Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool vs Manchester United - The Prestigious International Champions Cup Final 20

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭splashthecash

When is this match on or has it already happened?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Why is a season from 19 years ago being discussed in such detail?

Because LVG is above criticism apparently.

His Ajax team in 1995 was the greatest side ever assembled and his managerial performance that season was akin to Busby,Shankly,Ferguson and Paisley combined.

I think that's what we're supposed to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Everyone is trying to out child each other. It's good craic.

Precisely this. :) But then doesn't it always go this way? Best thing to do is fix a drink and have the craic. The game is going to be useless anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

seems there is a bit of war paint being applied up and down the country ahead of the big Kick off. Enjoy the friendly chaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

In fairness I saw Atletico winning the league last season a few years ago, I mean how could you not with the likes of Koke, Turan and Costa coming to fruition

Simeone didn't do a good job really, and that's not taking away from his achievements
    Your not serious about this are you?

MD1990 wrote: »

You missed the joke, I don't blame you though. It was quite hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

MD1990 wrote: »

He's not.

Seems it's absolutely bucketing down in Miami atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Jesus Christ, what an unbelievable bunch in here. Embarrassing.

What's so embarrassing? Someone stated something was a great achievement. Some tried to downplay it, others defended it. It's pretty par for the course in this forum.

Seems it's absolutely bucketing down in Miami atm.

Shame it's not the baseball stadium, has a retractable roof because of the heat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

LVG aint got nothing on my FM2005 record.

61.8%?

Pfft.

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭KombuchaMshroom

Jesus Christ, what an unbelievable bunch in here. Embarrassing.
    Because LVG is above criticism apparently.

His Ajax team in 1995 was the greatest side ever assembled and his managerial performance that season was akin to Busby,Shankly,Ferguson and Paisley combined.

I think that's what we're supposed to say.

One person made the point that what Van Gaal did with Ajax was an amazing achievement, and a few others have tried to defend that point and argue its case after just how good an achievement it was was brought into question.

The only thing that is "embarrassing" in here is when people exaggerate and extend other people's viewpoints to the absolute extreme to come up with frankly stupid posts like this one you just posted.

People claimed what he did with Ajax was incredible and then defended themselves when people said it wasn't that good because of the team he had. No one even made comparisons with any of the others you mentioned.
    Get a grip!

Tit for tat stuff amongst 30 year olds probably shouldn't be normal!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Tit for tat stuff amongst 30 year olds probably shouldn't be normal!!

Pffffttt.

Ageist, rarnes!!

I hope Suso starts tonight. Sounds like he's getting a new contract.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

United to play in red tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Jees by the craic in this thread the banter on here for the battle for Europa League places this season is gonna be legendary like...

Lord TSC wrote: »
    United to play in red tonight.

The real reds!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

8-10 wrote: »
    I hope Suso starts tonight. Sounds like he's getting a new contract.

Hes rumoured to be starting

The real reds!!!

Very good. That showed them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,293 ✭✭✭✭rob316

United's last game abroad for 10 months :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭n32

rob316 wrote: »
    United's last game abroad for 10 months :pac::pac:

dont forget swansea away!

Liverpool actually wore red before Utd afaik.

That'll really show them!!

Re the game. No injuries please and it'll be a success regardless of the score

Lighten up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Lighten up...

If you want a light hearted laugh why not try the humour thread or Afterhours. This is the International Champions Cup Final ffs.

Fescue wrote: »
    If you want a light hearted laugh why not try the humour thread or Afterhours. This is the International Champions Cup Final ffs.

Sorry, the giddy nervousness is kicking in :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Is it extra time or straight to penalties if it ends as a draw

Well it's hunky dory for yous boys staying up all night watching the most important game in the history of football but some of us have work in the morning.

I'll watch the game tomorrow evening so if ye could "spoiler" every post after kick off,that'd be great.

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

Well it's hunky dory for yous boys staying up all night watching the most important game in the history of football but some of us have work in the morning.

I'll watch the game tomorrow evening so if ye could "spoiler" every post after kick off,that'd be great.

Thanks in advance.

Yeah, no...

I doubt thats going to happen :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Its like bad November night at the Britannia Stadium in Miami

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

What time is kick off lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

The real reds!!!
    Real don't play in red:confused:

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

OwaynOTT wrote: »

1 am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

OwaynOTT wrote: »

Match coverage starts 12.30:)

You can thank Rob for not including it in the thread title. (half arsed match thread) (just like the match) (preseason doesn't count)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Rooney captain for United

Man Utd XI vs. Liverpool: De Gea; Evans, Smalling, Jones; Valencia, Herrera, Fletcher, Mata, Young; Rooney, Hernandez.

Liverpool XI vs. Man Utd: Mignolet, Kelly, Johnson, Skrtel, Sakho, Gerrard, Allen, Henderson, Coutinho, Lambert, Sterling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Weren't all the Liverpool fans saying it would be the 3rd choices and kids??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

ollie1 wrote: »
    1 am

Thanks!

I'm a sap so I may at least catch the first half. Hope LVG winning streak ends tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Man Utd XI vs. Liverpool: De Gea; Evans, Smalling, Jones; Valencia, Herrera, Fletcher, Mata, Young; Rooney, Hernandez.

Liverpool XI vs. Man Utd: Mignolet, Kelly, Johnson, Skrtel, Sakho, Gerrard, Allen, Henderson, Coutinho, Lambert, Sterling.

squinty-mcgee-meme-generator-oh-it-s-on-753df3.jpg?1354933887.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

No just that we are missing alot of players. Flanagan,Lallana,Sturridge,Lovren,Agger & Markovic all not playing. Kelly would be our 3rd or 4th choice RB.

I don't recall anybody saying that. A lot of people said a ridiculous amount of substitutions will be made however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Some United fans thought the young lads would get a run out.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

squinty-mcgee-meme-generator-oh-it-s-on-753df3.jpg?1354933887.jpg

That pic just reminded me that the kettle wasn't on! bit of tea and toast i think for the night :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Evil Kagawa ‏@evilkagawa
    I no play! I no play final? Did Gaal no see genius assist of Kagawa!?
    CROSS SO MAGICAL IT AS IF HAVE PIXIE DUST ATTACHED TO BALL! BASTAAARD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

BuOw4ZTIcAAcym6.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

K-9 wrote: »
    Some United fans thought the young lads would get a run out.

Strongest possible teams it seems

Pitch looks great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Should be beating that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

I can't wait to see the state of this in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

2-1 United I reckon.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

I'm off to bed.

Play nice folks

BuO049_CUAABhFr.jpg