Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Europa League Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,909 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Pochettino okay with Adebayor absence.
    Tottenham head coach Mauricio Pochettino had no hesitation in granting Emmanuel Adebayor's request to return home to deal with a family matter.

As the squad made their way to Turkey for Thursday's Europa League clash with Besiktas, Spurs announced the Togo frontman would be absent due to a "private matter".

Adebayor instead returned to Africa for what the north London club called "personal reasons", with reports suggesting a close relative of the striker had fallen ill.

Pochettino confirmed upon arriving at the Ataturk Olimpiyat Stadium that it was a family-related matter and that the striker had requested permission to return home.

"When you have a problem, your mind is not quite... it is a difficult to give your best," the Spurs boss said.

"I have always told you that players are human. Many problems happen and it is important to fix this type of problem because always family is important.

"But we hope when he comes back he will be ready to start training and to help the team."

Pochettino rejected talk Adebayor could be absent throughout the Christmas period and went as far as suggesting there was a small chance he may be back for this weekend's trip to Swansea.

The former Argentina international admits that is unlikely, but played down the impact his absence could have over the hectic festive period.

"Yes, it is an important time but we need to understand that the players are people," Pochettino said.

"They need to fix when family matters happen and you need to sort it. If not, it is difficult to give the best.

"After, yes, we know we have ahead a lot of games. It is a very busy period, but the first [thing] always is if you are okay, if you are ready, if you are in your mind clear.

"When things like that happen, it is very difficult for the player and it is important. Maybe we lose three or four days in training, but you win a lot because if not the problem is always in his mind and it is difficult to break this cycle.

"Now, it is important that he takes time, sorts out the problem and when he is back is ready to train and be available."

Adebayor is not the only absentee for Spurs, with Harry Kane, Jan Vertonghen and Christian Eriksen amongst those rested for a match both sides approach with progression to the last-32 confirmed.

This game will, though, decide who wins Group C and could witness the long-awaited return of Kyle Walker.

The 24-year-old right-back has been lied low for the last nine months with a pelvic injury but could start against Besiktas.

"You know Kyle is back," Pochettino said. "Now we need to decide after this training if he is in the starting XI or maybe on the bench."

The decision on whether Walker would start against Besiktas took longer than the Spurs boss had anticipated.

While the team bus got a police escort to the Ataturk Olimpiyat Stadium, the kit was caught up Istanbul's notoriously bad traffic meaning training was delayed by an hour - not the ideal preparation ahead of facing the Turkish giants.

"We expect tomorrow a very tough game because Besiktas is a very good team," Pochettino said. "Yes, maybe it was difficult in London at Tottenham.

"But now we are ready to compete and we want to get the points and the victory tomorrow to be on the top of the table, the group. I think tomorrow is a very important game."

• Registered Users Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Sugarlumps wrote: »
    Pochettino okay with Adebayor absence.
    Tottenham head coach Mauricio Pochettino had no hesitation in granting Emmanuel Adebayor's request to return home to deal with a family matter.

As the squad made their way to Turkey for Thursday's Europa League clash with Besiktas, Spurs announced the Togo frontman would be absent due to a "private matter".

Adebayor instead returned to Africa for what the north London club called "personal reasons", with reports suggesting a close relative of the striker had fallen ill.

Pochettino confirmed upon arriving at the Ataturk Olimpiyat Stadium that it was a family-related matter and that the striker had requested permission to return home.

"When you have a problem, your mind is not quite... it is a difficult to give your best," the Spurs boss said.

"I have always told you that players are human. Many problems happen and it is important to fix this type of problem because always family is important.

"But we hope when he comes back he will be ready to start training and to help the team."

Pochettino rejected talk Adebayor could be absent throughout the Christmas period and went as far as suggesting there was a small chance he may be back for this weekend's trip to Swansea.

The former Argentina international admits that is unlikely, but played down the impact his absence could have over the hectic festive period.

"Yes, it is an important time but we need to understand that the players are people," Pochettino said.

"They need to fix when family matters happen and you need to sort it. If not, it is difficult to give the best.

"After, yes, we know we have ahead a lot of games. It is a very busy period, but the first [thing] always is if you are okay, if you are ready, if you are in your mind clear.

"When things like that happen, it is very difficult for the player and it is important. Maybe we lose three or four days in training, but you win a lot because if not the problem is always in his mind and it is difficult to break this cycle.

"Now, it is important that he takes time, sorts out the problem and when he is back is ready to train and be available."

Adebayor is not the only absentee for Spurs, with Harry Kane, Jan Vertonghen and Christian Eriksen amongst those rested for a match both sides approach with progression to the last-32 confirmed.

This game will, though, decide who wins Group C and could witness the long-awaited return of Kyle Walker.

The 24-year-old right-back has been lied low for the last nine months with a pelvic injury but could start against Besiktas.

"You know Kyle is back," Pochettino said. "Now we need to decide after this training if he is in the starting XI or maybe on the bench."

The decision on whether Walker would start against Besiktas took longer than the Spurs boss had anticipated.

While the team bus got a police escort to the Ataturk Olimpiyat Stadium, the kit was caught up Istanbul's notoriously bad traffic meaning training was delayed by an hour - not the ideal preparation ahead of facing the Turkish giants.

"We expect tomorrow a very tough game because Besiktas is a very good team," Pochettino said. "Yes, maybe it was difficult in London at Tottenham.

"But now we are ready to compete and we want to get the points and the victory tomorrow to be on the top of the table, the group. I think tomorrow is a very important game."

