Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

After Hours (maybe) Halloween Beers J.W Sweetmans (Messrs) Dublin - vote for date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Weeeeeird I just promised you something in another thread!

Yes. I promise.

I need all the promises today and a lot of chocolate. :(

But tomorrow is going to be fantabulous. \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,176 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Saturday 1st November
    We were all noobs once! You gotta just take the plunge!!

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    We were all noobs once! You gotta just take the plunge!!

I've been around these parts awhile. :cool: I'm just a boards beers virgin. :pac:

Yes, we were all boards beers virgins/noobs once!

Saturday 1st November
    Well i joined purely to go to a beers, and since that first one ive turned into a bit of a beers slut! If i make it to this one this shall be my fifth in a year!

And weren't the vast majority of us sound and welcoming and your first beers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Just do it!

I'm not going to lie, it can be awkward and weird for a few minutes but that passes. Just go around and find out who is who and have the chats and a bit of craic.

If ya don't like someone, move on to the next group. I only knew Whoopsy at my first beers. Iv since gone to more beers, met more awesome people, gone away for weekends, festivals at home and in Denmark with the fcukers.

Great craic!

Saturday 1st November

Indeed ye were!

(will ye remove the gun dug in my back now whoops,please? :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I plan on getting well loaded up on alcohol and make total tool of myself. Then go home and never speak a word of it to anyone for the rest of my life

And give fake name of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Saturday 1st November
    (will ye remove the gun dug in my back now whoops,please? :D)

Just keep quiet and smile. It'll be ok, I promise.
    >.>.
    <.<.

Just do it!

I'm not going to lie, it can be awkward and weird for a few minutes but that passes. Just go around and find out who is who and have the chats and a bit of craic.

If ya don't like someone, move on to the next group. I only knew Whoopsy at my first beers. Iv since gone to more beers, met more awesome people, gone away for weekends, festivals at home and in Denmark with the fcukers.

Great craic!

You're just really curious to see how fat I am, aren't ya?

Pfft, couldn't give a fiddlers!

You seem like good fun. That's all that matters.

Oh quit, the pair of ye. I'ma go. I'm just going to pretend to be someone else. Muhahaha...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I am :pac:

Saturday 1st November
    Sauve wrote: »
    Just keep quiet and smile. It'll be ok, I promise.
    >.>.
    <.<.

I knew being transferred up here wasnt a coincidence!! You were trying to keep me from spilling the beans!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Oh we all are! I'll bring a measuring tape so we can measure the belly and whoever guesses the right size gets a pint! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Can we go and NOT give away our usernames, in light of previous bitchign and arguments? :p
    cloud493 wrote: »
    Might as well go sure, I got nothing to fear*

*He said, as he wrote his will.

On a serious note, would anyone want to meet up to go to the beers? Help with the old nerves and what not.

Yeah I wouldn't mind going but don't want to walk in and know nobody. On the other hand, it could be just as awkward walking in and knowing someone.

Who's welcome at these things?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Can we go and NOT give away our usernames, in light of previous bitchign and arguments? :p

Yeah I wouldn't mind going but don't want to walk in and know nobody. On the other hand, it could be just as awkward walking in and knowing someone.

Who's welcome at these things?

I was wondering about this....do you get a nametag or something when you walk in or do you just awkwardly introduce yourself to all and sundry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

bumper234 wrote: »
    I was wondering about this....do you get a nametag or something when you walk in or do you just awkwardly introduce yourself to all and sundry?

what usually happens is someone posts what they are wearing - then you go into pub and look for the group with that wearing item. Then you get locked and then the fun happens as you end up with 3 pieces of data:
    Persons real name
    Persons username
    Persons face

However - because your meeting so many new people and consuming alot of alcohol this all gets jumbled up and you start mixing these up :cool:

Saturday 1st November
    Im sorry who are you? :pac:

Quit saying 'I'm sorry'. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

oooh, er, cheeky!!!! :p

Saturday 1st November

Sorry... :(

wprathead wrote: »
    what usually happens is someone posts what they are wearing - then you go into pub and look for the group with that wearing item. Then you get locked and then the fun happens as you end up with 3 pieces of data:
    Persons real name
    Persons username
    Persons face

However - because your meeting so many new people and consuming alot of alcohol this all gets jumbled up and you start mixing these up :cool:

Sounds like fun :D

So do many new people show up or is it a usual crowd?

