Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Makes You Cringe ?

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

+1 on the forced lad culture....

Students that come into the pub for 1 pint between them and order a pizza to the pub... Jesus Christ like, how ignorant are ya?! Sooo cringeworthy.

Listening to a girl explain that she mainly hangs around with boys as they are less bitchy and girls are' soooo omfg bitchy!!!' Cringe.

Seeing anyone put up a selfie on facebook accompanied by the caption 'Happy Sunday:):):)' eh yeah you defo made my day??:confused:

When I forgot my age buying beer last week

Seeing people wearing ridiculous T-Shirts like - 'FBI Female Body Inspector'
    Get out of my head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

When someone drops their pants and shits themselves at mass, on the way to communion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

Macavity. wrote: »
    When someone drops their pants and shits themselves at mass, on the way to communion.

Yeah I hate those dopes, there's always one:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Hearing recordings of my voice.

I accidentally recorded a large chunk of an especially bad date once when I was bootlegging a comedy show. Noticed the recording was unusually long afterward so I skipped through it to see what was up... heard enough to make me cringe my way into a fit before turning it off. Can't bring myself to delete it but any time I see it on my hard drive I cringe like ****.
    It's the only recording I've ever heard of me having a conversation too, so I assume I'm always that bad.

Yeh I think my voice sounds horrendous. Gutted that that's the voice people hear, rather than the more pleasant tones I hear myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,173 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Hearing recordings of my voice.

I accidentally recorded a large chunk of an especially bad date once when I was bootlegging a comedy show. Noticed the recording was unusually long afterward so I skipped through it to see what was up... heard enough to make me cringe my way into a fit before turning it off. Can't bring myself to delete it but any time I see it on my hard drive I cringe like ****.
    It's the only recording I've ever heard of me having a conversation too, so I assume I'm always that bad.

Hearing your own voice is awful!

There's no way I sound like that!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Magaggie wrote: »
    People pretending to be all right-wing and no-nonsense in general.

I always imagine them being terrified of people with tattoos or people who wear tracksuits. The kind of people who put an awful lot of time and effort into avoiding the public. Nervous types who think the sky is falling... bless 'em.

Karl Stein wrote: »
    I always imagine them being terrified of people with tattoos or people who wear tracksuits. The kind of people who put an awful lot of time and effort into avoiding the public. Nervous types who think the sky is falling... bless 'em.

This, and the word 'skanger' oh and people who take the Sunday World and the Herald as gospel. Simpletons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭simonsays1

-Once a month,I attend a decent night held in Dublin (spoken word) but the hosts have serious mid-Atlantic accents that is sooooo cringe- 'Awesome!!!' is what really makes me twist in my chair!!! ahhhhhhhhhh

-Unfunny comedians!

-Use of inappropriate language at the wrong moment

-My own voice.

-DJs who talk ****' just to make up the space! Turn the dial!

Now that I have written these down and read over them, I've observed they're all noise/voice related!!!!

hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

At the family Christmas dinner last year, my Granny asked my 16 year old cousin if she was still a virgin, scarlet wasn't the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

When you hear a choir or a bunch of people singing 'Jingle Bells' and they all sing "HA HA HA" immediately after "laughing all the way".

The choir I was in at school used to do this and I didn't have the stomach to sing it with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

weemcd wrote: »
    Forced "LAD" culture.

It has actually become an epidemic. Years ago you had "hard lads", each to their own and you still do. However it seems like every male from the age of 13 and above thinks he is this absolute hard lad, professional footballer wannabe-heavy drinker who can fight and womanise. -All of which are not remotely close to being true. It is not in their nature, it's so forced.

"Selfie" culture - similar in some ways but somehow even more vain. As for the word itself I want to cut my ears off every time I hear it.

Also all the recent Gaza outrage posted online on the usual social sites is ultra cringe material. It's as if most of them have only just heard about Palestine, oblivious to how long conflict has been going on there.

Brian Griffin?

nails1 wrote: »
    At the family Christmas dinner last year, my Granny asked my 16 year old cousin if she was still a virgin, scarlet wasn't the word.

My granny is obsessed with peoples weight. I escape it because I'm male but my Mum and sister always have to hear about how they've gained weight.

Anyway, one time she was in hospital and a large woman was visiting some elderly relative. My granny points at her, in full view of the woman, and says "big woman over there" while laughing.

She also laughs hysterically whenever Mary Harney comes on the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

* People that say 'happy out' or 'simples' or wimminz' regularly
    *National Newspapers using 'WE' all the time.
    *Journo's making up Nicknames for Politicians
    *Current Irish Music 'Scene'
    *99% of RTE Programming - featuring a myriad of talentless Gob****es
    *Laddism (as mentioned)
    *Guys who wear stripy white & blue shirts with just a white collar
    *Heineken ads
    *Helium Munchkin Dance coming from stolen Scumbag Phones on the 78a.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Could OF, should OF, Would OF. It's HAVE people!!!!!

• Site Banned Posts: 28 Aislinn.B

Anybody sneezing anywhere near me. I have to walk away from them. Turns my stomach!!

People who call Heineken 'Ken'

• Site Banned Posts: 28 Aislinn.B

Anybody sneezing anywhere near me. I have to walk away from them. Turns my stomach!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

When people create a really long bullet point list of their biggest dislike/pet hates of completely random stuff, similar to a couple of posts on this thread. these people seem angry at the world.

