Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Better Call Saul ***Spoilers***

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭stronglikebull

I'm not sure what episode everyone else watched, but I was nearly asleep during this.
    In summary; They dig a hole, stuff goes wrong. Kim and Jimmy are no more. Hule is a bit of an idiot.

So... nothing we didn't already know, but it took 55 minutes to find out. Seriously, I'd give up if it wasn't for the fact that I want to see it tie into the beginning of Breaking Bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Huwell looking old and sick there... The Atkins Diet doesnt suit him....

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭ISOP

very boring, drawn out episode, first time i was fiddling on my phone during it, normally i am engrossed in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭JaMarcus

I mean, I thought it was a good episode but I didn't think it was anything special.

I'd be a little bit disappointed if Kim's downfall is down to helping keep Huel out of jail. I thought that scene (smacking the cop with a shopping bag) was only in there for a bit of comic relief at first.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

None of those Germans will see the fatherland again once its all done

• Registered Users Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

If you didn't enjoy that episode then I think you should give up buddy. That was a great episode with a masterclass of acting.

You are essentially complaining that you know what's going to happen. It's an origin story.

What were you expecting?

I expected to be entertained, as I was for the first couple of seasons, and some of the third season. I know where the show is going, but this is just dragging now. I care about story first above everything else: acting masterclasses don't entertain me if they are not part of an engaging story. I'm also not the only one who found that episode a drag, so it's not just me :P

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

That was a masterful episode. Truly brilliant.

The editing at the start was brilliant. Very few shows have the balls to do that introduction so well.

The subtleties of Fring realising lecherous old Hector was trapped inside the paralysed shell and withdrawing treatment.

The utter randomness of Huel clocking the P.O.

The foreshadowing of Kim bending the rules because the DA insulted Jimmy.

Thouroughly enjoyed it. If people dont appreciate it they should watch another show where everything is signposted and **** blows up.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Felt it was the slowest and weakest episode of this season to date (that's a relative statement btw). That said, I feel it's the calm before the storm of the last 3 episodes.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭Bigus

None of those Germans will see the fatherland again once its all done

Oh yes they will ,

The lads are honourable enough , once you accept the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭JaMarcus

Bigus wrote: »
    Oh yes they will ,

The lads are honourable enough , once you accept the rules.

I have a feeling that something will happen that means some (or all) of the group will find out where they've been working before they leave, and Gus / Mike will have a loose end to tie up.

They seem to have focused on the fact there's a bar in their warehouse campsite. And Gus has poisoned drinks before.... soooo.....

JaMarcus wrote: »
    I have a feeling that something will happen that means some (or all) of the group will find out where they've been working before they leave, and Gus / Mike will have a loose end to tie up.

They seem to have focused on the fact there's a bar in their warehouse campsite. And Gus has poisoned drinks before.... soooo.....

But they're only building a bunker , could be used for anything.

Unless they're fitting it out with the meth cooking equipment, where's the security risk ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭sicknotexi

I think I'm watching a different program than most people. This season has been ****e, really poor.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Bigus wrote: »
    But they're only building a bunker , could be used for anything.

Unless they're fitting it out with the meth cooking equipment, where's the security risk ?

Mike wondered to the foreman what would happen to the flakey builder if he returned to Germany....

They are all dead when they have it finished

Same as the gang who worked for El Chapo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

I think there are people on this thread that cannot ever see anything wrong with anything related to Breaking Bad. It's the greatest show ever, don't you know (!), and they are quite evangelical telling us how great it is, and how we don't get it! I am just bored by a previously very entertaining show. It's going downhill in my opinion, and editing and acting masterclasses do not make up for sluggish pace, and boring storylines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

I think there are people on this thread that cannot ever see anything wrong with anything related to Breaking Bad. It's the greatest show ever, don't you know (!), and they are quite evangelical telling us how great it is, and how we don't get it! I am just bored by a previously very entertaining show. It's going downhill in my opinion, and editing and acting masterclasses do not make up for sluggish pace, and boring storylines.

