ..sounds low to me but what do I know!!this could stay going round in circles and end up nowhere notcworthvthevagro

I gave the break down days ago. You must not have read the posts?

The issue is size, if you are cutting 20-30 acre most contractors are not really interested, in my case the whole farm is paddocked biggest one is 5 acres. Lots of them want to go into 15-20 acre fields or 10 anyway. Machiney is getting bigger and bigger. Then they could ring you and the forecast is bad what do you do
    so you change contracor, previous contractor would drop everything to go to one of the biggest farmers in the area, i said to him one day that my money is as good as his....

I gave the break down days ago. You must not have read the posts?
    Still don't think fert costs should should be factored in THIS SUM. Were looking at what its costing me to DO my silage.
    Every one has different fertiliser costs depending on how soil fertility is.
    We spread 32 units of phos on silage ground this yr as well as 4 bags of cut sward so my fert costs are a lot more than yours.
    I asked father there and he said he only put 200l on his tractor and I prob only used 40l.
    So its working out at 2.50 for wrap. 1e for diesel and 1.25 for labour.
    So that's 4.75 for each bale stacked in the yard.
    That's 4750 for my 1000 bales or 57e an acre for the 82 acres.
    If I was to pay 80 an acre for silage (mow myself)
    It comes in at 6560 but I may as well rake up into 30ft for SP
    That's 7300.
    2500 saving doing it myself not a whole tonne but it's keeping more money inside my gate for a few yrs

Cow Porter wrote: »
    At 60 per acre you are doing your silage at half the price of people around here. Drive on.

Agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

so you change contracor, previous contractor would drop everything to go to one of the biggest farmers in the area, i said to him one day that my money is as good as his....

There are not a whole pile around the area, there are about 10+ bale contractors. Most pit crowds are coming from 15 miles away into the area. 120/acre seem near enough the norm for the smaller guy. Like I have said in previous posts it is the system that suits you. IMO there is little or nothing in difference in cost of either and work either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

wagon silage can be got done round here from e80 per acre, most self propelled around 100-120. Acreage doesnt really matter once its not too small. i had 14 acres of second cut one year and mentioned it to contractor that it probably wouldnt be worth his while. he landed and done it no hassle at 75 an acre and me mow myself (self propelled).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Imo the big pr oblem with pit silage is the big amount of waste caused by silage not being packed , nowadays with a big loader with big wheels needed for bulldozing silage up infront of it ,the silage would be packed better with a MF135 ,Did a big job lately for a man who changed from pit to bales last year 800 bales last year same amount of gound as pit but had 100 bales left over,he said that would have been waste ,if he had pit. I find myself I have healthier calves also with less scour but this is probably debatable ,people are inclined to let pit silage to bulk up as well this will explain the difference in dmd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 farmer10

Im not a fan of that precision chop stuff myself lads. Same with self propelled too short. Wagon silage here only way lower cost & better for stock. Cows weren't cudding right on the short stuff they love the wagon stuff. More sugars retained in the longer grass & less effluent than short stuff. Make some bales as they are handy to have in shoulders of year if you have a deficit. As regards a main 1st cut pit is the only way really sure again you'd be buying the plastic all the time you're concrete would have long paid. Self propelled is too expensive in my opinion. €110/acre is too much to be paying out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Ger Byrne 1

bales are very handy