Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP 28/8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭ratracer

taidghbaby wrote: »
    Is Konchesky in a Fulham jersey?

Well he certainly should never have been allowed wear a Liverpool jersey. Jeez, that player poster makes me cringe as much as the Souness years, may we never go back down those dark paths again!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

2010-11%20Live.jpg

Is it any wonder Torres wanted to leave? Imagine sitting down beside Konchesky, Poulsen and Jovanovic instead of Mascherano and Alonso.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

He wasn't as bad as his mother.

carol-konchesky2.jpg?itok=JHej2Jb_

Lambert
    4m
    Can
    10m
    Lallana
    22m
    Morkovic
    20m
    Lovren
    20m
    Origi
    10m
    Moreno
    12m
    Manquillo Loan
    (2m?)
    _________________100m

Suarez
    Reina
    Kelly
    Toure
    Coady
    _________________81.0m

Net spend
    19m

With Assaidi and Borini likely to follow, plus Coates, Agger, Lucas, Suso possible sales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭rob316

aramush wrote: »
    Just one more for your reading pleasure. Enjoy x

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/l/liverpool/8944785.stm

Worst part of that deal is we gave them two promising young players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Mouth on her like her sons football.

Foul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Delighted we got Moreno.

Anyone know if he's any use up front?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

I find it strange we had a fee of £16m rejected earlier in the summer yet now we are signing him for £12m. Anyway , good signing - now get a striker and let Ayre have a holiday.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

5starpool wrote: »
    While I'm glad we are looking to upgrade in positions where we were weak last season at times, the more new players, the more likely we are to be disjointed as often as fluid, which makes me worry for our prospects in a way.

I'm still really looking forward to things and seeing how it all gels together though. If we can get in a decent striker (not sure who'd satisfy me from the likely possibles though) then it will have been a good window I think, concerns about integrating too many people notwithstanding.

If we could manage to play fluid football with Johnson in the team I fail to see how we will be less so with two ball playing full backs in the team.

Its unlikely we will be playing more then 2 of our signings at any one time anyways so I'd say we'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Moreno for £12m appears to be super business. Good work!

Top striker now please!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Aspas is about to unleash himself into the Super Cup!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

On for his dead ball delivery presumably.

God I'd love Isco.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

£12 million? Really good business considering the touted prices. No wonder this transfer was a long drawn out affair. There is always so much said when we pay over the odds so well done Ian Ayre, credit where credit is due

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭rob316

According to one well known united poster it grates us that they signed Shaw without CL football and not us!

rob316 wrote: »
    According to one well known united poster it grates us that they signed Shaw without CL football and not us!

Aye look at us. We're fuming.....

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Underpaid Mike

Moreno absolutely Flipping brilliant news. We got him for a song too, we will look bad at his 12m transfer in the same bracket as coutinho and sterling. Ian ayre really needs huge credit for what he has done this summer. Loads of time now to put the final piece in the puzzle.

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Underpaid Mike

I obviously meant sturridge in the above post but can't edit on my phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭tritium

Yep it's hard to bear that we got our LB for £18m less than they paid for their LB.

(Though I'm guessing theres a bit more than just £12m in the detail of the deal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,052 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Moreno for £12m appears to be super business. Good work!

Top striker now please!!

Yup, this is the closest I can ever remember a transfer window coming to filling all the problem positions I had within the team.

For me to be fully satisfied with the squad, we need a very good striker, and a backup goalkeeper - and thats it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

If we could get in another good forward in the next week or two think I think it will have been a very good Summer. On paper at least. These lads will need to learn to play with each other first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Tbh I wouldn't mind having Shaw although he wouldn't be my first choice left back and no way would I want to spend 30m sterling on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭tritium

Lambert
    4m
    Can
    10m
    Lallana
    22m
    Morkovic
    20m
    Lovren
    20m
    Origi
    10m
    Moreno
    12m
    Manquillo Loan
    (2m?)
    _________________100m

Suarez
    Kelly
    Toure
    Coady
    _________________79.0m

Net spend
    21m

With Assaidi and Borini likely to follow, plus Coates, Agger, Lucas, Suso possible sales

You left out Reina, makes the figures even more impressive.