How very dare you ...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,782 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It is funny you say that between the intro and the monatge it took up the guts of about 6 minutes.
    They can kill a lot of time with those ascetically pleasing montages to distract from a storyline that we know how it finishes.
    On the face of it at the moment most of the time is spend with lads from Germany digging a hole.....
    We are told it is only half way.... another three episodes to dig the hole?
    The viewer will need RnR from it if they do not pick up the story-line fairly soon.

The Kim v Jimmy thing is being done to death, we understand they are drifting apart OK..... next... nope they drag it out another bit.
    Hopefully Kim does know a better way....

Otherwise we will end up getting a fly in the laundry basement again....
    I wonder would it be the same fly....
    Can flies live for 8 years, or will it be the flies father/son?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,732 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

That was a masterful episode. Truly brilliant.

The editing at the start was brilliant. Very few shows have the balls to do that introduction so well.

The subtleties of Fring realising lecherous old Hector was trapped inside the paralysed shell and withdrawing treatment.

The utter randomness of Huel clocking the P.O.

The foreshadowing of Kim bending the rules because the DA insulted Jimmy.

Thouroughly enjoyed it. If people dont appreciate it they should watch another show where everything is signposted and **** blows up.

Barring the Huell thing everything you mentioned was signposted....

It was as predictable as an A-Team episode in the 1980's thier montages were building stuff with blow torches, explosions.
    BCS just have ones with lots of clothes, brushing teeth, and glass horses.
    Carefully selected colour schemes etc etc.
    The editing and acting are fantastic there is no doubt.

But, it is turning into more of an art-house film experience, where the viewer just admires the production rather then then the story-line.
    I think that is the difference between BCS now and previously.

The story-line AND the production used to be fairly on par with each other.
    Now the storyline is suffering as the angles and ideas get more limited.

I hope the finale and pay off is worth all this waiting.

Because they are certainly dragging thier heels.
    Almost like a footballer walking off the pitch slowly to the other substitute, when his team are ahead.
    This is what BCS is in danger of becoming a slow walk off the pitch.
    Oh he is leading with the right leg instead of the left I wonder what that means....

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

Its great television, its also boring, take the scene where jimmy is painting front of store for two minutes.

The five seasons could have be done in 3, a beginning a middle and a end.

It is like watching a tribute band or a reunion concert or something with all these characters popping up.

I assuming/hoping at this point that Season 5 will be a madcap Saul rollercoaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,458 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I LOVE this show. It’s just shot stunningly and the acting is amazing and the storylines interest me. I normally love the slow build up to big things...breaking bad did it perfectly, up til now BCS has done it perfectly. I’ve found the last three episodes the slowest in the whole BB/BCS world though so I can see why this episode is grinding gears.

I’m not even complaining though. I trust Gilligan, he’s given me zero reasons to not trust him. I’d rather see the downfall of Kim over a season than over one episode like other shows do. Likewise for the making of Saul.

This is an origin story. I find it fascinating.

When B.B. was out first I found it infuriatingly slow and gave up after only a few episodes into season two. I revisited it a year or so later after season three and fell in love with the pacing of the storyline.

Sometimes it’s hard with an origin story like this to FULLY immerse yourself in the experience because you know where it goes. Saying things like “I wish they’d hurry up and get to the bit where he’s Saul” is missing the point entirely. And then what? So he’s Saul, then people will be moaning there’s no Walter White or Hank showing up yet.

For people who loved B.B. and are finding this slow/boring I say just wait and see. It’s 40 minutes of your life every week. It couldn’t be in safer hands with Gilligan, and if you hate it... well don’t watch it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Was short at 41minutes and ehen you take out the montage its even shorter

• Registered Users Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

The fact that Fring stops Salamanca's treatment at the point of the harmless finger tap is absolutely brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Grayditch wrote: »
    The fact that Fring stops Salamanca's treatment at the point of the harmless finger tap is absolutely brilliant.

Harmless finger tap?? I think not!