Also fussy women on dating sites such as POF with strict criteria who will only date a guy who is at least 6'10, earns over €2000000 a year and looks like Johnny Depp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Obnoxious South Dublin college students that talk loudly about how great they are in their academic acheivements on public transport.

I just sit there and my face just pulls shapes with complete contempt having to listen to it.

Every time I have to go to Dublin I think "What kind of gobshyte am I going to have to listen to today?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Obnoxious South Dublin college students that talk loudly about how great they are in their academic acheivements on public transport.

I just sit there and my face just pulls shapes with complete contempt having to listen to it.

Every time I have to go to Dublin I think "What kind of gobshyte am I going to have to listen to today?"

I was on a bus in England once and a few college students hopped on and started talking loudly about how liquefying corpses and using it as fuel was the answer to the impending oil crisis.

Mank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 .Magneto.

how sick and pathetic facebook is

and why i remain to be a part of it :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

zcorpian88 wrote: »

Good for you. Fcuk them for intruding on your privacy whilst on public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭chakademus

People who describe themselves as nerds e.g "I'm just a nerd so I notice those kind of things"...

and

people who pronounce french words in a cartoonish french accent... eeeuurrrgghhh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭weemcd

Any radio advertising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

When people (and i've been guilty of this), misuse a common phrase, skip to 1:05 :

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Dramatik

There's a girl I'm friends with on facebook who is posting daily updates on her quest to find a man on Tinder in a "Sex In The City" style, seriously cringy stuff altogether. Actually seeing my ma watch "Sex In The City" also sent some shivers down my spine, thank god they don't seem to be showing it on tv any more.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

+1 on the forced lad culture....

Students that come into the pub for 1 pint between them and order a pizza to the pub... Jesus Christ like, how ignorant are ya?! Sooo cringeworthy.

Listening to a girl explain that she mainly hangs around with boys as they are less bitchy and girls are' soooo omfg bitchy!!!' Cringe.

Seeing anyone put up a selfie on facebook accompanied by the caption 'Happy Sunday:):):)' eh yeah you defo made my day??:confused:

When I forgot my age buying beer last week

Seeing people wearing ridiculous T-Shirts like - 'FBI Female Body Inspector'

I saw this hard-chaw bastard down the local cheapo supermarket a while back with 'FBI - fabulous bachelor inside' a while back. I'm sure he had no idea what the words meant. Fair play to him if he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

When someone says the US Office is better than the BBC version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

The way so many people wear converse and vans runners these days, firstly girls, they look awful on you, and second where's the originality gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Dramatik wrote: »
    There's a girl I'm friends with on facebook who is posting daily updates on her quest to find a man on Tinder in a "Sex In The City" style, seriously cringy stuff altogether

Not true without proof.... to the Dumb/Great Facebook status thread with you! Chop Chop! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Cormac... wrote: »
    Not true without proof.... to the Dumb/Great Facebook status thread with you! Chop Chop! :pac:

This's what I'm talking about, enjoy!

"Turns out mister Tinder just can’t get enough #canyoublamehim. I think if the weather is nice this weekend we can walk on the beach holding hands #needtofindabeach. "

She's actually a sound girl but this kind of stuff...

Back when I was in secondary school there was a girl who was pregnant, she was about 16. It was at the stage where it was mostly rumours and hadn't been confirmed yet. A few of the girls were eating some sort of food and one of them goes "oh I feel so fat, I've a food baby". Pregnant girl who was sitting near them turns around and says "Oh same, sure don't I have a human one!"

One of the funnier Maths classes, but cringey all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Lick arses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

What's making me cringe is that some people here don't understand the meaning of the word "cringe".

If something annoys you, take it to the Trivial Things that Annoy You.

fussyonion wrote: »
    What's making me cringe is that some people here don't understand the meaning of the word "cringe".

If something annoys you, take it to the Trivial Things that Annoy You.

But isn't that something that annoys you rather than something that makes you cringe? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Mothers replying to their son's/daughter's post on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

When Americans say "motor", instead of "engine".

chakademus wrote: »
    People who describe themselves as nerds e.g "I'm just a nerd so I notice those kind of things"...
    Particularly the "sexy nerd" thing - "Omg I'm such a nerd because I wear geeky glasses, but I'll look sexy at the same time!" http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lsam1mRyn71qehdy1.jpg
    people who pronounce french words in a cartoonish french accent... eeeuurrrgghhh!!!
    There's a newsreader who does it - it's really cringe, so forced!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Magaggie wrote: »
    Particularly the "sexy nerd" thing - "Omg I'm such a nerd because I wear geeky glasses, but I'll look sexy at the same time!" http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lsam1mRyn71qehdy1.jpg

There's a newsreader who does it - it's really cringe, so forced!

Just thanking this because of the picture :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Reading back my essays for college before I submit them. I literally read them through my hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Looking at me head in the mirror after a hard nights drinking.

Cliques on boards.ie and people licking up to Mods via thanks whereby if a regular poster wrote it, it would get a fraction of the number.

Aislinn.B wrote: »

People blowing their noses loudly and looking at the tissue afterwards.

Vom.