Something bad has to happen to even all this out. Sterling and Coutinho to be sold on the last day.

Looking at the squad right now, if Sturridge were out, the most suitable replacement is probably actually Markovic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Great too see the Moreno deal complete. Was mad to sign Rodriguez but can't argue with Moreno for 12M.

Our squad is looking the strongest it has been in a long time. There is nice competition for places in the starting XI throughout the team apart from CF and GK. Funny how or strongest position last season is now our weakest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Moreno in tears at the Super Cup.

Moreno was a wreck collecting his medal

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Looking at the squad right now, if Sturridge were out, the most suitable replacement is probably actually Markovic.

Think Lambert would be more suitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,937 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Moreno in tears at the Super Cup.
    Moreno was a wreck collecting his medal

I'd say he really wanted to play in the game.

Sevilla didn't want to risk it and lose out on the money if he picked up an injury.

billy2012 wrote: »

For the majority of our games...i don't really think so. Sturridge's pace makes such a big difference. He can drift wide, win the ball and break with such speed - so many of our counters start like that. Lambert just can't do that. Lambert's fine when we have all the posession, camped in the opposition half, but more often than not, our system is set up to break quickly and often in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Xabi collecting his medal

https://vine.co/v/MYeZrLTu0jz/card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Therein lies the problem!

brevity wrote: »
    Xabi collecting his medal

https://vine.co/v/MYeZrLTu0jz/card

Is he injured, or just wasn't included in the squad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

ineligible due to yellow cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭KingJamsie

Uefa suspended him

You've never seen him play.

oh yeah, totally, we definitely need another striker. Just saying it as people have largely talked about Lambert or Sterling as the fill in - whereas i think Markovic is more suited than either of them. Certainly comes closest to Sturridge in terms of physical atttributes...not as composed on the ball, but has more pace and a similar frame.

My Benfica buddy (from Lisbon, went to most of their games last year) sees him as definitely becoming a striker more than a winger within the near future.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

You've never seen him play.

Has he ever played as a striker?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Mickalus

Yes.

Was he any good? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

billy2012 wrote: »

He's not suited to our style of play. He's far to slow and immobile.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

Yes.

In the center a la Sturridges current position for us ? I'm not having a go, only seen him a few times and he was mostly on the right of a front 3 the times I did see him

I think we are 1 position away from having a fully balanced team all over the pitch, and it's been awhile since that has happened. In almost every position bar up front, we have some great players, great options. I know some people will say that it's an inexperienced squad for playing at the level we expect to this season coming (competing in CL and hoping to compete for top 4) but Rodgers has done very well with young players.

Cannot f*cking wait for CL draw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Super-Rush wrote: »

I think I'll watch him play a few games before I make up my mind. He played successfully in a similar system at Southampton.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

tritium wrote: »
    Yep it's hard to bear that we got our LB for £18m less than they paid for their LB.

(Though I'm guessing theres a bit more than just £12m in the detail of the deal)

Pound for pound they got there moneys worth!

If you know what I mean!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

What's this I hear about Rihanna buying the club? Jeesus herself and Drake singing You'll Never Walk Alone would be disastrous

wtf. where did you hear that?

Music+today.+Damn+shame+damn+shame_01d5c9_3615581.jpg

Super-Rush wrote: »

I see it as;

Sturridge = Plan A
    Lambert = Plan B

We need Plan A2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Augmerson wrote: »
    wtf. where did you hear that?

Music+today.+Damn+shame+damn+shame_01d5c9_3615581.jpg

All over the internet...seems like she's a serious football fan since she jumped on the bandwagon at the world cup...anything to stay relevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Pique

Hey is there a Boards LFC thread FF league? Anyone got the code?