Remember, that finger tap and bell nearly got Walter, Jessie and Hank killed after Tuco kidnapped the2 boys!!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,458 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

*ding*

DeepBlue wrote: »

3 episodes left in this season and the Jimmy/Kim car crash (excuse the metaphor) could not be more signposted. Will that be the trigger for Jimmy to finally ditch being Jimmy and become full-on Saul?

Am I the only one who thinks Kim and Jimmy might be in it for the long haul together , especially after seeing the way Kim reacted to the states attorney description of Jimmy as a Two bit failed lawyer.

Instead of agreeing and saying f him , she's digging her heals in an defending jimmy metaphorically , and defending Buel in court , even to the point of going outside the norms to stop jimmy taking down a Drunk cop.

We don't know what Kim has up her sleeve , but we assume it's slightly less dodgy then what Saul had planned . They also both have right on their side as both the cop and the public defender are screwing Buel badly as proven by Kim in the empty court spat., so she and the cop are going to get what they deserve for their prejudice.

I also think Saul and Kim will have good times for a few years both in business and privately , before he has to get into that Toyota Previa and head for his new life.

Don't forget didn't Kim relatively recently,participate in a slipping Jimmy con just for the craic , so their relationship is much deeper, than for her to be put off by snide comments by the public defender, and the condescending lawyer crowd at the office party.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Well I think Kim’s departure could be more like she gets into serious trouble over something which will technically be her fault but it will have been to help Jimmy.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I think there are people on this thread that expect BCS to be Breaking Bad and are whining here every week when there's no drug deal going down or a train to be robbed.

They inhabit the same world but they are very very very different characters who have different types of internal strife and lives.

If you cannot accept that and appreciate it for its own sake and stop expecting Breaking Bad then whats the point in coming here every week and giving out about the pacing and storylines.

They are both excellent shows but very very very different and deliberately so. Breaking Bad was plot driven with character arcs for Jessie and Walt at the Centre of the Show.

BCS is a much more subtle show with an internal struggle for all of its central characters. It is more multi dimensional.

The opening scene where they were split drove the plot on 8 months without a word being said. That's directing skill.

I really am sick of this trolling every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Has anybody been looking at episode titles in advance.

This one was "something stupid" which I copped would be the song, but thought Jimmy was going to tell Kim he loved her and she would not respond, or say she doesn't love him.

this spoiler has the next episode name and info I saw in the media
    "Coushatta" -a new character Lalo is introduced, he is mentioned by Saul in BB along with Nacho. Coushatta are native americans. I see mention of casinos on their land so there could be something gambling related. Maybe the german crew go gambling for some R&R, and likely prostitutes too

2nd last episode name, only my own guess
    "Wiedersehen" -obviously something to do with the germans, 1 or all of them knocked off, or they make plans to do so.

Last episode name only
    "Winner" maybe a court case? maybe rigged casinos

Was short at 41minutes and ehen you take out the montage its even shorter

Exactly!
    When I paused it after the montage (to get something to eat) it was only about 36 minutes left!
    It was very noticeable that it was a time killer.
    I like the show the editing etc.
    But I am starting to feel he is taking advantage of the fans susceptibility to look at the production values and marvel at the slightest thing.
    Meanwhile the storyline is on the slide a bit, and the pace has slowed even more.
    I know it is not Breaking Bad.
    Again, overall I enjoy the series, but I have to admit it kind of grates with me that some people seem to couch the series as 'more then just a show' etc.
    It's just a telly programme.

Any negative criticism is called trolling by some. who see no flaws in the show, Or it is implied that people are not intelligent enough to enjoy the programme properly!

But a 36 minute show where damn all happens except predictable foreshadowing (DA Huell case scumbag lawyer), hammering home points, beautiful editing (brushing of teeth) and a plump orderly's arse.

The accident in the laundry had to happen to drag it out more.
    My thoughts after the German fella said we are only less then half way through, was 'don't I know'

The only real thing of note was Fring's reaction to Hector.
    The rest of the show although well done, felt like repetition and dare I say it 'arty' filler.
    If the episode was taken out of the series (barring the Fring treatment bit) would it make much of difference? I am not sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

That intro was necessary, and I'm glad they did it, as it brought the timeline forward by months.