Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP 28/8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Bv5ckHJIUAAv-Cu.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

This... https://vine.co/v/MlmOPM1B0M1

...and this

012.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

From the Southampton game, it looked like we were going to be a bit more conservative this year, but I think that could be out the window now.

It's hard to know what to take from that game.

Lucas looks like he's off to Napoli and that was a big factor in how disconnected our back was from our front.

We've also got 3 new first team attacking signings who've yet to feature.

We looked like we were picking up where we left off from last season in pre-season. Hopefully the Southampton performance and game plan was just an anomaly due to injuries and lack of sharpness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

SlickRic wrote: »
    i'll say this now, if we could get in Alex Song, or someone to properly cover a midfield spot, then this will have been a near-perfect window in terms of what we could reasonably expect after the sale of Suarez.

well done to all involved tbh.

I really don't see what Song can offer us, that we don't already have.

He'd be a tragedy as the sole DM, in the role Gerrard plays, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Knex. wrote: »
    I really don't see what Song can offer us, that we don't already have.

He'd be a tragedy as the sole DM, in the role Gerrard plays, imo.

Mobility, athleticism, and mobility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Fizman wrote: »

Are we on about the same Alex Song?

I'd actually prefer to keep Lucas. He'd cover for Gerrard more competently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,930 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I've shouted for Song as well when I thought he might be part of the Suarez.

Now I would much rather spend money on someone like Lars Bender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Personally I think we're grand, even if Lucas leaves.

We have 8 players for 3 midfield positions and, other than Can, because of his inexperience, I'd be happy with nearly any combination of them starting any match.

Bad A$$!!
    10629721_10152784965357573_1028236098590024753_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

So where does this leave Sturridge? Both Sturridge and Balotelli are very similar players; both can play wide, but are more effective up top, and both prefer to play there. Are we going to go 4-3-3 with either Sturridge or Balotelli out wide, or a diamond with Sterling in behind the two of them?

From the Southampton game, it looked like we were going to be a bit more conservative this year, but I think that could be out the window now.

Both will play up top.

Sterling or Coutinho as #10 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

So where does this leave Sturridge? Both Sturridge and Balotelli are very similar players; both can play wide, but are more effective up top, and both prefer to play there. Are we going to go 4-3-3 with either Sturridge or Balotelli out wide, or a diamond with Sterling in behind the two of them?

as posted two hours ago.

Mignolet
    Manquillo-Skrtel--Lovren--Moreno
    Gerrard
    Hendo--Coutinho
    Sterling
    Sturridge
    Balotelli

Width from the full backs, Hendo the runner from the middle.

Jones, Sahko, Flano, Can, Lallana, Markovic, Lambert

I reckon, though Rodgers will have a couple of tactical ideas I imagine. Him being the coach an' all. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

I really hope we still sign a class number 7 since it's still open. Think if United get their signings it'll be a tough task.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Cjs21

NoelJ wrote: »
    I really hope we still sign a class number 7 since it's still open. Think if United get their signings it'll be a tough task.

Trolololololololol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

NoelJ wrote: »

Tough task signing a world class number 7 or getting top 4 ?

Have you watched Uniteds opening 2 games ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

Gonna wait for it to be official before I post a wee gem of a bet I have on :D

I see the time has come. Disappointed to see him leave but I have to say I saw it coming ;)

http://gyazo.com/01112493548206a93d36ed9eec8753f2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

Fizman wrote: »

Yes, yes but is he mobile enough?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

I see the time has come. Disappointed to see him leave but I have to say I saw it coming ;)

http://gyazo.com/01112493548206a93d36ed9eec8753f2

You could have told us about that before and we could have avoided pages and pages of debates about our need for another striker :)

Well done man, a great bet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Eto'o must really fancy moving to Liverpool. Seems he's about to sign for Everton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Mickalus

Off to the match now, in with the City fans which should be fun!

Last time I was at the same fixture it was 3-0 to City. Hoping for the opposite tonight. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

SlickRic wrote: »
    i think it's safe to say we can't fúck the transfer up now.

A lot of talk about registration you don't normally hear :P

First Interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Moreno starts tonight. No markovic or manquillo. Johnson is in tho. Ffs

‪#‎LFC‬ Starting XI : Mignolet, Johnson, Lovren, Skrtel, Moreno, Gerrard, Coutinho, Henderson, Allen, Sterling, Daniel Sturridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Vicxas wrote: »
    Moreno starts tonight. No markovic or manquillo. Johnson is in tho. Ffs

‪#‎LFC‬ Starting XI : Mignolet, Johnson, Lovren, Skrtel, Moreno, Gerrard, Coutinho, Henderson, Allen, Sterling, Daniel Sturridge

Lucas not even on the bench......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Thought Manquillo played very well last week, but at the same time i can understand why he'd start that lethargic ballocks Johnson.
    Delighted no Lucas near the team, so we have a chance.

Feck it, 2-1 to Liverpool!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

8-10 wrote: »
    Lucas not even on the bench......

Whats the bench like? No wood jokes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,673 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Slattsy wrote: »
    Thought Manquillo played very well last week, but at the same time i can understand why he'd start that lethargic ballocks Johnson.
    Delighted no Lucas near the team, so we have a chance.

Feck it, 2-1 to Liverpool!

Same attack as last year minus Suarez....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Hoki wrote: »
    Whats the bench like? No wood jokes :pac:

Sorry on my phone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Sky presenter: "what does Balotelli bring?"

Rodgers: "trouble!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

I think the writing is on the wall for Lucas now.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

On the way to the game!

yFIJv61.png

Rodgers; has an answer (the right one) for everything.

Bv5zGryIQAAFieB.jpg:large

Seems happy to be back at City....

Weird seeing that logo on his trackies :D

Jaysus we're all like loved up teenagers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

This could be a epic

Vicxas wrote: »
    Jaysus we're all like loved up teenagers

Don't complain :P just go with it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Think having toure on the bench is unnecessary, could have suso or ibe there instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

klose wrote: »
    Think having toure on the bench is unnecessary, could have suso or ibe there instead.

Did Ibe not go on loan to Bolton.

klose wrote: »

That annoys me too.

• Registered Users Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

Absolutely delighted with our new signing. A player I always wanted us to sign but never thought it realistic.
    It's only happened due to poor choices on his part(edit to say, choices he has made in his career to date, not his most recent choice!) but it looks like he realises it's time to get the head down and show the world the player that he could become, hopefully we look back next summer and realise how the stars aligned for him and the club.

Welcome Mario, now show us what you got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,042 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Such a strong bench compared to last year - especially considering we still have Balotelli and Lallana to come into the fold.

Two very different attacking options, and a strong dynamic midfielder, as well as very solid defensive options.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Luap

Lovren first goal, you all heard it here first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Hopefully we can get a decent result tonght. Very happy to get Mario Balotelli.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

****in glen johnson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Luap wrote: »
    Lovren first goal, you all heard it here first!

Lad in the bar here has him 33/1

(So I heard it here first)

:P

8-10 wrote: »
    Lad in the bar here has him 33/1

(So I heard it here first)

:P

On the bandwagon. 2 euro 33/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭tomaussie

Woke up with a sore throat. Now the toastie machine is not working. Pretty **** start to the day. Can't get any worse can it ?

Lovren; Future LFC Captain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

djPSB wrote: »
    On the bandwagon. 2 euro 33/1.

Jumped on the wagon too. Tenner @ 28/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,503 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Moreno out.