Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ISS Back Tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Good launch. I hear "nominally" mentioned a lot. Doing 4700mph.

Fierce waving at the camera. Get back to work ya slackers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

It's Olaf !!! I was wondering what the little yoke hanging was !!! :D:D:D

3rd. stage ignition. Smooth as ice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

How is Soyuz broadcasting the footage?

They look great, like they're in the dart or something.

Whoooo Olaf's in zero gravity !

Dont know that. Good question.
    They just went into orbit. Zero g. Solar panels deployed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Hoof_Hearted

Thanks for this, just caught the launch at 1 min 30 seconds to go!
    I logged on to see if anyone saw a fireball (or very big meteorite) over Wicklow just before 9.
    Distracted by this now...

KURS powered up.

They look great, like they're in the dart or something.

Chilled out alright! They got "The right stuff"

Did I hear him say 4 orbits before docking ? Does that make sense ?

Sounds right. The launch schedule had docking at 02:00 which is 5 hrs. A normal orbit is 1.5hrs approx.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Karl Stein wrote: »
    How is Soyuz broadcasting the footage?

For anyone interested, I was just reading up on how the ISS has a permanent internet link and I'm guessing that Soyuz is hooked into it and perhaps that's how we get a live stream.
    There are 3 big TRSS satellites much, much higher than the ISS spread out in geosynchronous orbit so that at any point in time the ISS can see at least one. Then there is a dedicated ground station that connects to each TDRSS satellite. There is fiber from the ground station to mission control and special computers to unpack the data as in comes in. So the internet on station looks like this:

ISS -> TDRSS -> Ground station -> Fiber -> NASA Servers -> Regular internet

reddit.com/r/askscience

TDRS Satellites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭knarkypants

I badly want Samantha to have a Facebook page. Girl power !

Here ya go...;)

https://www.facebook.com/ESASamanthaCristoforetti?fref=ts

Knarkypants you're a starbar ! Thank you !
    I tried searching on Facebook with any of the current Exp 42 names, but I just couldn't find anything, I kept getting these Wikipedia type of pages. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭knarkypants

Knarkypants you're a starbar ! Thank you !
    I tried searching on Facebook with any of the current Exp 42 names, but I just couldn't find anything, I kept getting these Wikipedia type of pages. :confused:

Your welcome. :)

I think that page has only been set up recently. I had been following her on twitter, it was Chris Hadfield (who I also follow on twitter and facebook!) that posted the link to her page. I hope she's as snap happy as Alexander Gerst. He regularly posted some fantastic pictures from ISS.

Yeah, and I loved how happy he was to be up there, always smiling, always upbeat, a pleasure to follow. He had loads of shots of auroras too. Can't wait for more pics !

Soyuz lining up for the front door. Beautiful!

Contact!

Getting ready for hatch opening in about 20 mins i think. Yer man at nasa said at 10:30. I'm sure he means Houston time which would be 04:30 here.
    Some Russian words were being exchanged then the audio went....:pac:

Iss passing at 4:53 if anyones up. Hatch should be open by then.
    Just heard pressure equalising!! yay!!

Just got the go for opening hatch!

Still calling out pressure readings though.

Opening hatch!! He could smell space!:D

I missed it! Called out on a job and i missed it! Feck.

Terry Virts is having a nice chat with his family in Baikonur. His lasagne went flying when his wife came to the phone!! Very funny.

Samantha is talking about spumante. Haha! Dead right girl!!

Just watched replays, glad everything went well.

It did indeed although that final approach was all over the place. Did the KURS fail, i wonder?