Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

unusual drive question??

• 25-07-2014 2:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭

was playing with a 22 handicapper at weekend and on the second tee ...much to our amusement (awkward amusement) he didn't a crazy swing landed the club on top of the ball and it rolled backwards...not passed the markers. Is he allowed to retake as it didnt pass the marker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,469 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

cremeegg wrote: »
    was playing with a 22 handicapper at weekend and on the second tee ...much to our amusement (awkward amusement) he didn't a crazy swing landed the club on top of the ball and it rolled backwards...not passed the markers. Is he allowed to retake as it didnt pass the marker?

Nope, no such rule.
    In fact even if he completely missed it the ball is in play and he cant touch the ball (to lower/raise the tee for example)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Yep, a swing at a ball is a str

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

thanks and this is what was implemented. Que funny 3 wood attempt from behind the tee box.

cremeegg wrote: »
    thanks and this is what was implemented. Que funny 3 wood attempt from behind the tee box.

He could of course te-teed it up under penalty and taken 3 from the tee with a driver...its often a better result but seldom implemented (mainly due to blind panic!)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Here's a few helpful scenarios I read recently.

Here are six teeing ground scenarios with differing rulings;

A player makes a practice swing close to his teed ball and accidentally hits it, moving it 100 yards down the fairway.

Ruling: The ball was not in play and there was no stroke made at it. No penalty has been incurred and the player must re-tee a ball anywhere within the teeing ground. Decision 18-2a/19.

A player makes a stroke at his teed ball and completely misses it (a ‘whiff’, or ‘fresh air’) but the ball topples off the tee.

Ruling: The stroke counts and the ball is in play. The player must play the ball as it lies. Definition of Stroke.

A player makes a stroke at his teed ball and his clubhead just touches it knocking it off the tee. The player picks-up the ball and re-tees it.

Ruling: The stroke counted and the ball was in play when it was picked-up, so the player should have played the ball where it lay. When he lifted the ball, he incurred a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a and was required to replace it. However, when the player made a stroke at the re-teed ball, he effectively played a ball under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1a) overriding the penalty under Rule 18-2a.

A player addresses his teed ball and accidentally knocks it off the tee as he grounds his club behind it.

Ruling: The ball was not in play, so there was no penalty. The player must re-tee a ball anywhere within the teeing ground to make their first stroke on that hole. Rule 11-3.

A player addresses his teed ball and completes his backswing for a stroke, but as he begins the forward movement the ball falls off the tee; he is able to abort his stroke, swinging over the ball without touching it.

Ruling: No stroke has been made and no penalty incurred. The ball has not been put in play, so the player can re-tee a ball anywhere on the teeing ground. Definition of Stroke.

Note: See this earlier blog of mine for more on this scenario.

A player addresses his teed ball, completes his backswing and as he begins the forward movement of his swing the ball falls off the tee; he tries to abort his stroke, but tops it forward a few yards.

Ruling: The stroke counts, because the player started his stroke with the forward movement and was not then able to check his downswing before his clubhead reached the ball. The player must play his second stroke from where the ball comes to rest. Definition of Stroke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 pikebishop

What if a player makes a 'fresh air' but the ball doesn't leave the tee.? memories flooding back from a lads trip to Portugal..

pikebishop wrote: »
    What if a player makes a 'fresh air' but the ball doesn't leave the tee.? memories flooding back from a lads trip to Portugal..

See post #2!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Its amazing how many seasoned club golfers don't even know those very basic rules.

I managed a really funny one 3 or 4 years ago where on our 17th I managed to hit the big tree down the left off our tee box full on. The ball came back flew over our heads and rolled down towards the 16th green where it stopped on the fringe. I was now 70 yards further from the hole. Quite embarrassing as this tree isn't really in play (violent pull).

Awkward grin on my behalf and I proceed to tee up a new one. I was last to tee off anyway.

But all 3 of my playing partners insisted that I can't do that, I must continue to play the ball behind me and I cannot re-tee even under penalty.
    Probably one of the most embarrassing golfing moments in my life, the next group was just walking onto the 16th. Those feckers made me walk down and hit it from there. These are all guys playing all their lives in that club and I was a relative beginner. I was fairly sure I had read that I could declare my ball unplayable anywhere on the course and replay the previous shot but not sure and confident enough to dismiss them.

Ultimately my fault I suppose as I should have known the rule even as a newbie but they were in their forties, fifties, played all their lives and didn't know one of the most basic rules. Maybe they just wanted to see me embarrassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 pikebishop

GreeBo wrote: »
    See post #2!

ah grand.. so try to stop shaking and hit your second shot of the tee..

pikebishop wrote: »
    ah grand.. so try to stop shaking and hit your second shot of the tee..

And don't touch it!