Sorry but this boils my piss!
    Adebayor is an employee of spurs. He's getting paid over 100000 a week to provide a service for the club.
    He's getting away with murder here in my opinion he's been below par all season and the tone of this interview with poch is almost apologetic towards ade. Letting him go home for an unspecified amount of time for an unspecified reason while he still collects his wages while the manager "hopes" he'll maybe train "a couple of days" (quote taken from the star)
    If we need to know what's wrong at spurs this is it staring us in the face. Overpaid players taking the piss out of us and management too scared to do anything about it. Disgrace

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I'd rather him back home than on the pitch.

To be fair though, I've no problems with players taking a week if a family member is sick. Doesn't matter how much they are earning...it's family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

Kiith wrote: »
    I'd rather him back home than on the pitch.

To be fair though, I've no problems with players taking a week if a family member is sick. Doesn't matter how much they are earning...it's family.

Yes i agree but this is not the first time this has happened. He missed plenty of last season with his antics as well.

mickman wrote: »
    Yes i agree but this is not the first time this has happened. He missed plenty of last season with his antics as well.

Is a family member sick? No he's gone home to get his African property empire in order. Hardly worthy of time off during the busiest time if the footballing calendar. If it was a family member sick I wouldn't mind. I didn't mind earlier on in the season when that was the case.

tom1ie wrote: »
    Is a family member sick? No he's gone home to get his African property empire in order. Hardly worthy of time off during the busiest time if the footballing calendar. If it was a family member sick I wouldn't mind. I didn't mind earlier on in the season when that was the case.

Sorry mickman, ment to reply to kiith not you! That's ade and his black magic confusing me!

The Tottenham striker refuted the claims, telling Ghanaian radio station Peace FM: "I never sacked my mum from the house. She decided to leave the house.

"How am I going to be in touch with my mum if my mum is the one telling everyone that my work will not go forward, so I will just be on my side and do my thing."They should stop talking, they should stop doing Juju on me, they should leave me alone. I bought a $1.2m house in East Legon (a suburb of Accra, Ghana) for the one talking and calling herself my sister. Can you imagine that sister went to rent the house without my knowledge?"

It's focking hilarious stuff.

The Tottenham striker refuted the claims, telling Ghanaian radio station Peace FM: "I never sacked my mum from the house. She decided to leave the house.

"How am I going to be in touch with my mum if my mum is the one telling everyone that my work will not go forward, so I will just be on my side and do my thing."They should stop talking, they should stop doing Juju on me, they should leave me alone. I bought a $1.2m house in East Legon (a suburb of Accra, Ghana) for the one talking and calling herself my sister. Can you imagine that sister went to rent the house without my knowledge?"

It's focking hilarious stuff.

It's sickening. This idiot is on a one man mission to make spurs look like a joke shop. Management is going out if it's way to help him. Would this happen at Chelsea? Arsenal? City? Only at spurs. Something has to be done.

Some banter in the dressing room all the same. Looks like his Ma put the Ju Ju curse on the entire team...

I'd say some of the lads in the dressing room are embarrassed to be honest. ****ing ju ju me bollix!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

tom1ie wrote: »

Ah, i'd read it was due to an illness. If not, he can **** right off.

Kiith wrote: »
    Ah, i'd read it was due to an illness. If not, he can **** right off.

Thinking about it a bit more, ade is gonna try and get away with as much as possible. I suppose you can't blame him for that cause he's a mercenary asshole. I blame whoever gave him the permission to go on leave. Would that have been poch or our famous dof? Not sure what baldini does outside of transfers, would he handle these matters?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭Ormus

Do any of us actually know why he's gone home?

I'd be the first to give out about Adebayor usually, but is it not possible there's a genuine reason?

13.png
    Ormus wrote: »

I'd be the first to give out about Adebayor usually, but is it not possible there's a genuine reason?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭DubPerryman

Confirmed....

Vorm;

Walker, Chiriches, Kaboul, Rose;

Dembele, Stambouli;

Townsend, Paulinho, Chadli;

Soldado.

Subs: Lloris, Lennon, Lamela, Fazio, Capoue, Davies, Onomah.

It'll be down to Townsend & Chadli to provide any creativity. Hopefully Stambouli has a decent game.

Kaboul & Vlad, chances of those two having anywhere near a solid game, hugely doubtful.

Great to see Walker back, said he's had plenty of time to think about his game whilst injured. Has all the attributes to be a top RB.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Ormus wrote: »

With this fooker I don't think it matters why he is gone. He is a top class pprick! The sooner he leaves for good the better for Spurs.

Not even 2 mins in and Vlad fúcks up.

There keeper looks rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,632 ✭✭✭Glebee

Fcuking hell another missed sitter from Soldado. That it I'm officially sick of the sight of him. I recon if there was no one in goals he'd still hit the post. Give some of the kids a chance.

Ps. He will probally score a goal now.

Playing pretty well, seeing most of the ball. Quicken up the passing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

I think they're gonna to rename holding your head in your hands 'A Soldado' He's foo king dung

Good ball Dembele, well capable of those passes.

Stambouli has been decent.

Jaysus even Paulinho looks okay, certainly don't look like the team we played at The Lane.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

Jaysus even Paulinho looks okay, certainly don't look like the team we played at The Lane.

I can't bring myself to praise that spoofer, he has not been awful but has not done anything of note either.

KingdomYid wrote: »
    I can't bring myself to praise that spoofer, he has not been awful but has not done anything of note either.

Yep, hard to believe we paid 17 million for him. Still, were stuck with him for now.

Townsend hasn't done a thing, surely Chadli and himself need to switch.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

Townsend hasn't done a thing, surely Chadli and himself need to switch.

I will have a party when Townsend and Paulinho leave that is for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

Delighted to sew Walker back. Its like a new signing