Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When was the last time you were outraged at a stupid charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

Valetta wrote: »
    The bit in bold doesn't make any sense.

Boards on my phone isn't great to type with!! :) I go to gourmet tart now. €3.80 toasted or not. They have a hot press( George foreman type) on hot at their busiest times, they stick sandwiches into for a min. Centra the same.

I felt it was a rip off. Some people don't. They can pay it- it doesn't bother me that they do. It shouldn't bother them that I won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Is there not a VAT difference between hot and cold food?
    There is, so next time you get luke warm food which was meant to be hot ask for the VAT back. If I had a shop I would have it clearly explained why you are being charge more, as many are ignorantly going around bad mouthing shops because of it.
    blastman wrote: »
    A certain shipping company recently wanted to charge me about €24 for the service of collecting €8.30 in VAT on an item I bought outside the EU.
    Who was this? as far as I know the max charge that couriers can have is €15, but I think they can charge VAT on that, but it still is less than €24. An post only charge about €6

I seem to remember someone listing some other charges the couriers might have tried to sneak on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

petrolcan wrote: »
    Unsure why you are complaining about getting the correct change back. Did you expect the extra for nothing? It was you that filled up, not an attendant.

Pretty sure it's the norm in most parts for them to forgive a cent or two. So nothing unusual about expecting 12 measly milliletres "for nothing". I have never had a garage break my change over 2c so yah I would be annoyed to receive 4.98 in coins. They can if they want but it's not like there is a shortage of petrol stations that wouldn't less than 3 minutes from any station I go to. Or another dozen on any drive I take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

HurtLocker wrote: »
    Pretty sure it's the norm in most parts for them to forgive a cent or two. So nothing unusual about expecting 12 measly milliletres "for nothing". I have never had a garage break my change over 2c so yah I would be annoyed to receive 4.98 in coins. They can if they want but it's not like there is a shortage of petrol stations that wouldn't less than 3 minutes from any station I go to. Or another dozen on any drive I take.

When I was a teenager I worked in a busy garage for a few years and, since it was such a tedious job, I used to make a game of keeping my till float exactly right.

When someone would fill up to 9.99 and not wait for change, I'd put the cent to the side. When someone would leave me a cent short, I'd pop it back in.

It always pretty much evened out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

rubadub wrote: »
    Who was this? as far as I know the max charge that couriers can have is €15, but I think they can charge VAT on that, but it still is less than €24. An post only charge about €6

I seem to remember someone listing some other charges the couriers might have tried to sneak on.

UPS, apparently they have form in this area.

That was my small victory, actually. I never accepted the package from them, two weeks later it comes back via An Post, €14.30 due (€8.30 VAT, €6.00 charge) on it, which I paid, allbeit still somewhat grudgingly. Better than giving ~€30 to the other feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Babooshka wrote: »
    I don't get it though, they tell you in advance how much the appointment is and while I know the cost is high, how do you justify telling someone to eff off that you're not paying it if you already know that all specialists charge this and this is the going rate???? :confused::confused:

My point is that there was no need for me to go in to be told there was nothing
    wrong with me when my friend was told over the phone that there WAS
    something wrong with her - by the same consultant! I had been told in the
    hospital that he did not like giving news over the phone!! Where did you get
    the idea that I told anyone to 'eff off'?? I paid my bills!!

Mr. G wrote: »
    I've seen choppers charge for ketchup. Ketchup!!

I have never seen a chipper that didn't charge for ketchup. By chipper I mean an italian style chipper with fresh cut chips. Not the likes of mcdonalds.

My local chipper does not charge for ketchup. I have never been charged for ketchup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Cold food is zero rated for VAT, hot food is applied at the reduced rate of VAT.

What temperature does the VAT appear at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Dublin zoo today

2 x cup of tea & 2 bags of fries €9.50 would have told them to shove it up their hole but the mrs didn't copp until later :mad:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

For the love of Jasus will you just get card operated petrol pumps already and be done with this nonsense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

For the love of Jasus will you just get card operated petrol pumps already and be done with this nonsense

They already have these in some Topaz garages.

I love putting my dci card in them, insert pin, then place card back in my wallet. Then fill my tank.

Then, as a man or woman at the next pump start to look in my direction, start to pretend to act suspiciously, jump in the car and drive like hell out of the forecourt.

Honestly, I've seen one guy jotting down my registration as he obviously thought I was doing a diesel theft. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭shrewd

Stephens Green Shopping centre - charging to use the toilets. Really taking the p1ss!

Now that you mention it, i think that is the only shopping centre in this country that charges for use of the toilet. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

Unsure why you are complaining about getting the correct change back. Did you expect the extra for nothing? It was you that filled up, not an attendant.

Many an occasion I've overfilled on petrol by a cent or two and the cashier waves the 2 cent

shrewd wrote: »
    Now that you mention it, i think that is the only shopping centre in this country that charges for use of the toilet. :eek:

Nah Corbett court in galway do as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I haven't seen a really stupid charge since 1854.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

brooke 2 wrote: »
    My point is that there was no need for me to go in to be told there was nothing
    wrong with me when my friend was told over the phone that there WAS
    something wrong with her - by the same consultant! I had been told in the
    hospital that he did not like giving news over the phone!! Where did you get
    the idea that I told anyone to 'eff off'?? I paid my bills!!
    . Come again? I wasn't specifically talkin to you, another poster advised "tell consultants to get f%cked" etc back there!! Check it yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Was that price fitted?

Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

ArtyC wrote: »
    Nah Corbett court in galway do as well

Must be something illegal there, because the places that serve foods don't have toilets, they just direct you to those ones you have to pay for - under law you have to provide toilet facilities when you're serving food like that.

The law would not specify if the toilet facilities have to be free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Get Real

shrewd wrote: »

In fairness, I don't mind private places that charge for the use of the toilet. And it is only 20/25 cent, free if you produce a receipt from the food court.

Charging for the toilet/ having a "tip jar" is commonplace in continental Europe. Particularly in Germany.

Toilets are compulsory for food places, hence you can use for free having purchased food.

But think about it- Dublin city council have closed most public restrooms in central Dublin.(eg that terribly derelict building at Westmoreland Street/College Green)

Thats not your fault, but its not a private company's fault either.

Take the 25cent charge in this particular shopping centre. Thats not being stingy or to make money, its more or less to act as a deterrent. They'd rather you just did't use them.

They're there to cater for the food court. Now, say they have customers waiting/ full toilets just because every tom, dick and harry was coming in, taking a s**t, flushing their water, using their soap, making messes that cost money to clean, and then checking themselves in the mirror etc.

The reality is these places absorb a huge volume of people that should be provided for by public bodies and why should they have to really?

And then it gets to a stage of entitlement/disgust? :confused: I don't mind paying 25cent to take a dump :D, paid a quid in Budapest once :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Blarney castle (including the stone) is €12 for an adult ticket. That is exorbitant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I would imagine the 25 cent charge in St. Stephen's green is stop junkies from shooting up in the jacks. No one wants to see that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

I bought a bike for my daughter in smyths recently, they wanted €20 just to assemble it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

I bought a bike for my daughter in smyths recently, they wanted €20 just to assemble it.

Ha

I went to Halfords to buy a car indicator bulb, Bulb cost me €3.80 and they offered to fit it for €10!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭mejulie805

Went for ice cream with friends a few weeks ago, but brought my own dairy free tub. Asked in the parlour in Stephens green for a little spoon as my friends had all just bought ice creams, and she charged me 20c.

I also got stung by a wasp a few years ago and went into a little cafe and asked for some vinegar to put on it- that cost me 50c. Worth it, damn wasps.

My local chipper does not charge for ketchup. I have never been charged for ketchup.
    Where is this? is it a normal italian chipper? like any in the italian chipper association? i.e. serving freshly cut thick chips usually in a small white bag inside a bigger brown bag with salt & vinegar?

I have never seen it freely on offer in any proper chipper. Now I have seen people putting in a big order and asking for ketchup on the way out and not being charged, but the chipper would still have a clear sign up saying its meant to be 20 or 30cent or so per sachet.

I have never seen a bottle out for free use in any real takeaway chipper I have been in. (it would be in combined chipper/cafes)

I have seen it in takeaways that serve chips in trays, I would not call them "chippers", the correct term is shitholes.
    Sky King wrote: »
    Don't think it specifies. Hot bread is exempt if it is still hot after cooking. If you were to toast it again after it cooled you have to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Sky King wrote: »

There is no specific temperature AFAIK. It's something along the lines of it being liable for VAT if it is heated with the intent of being eaten before it cools down. So it doesn't apply to things like freshly baked bread that is still warm simply because it's still in the process of cooling down.

mejulie805 wrote: »
    Went for ice cream with friends a few weeks ago, but brought my own dairy free tub. Asked in the parlour in Stephens green for a little spoon as my friends had all just bought ice creams, and she charged me 20c.

I also got stung by a wasp a few years ago and went into a little cafe and asked for some vinegar to put on it- that cost me 50c. Worth it, damn wasps.

Stung twice in a couple of minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Paying 40 cent to have the bus ticket texted to me.

Being charged extra (about 40 cent too) for paying for a take away with a debit/credit card. Surely this is something they would want everyone doing instead of putting them off.

Surely this is something they would want everyone doing instead of putting them off.
    Not at all, especially places with low cost items where a fee could wipe out any profit on what they are selling. They have to pay the charges.

If any place is giving "free" CC or laser card then they have probably just added on the average cost to everything to cover themselves.

So if fees were say 50cent per transaction and 50% of sales were by card they would add 25cent to everything. So people not using cards are in effect subsidising the card users.

Some have a minimum spend to try and cover the charge.

Now that is simplified as cash will also have associated overheads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

Being charged 29euro yes 29 ???? For 4 wheel balancing on my car......robbing bastards. Outrage Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭RED L4 0TH

bumper234 wrote: »
    Ha

I went to Halfords to buy a car indicator bulb, Bulb cost me €3.80 and they offered to fit it for €10!:eek:

Mate has a TT. The same procedure in an Audi dealership was gonna cost him €85 or so. So he did the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

Yeah, but an Audi dealer knows what they're doing in terms of headlight alignment etc. I still think that's an outrageous charge, but if it's just lobbing a bulb in I'd rather do it myself than have the unskilled 16 year old at Halfords do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Clamped.