Well i'll be new :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Fair play....would you not be worried with a roomful of complete strangers- wouldn't anticipate it ending well for me anyway B-)

As an aside....what kinda numbers would be attending this kinda event??

Fair play....would you not be worried with a roomful of complete strangers- wouldn't anticipate it ending well for me anyway B-)

A lot of as are gonna be first timers. Meet up with the boardsies you talk to/know beforehand?

Lol, maybe I shouldn't go so :P What time do these things start at? Wouldn't mind going and maybe meeting some fellow newbies for a drink beforehand.

Am a big ugly ****er so not too worried :D Am sure 99.9% of people on here are really nice irl and nothing like their online personas and am looking forward to.meeting them. Worse case scenario is someone doesn't like me, i can get over that quite quickly with another beer :D

I'm a big ugly monster and il be there ;) and I'm also a newbie.

Am a big ugly ****er so not too worried :D:D
    I'm a big ugly monster and il be there ;) .

Ehhh...have ye seen my username? It's not a beauty contest. :P

Do children run away from you in the street :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

That made me laugh out loud. LOL

It's not a beauty contest. :P

Oh, il just stay at home so. :(

They don't have to run...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

They don't have to run...

Passed out from shock? :p

Rope off a corner for the big feckers lol

• Registered Users Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

Really?

Deank wrote: »
    Really?

Never been to a boards beers before so new to meeting the people i talk with most days.

Sure ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Big Cheese

Couch!

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭rule supreme

Never been to an AH beers , would many people go to them usually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I'd be up for this, not been to any before. Any date bar the 20th.

Deank wrote: »
    Sure ;)

Do you know something i don't? Have we met before but you have kept your identity secret? Are you boards answer to Bruce Wayne? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Never been to an AH beers , would many people go to them usually

They get a good crowd of people. It's good craic.

I just may tip along to this, someone needs to keep an eye on bumper234.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭Patser

It is late...

I am drunk..

But, please, someone call it!!!

2 nights.

Sept 13th - regular AH beers in Dublin somewhere

+

Sat 1st November Halloween AH pissathon + fancy dress Sweetmans Dublin

Or whatever.
    Too much chatter, decision by committee, chatter chatter chatter.

Some Mod call it. 1 beers or 2 !!

Just tell us where, roughly when, roughly what (un) dress code, what recognisable area, what T F Eile!!!!

Just call it. This debate will go on for ever.

Yes we're all randomers. Yes we'll probably all be awkward!! Yes whatever T F other is dwelling on people's minds.

At the end of the day, it's a few people, having drinks together - some who'll mix, some who won't, some who'll show up 5 hours late after a visit to A&E.

But most who'll be there!!

And it'll be epic#!!! (for 20 odd randomers inane small corner of Earth)

But to paraphrase Field of Dreams -

CALL IT AND WR SHALL COME!!

Patser wrote: »
    It is late...

I am drunk..

2 nights.

+

Or whatever.

Just tell us where, roughly when, roughly what (un) dress code, what recognisable area, what T F Eile!!!!

Yes we're all randomers. Yes we'll probably all be awkward!! Yes whatever T F other is dwelling on people's minds.

At the end of the day, it's a few people, having drinks together - some who'll mix, some who won't, some who'll show up 5 hours late after a visit to A&E.

Calm your tits, the poll doesn't close until the 13th.

Patser wrote: »
    It is late...

I am drunk..

2 nights.

+

Or whatever.

The poll closes on the 13th August (it says it right there on the poll). If you don't want to read the chatter, might be best for you to unsubscribe from the thread until then.