Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Garda Trainees (Templemore)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Turbo T

Lads, this thread is as old as the hills.

The thread called Garda Trainees (Templemore) is a better one to post in. It was opened when the lads went down in Sept of last year.

This thread contains information about the old training programme etc. The new one made is for us with the new process and training programme.

Post away here if you want but I'd say the other one is better and more up to date.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

This is the thread started last year.

Sound yea.
    The lads had posted in the other thread that was years old. Shield moved it for them.

Am headin down tomorrow!

Haha, me too, sitting down here with all my gear packed and still can't believe it's actually happening :D

See you tomorrow!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Turbo T wrote: »
    Sound yea.
    The lads had posted in the other thread that was years old. Shield moved it for them.

Makes a lot more sense. I was confused for a sec.

I thought so lol thats why i thought oh no, i look like a goof now !
    Its ok. We're all cool now :)

Best of luck to you lads and lassies starting in the morning. The start of the rest of your lives !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭WillFerrell93

Good Luck this morning everyone!! See you next month :)

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭Blueandwhite15

So how was day 1?

Anyone know if we're getting a uniform and bank details to send in or are they waiting until induction?

Those starting on November 23rd check your emails.

Good Stuff.. Get that sent off tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 38 TheBhoys

I'll be getting it sent off ASAP, but what was the date changed too in the second email? It won't display for me.

TheBhoys wrote: »
    I'll be getting it sent off ASAP, but what was the date changed too in the second email? It won't display for me.

Friday the 6th lad

All the paperwork done.. Now its time to tackle this shopping list!

Just the judo suit and the clothes brush left for me..still unsure as to what a clothes brush is! Ha

TheBhoys wrote: »
    Just the judo suit and the clothes brush left for me..still unsure as to what a clothes brush is! Ha

Yeah I havent even started the shopping list haha Youll soon find out! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 ceatharlach abu

Well lads,
    How'd the first week go?

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Springlawn

What does reg.no on bank details form refer to

Springlawn wrote: »
    What does reg.no on bank details form refer to

It states to leave that space blank, I assume we get it on registration

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Springlawn

I thought it just said to leave the Garda reg blank on the uniform size form.

Springlawn wrote: »
    I thought it just said to leave the Garda reg blank on the uniform size form.

You won't have a Reg number till you start on the day so don't worry about that one. Just leave it blank it'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭are you serious

You get your reg number the first day of college

Your reg number is your registration number.
    That's your number from now on!
    It's basically the number of guards in the country, your whatever number guard that has joined.
    you will always be identified by it.

Anyone else have absolutely no motivation in work? 2 weeks time im finished!! Cant wait

Yep just mad to get started

Hows the shopping list going?

Not too bad just need a few bits such as the clothes brush and swimming togs!
    Recently changed to a better car so funds were low but getting laptop this week.
    I picked up a few shirts and ties from penny's as i already had a suit.
    Have my money saved for induction and the items we need yourself?

Not too bad just need a few bits such as the clothes brush and swimming togs!
    Recently changed to a better car so funds were low but getting laptop this week.
    I picked up a few shirts and ties from penny's as i already had a suit.
    Have my money saved for induction and the items we need yourself?

Yeah I went on a big shop yesterday
    Need to get a few shirts out of penneys already have two suits
    Need to get a clothes brush and the polish kit and judo suit and flip flops but everything else I have minus the stuff we buy down there
    Luckily I have a good laptop so just needed to buy a charger for it cause couldnt find it so that saved me a few hundred
    Rang my insurance and because the car is gonna be in Tipperary for the 8 months and not Dublin I am saving myself 200 quid on that so happy days

Yeah I went on a big shop yesterday
    Need to get a few shirts out of penneys already have two suits
    Need to get a clothes brush and the polish kit and judo suit and flip flops but everything else I have minus the stuff we buy down there
    Luckily I have a good laptop so just needed to buy a charger for it cause couldnt find it so that saved me a few hundred
    Rang my insurance and because the car is gonna be in Tipperary for the 8 months and not Dublin I am saving myself 200 quid on that so happy days

Yeah I'm going to pick up a new lap ty op for cheap this week. Yeah I got shirt tie combos from penny's. Make sure you tell them about change of occupation .

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Kerrbear92

Just sent away the measurements for the uniform :) can't wait to get down! Can anyone suggest a decent cheap laptop? Only have a netbook so doubt I'll need to buy a bigger one!