Only way they'll come and release you is if you paid by credit card over the phone.

Credit card fee added on, and they have a premium rate line you must call.

Screwed every which way by the bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Clamped.

Only way they'll come and release you is if you paid by credit card over the phone.

Credit card fee added on, and they have a premium rate line you must call.

Screwed every which way by the bastards.

Superglue in the padlock

*fuzzy feelings of revenge*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

As I said, Many times I have put in €59,99 and never looked for the cent back. I also would buy milk, sandwiches, bread etc. But I guess you and they are right. Only problem is, they have now lost a customer who was filling 2 diesel cars a week worth approx €120 a week or €6240 p/a for the sake of 2 cent. Great business acumen on their behalf.

RoboRat wrote: »
    As I said, Many times I have put in €59,99 and never looked for the cent back. I also would buy milk, sandwiches, bread etc. But I guess you and they are right. Only problem is, they have now lost a customer who was filling 2 diesel cars a week worth approx €120 a week or €6240 p/a for the sake of 2 cent. Great business acumen on their behalf.

Why not ask for the cent back and then you'll have it for the next time when you go over? or why not put €59.43 of petrol and get loads of change back?

If ever the expression 'cutting off your nose to spite your face' was apposite...

Oh I 100% agree with you...

Although I have a feeling you mean that I have done so. In which case, I disagree as there is no shortage of filling stations and have been using another since that incident. Its extremely petty and tight fisted and something I have never encountered before (and I worked in a garage for 3 years).

RoboRat wrote: »
    Oh I 100% agree with you...

Although I have a feeling you mean that I have done so. In which case, I disagree as there is no shortage of filling stations and have been using another since that incident. Its extremely petty and tight fisted and something I have never encountered before (and I worked in a garage for 3 years).

So why were you using that particular one twice a week? It must have been the closest or the cheapest or the most convenient in some way that changing from it is costing you more than two cents.

I went there because it was on the way home and I am a creature of habit, it's not the cheapest (no difference in price from the others), and there are others that are just as convenient that are also on the way home, this was the first one and I just tend to go back to the same garage.

Not sure what you mean by changing from it is costing me more than 2 cents? Changing from it makes no odds to me as all the garages in the area charge the same price, they just seem to value customers more.

If you feel there is no issue, then thats your opinion, I don't and I have taken my business elsewhere. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

Jesus, Roborat just means that it's annoying that when he and so many people regularly just leave the cent when it's owed back to them, it's a bit tight of the station to make sure to keep it. That's all. Yeah, he could ask for it every time but come on, everyone is just getting worked up for the sake of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Get Real wrote: »
    Charging for the toilet/ having a "tip jar" is commonplace in continental Europe. Particularly in Germany.
    Some kind of toilet tips system is a great idea! I've never left a disaster behind me but if I did, I'd want to give the cleaner something as an apology.

I'm already seeing the kind of efforts I'd go to to get bathroom cleaners more sympathy if I was running a place that had ones. Photos inside of each door of one of them with a message from them about how awful some people are ...I guess I could just pay them more or something, but that's less appealing for some reason.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Superglue in the padlock

*fuzzy feelings of revenge*

Did any bookies in galway piss you off before???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

20c extra to use my bank card in a coffee shop,

e1 to put air in my tires .. AIR??!

Paid parking in hospitals - bloody disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Paying about half a grand for the privilege of viewing/booking somewhere to live. But apparently that's normal here to be charged a fee for viewing if you take a place. Deposit and rent up front doesn't even come in to that, it's just a fee for the sake of taking your money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Not at all, especially places with low cost items where a fee could wipe out any profit on what they are selling. They have to pay the charges.

If any place is giving "free" CC or laser card then they have probably just added on the average cost to everything to cover themselves.

So if fees were say 50cent per transaction and 50% of sales were by card they would add 25cent to everything. So people not using cards are in effect subsidising the card users.

Some have a minimum spend to try and cover the charge.

Now that is simplified as cash will also have associated overheads.

For take away it was delivery so in their case you would think people paying up front and the driver carrying no cash would be good things to have despite the cost. Although the fact that banks charge those fees in the first place pisses me off. Thankfully I have a student account but as soon as that's gone I don't know what I'll do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

When you look at the breakdown of a transatlantic plane ticket, all those "fees". :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Get Real wrote: »

The toilets in Germany the Sanifair ones (on the autobahns anyway) are always tended to.
    They are the only toilets outside of my own house and my mothers that i actually feel comfortable sh*ting in.

You pay to use them but you get a ticket that you can use to offset the cost if you are buying in the shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

When booking flights and you are charged €5 per flight. Myself and three friends were going on holiday and it was decided that one girl would pay on her credit card and we'd give her the money. It was all one transaction but we were charged €40 fcuking euro on credit card fees. It's an absolute joke.