Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UEFA Super Cup - Real Madrid v Sevilla

• 12-08-2014 5:13pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Venue: Cardiff City Stadium

Possible lineups (from UEFA.com)
    Real Madrid: Casillas; Carvajal, Ramos, Pepe, Coentrão; Modrić, Kroos; Bale, James, Ronaldo; Benzema.

Sevilla: Beto; Coke, Fazio, Pareja, Alberto Moreno; Carriço, Krychowiak; Reyes, Denis Suárez, Vitolo; Bacca.

Team news
    Real Madrid
    Out: Xabi Alonso (suspended), Jesé Rodríguez (cruciate ligament)

Sevilla
    Out: Sebastián Cristóforo (cruciate ligament), Kevin Gameiro (knee)
    Doubtful: Coke (nose), Alejandro Arribas

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Real's lack of firepower up-front could be a problem for them...

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Insane Rambling

Team news

Sevilla
    Doubtful: Coke (nose)

Brilliant !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Doubtful: Coke (nose)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

2-1 Sevilla, Carlos Bacca winner.

One can hope :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Shaw or Moreno?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

djPSB wrote: »
    Shaw or Moreno?

Moreno for me for now. Hard to know what Shaw will be when he's 22 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Modric, Kroos, Bale, James, Ronaldo & Benzema that really does look impressive and a scary attacking 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Casillas could cost Real the game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Real Madrid:

Casillas;
    Carvajal, Pepe, Ramos, Coentrao;
    Modric, Kroos;
    Bale,-- Rodriguez, Ronaldo;
    Benzema.

Subs: Navas, Varane, Marcelo, Arbeloa, Di Maria, Isco, Illarramendi.

Sevilla: Beto; Fazio, Navarro, Pareja, Coke; Krychowiak, Carriço, Suárez, Vitolo, Parreu; Bacca. Subs: Barbosa, Figueiras, Samperio, Iborra, Luismi, Reyes, ASPAS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

Kerr is on rte. Its gonna be an enjoyable match no matter what!

What a tuesday evening!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

Kerr - what a plonker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Kerr back with insightful commentary. yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Ah Jaysus lads, Brian Kerr is comedy gold. Like you let an oul lad after a few jars loose with the mic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

Aodhagan wrote: »
    Kerr - what a plonker!

How dare you.

Take it back

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

haha, brian kerr is a legend. "i dont like players wearing hair-bands".
    "Its the cotinental look Brian" "But he is back playing in Cardiff":p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Real Madrid:

Casillas;
    Carvajal, Pepe, Ramos, Coentrao;
    Modric, Kroos;
    Bale,-- Rodriguez, Ronaldo;
    Benzema.

Subs: Navas, Varane, Marcelo, Arbeloa, Di Maria, Isco, Illarramendi.

Sevilla: Beto; Fazio, Navarro, Pareja, Coke; Krychowiak, Carriço, Suárez, Vitolo, Parreu; Bacca. Subs: Barbosa, Figueiras, Samperio, Iborra, Luismi, Reyes, ASPAS.

Ironically he's also a very talented Barcelona attacker.... On loan as part of the Rakitic deal if I remember correctly

Numerous mentions of "gelling" when only 2 of the starting team are new players. It's hardly going to be a big issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

How did this game end up in Cardiff City's stadium? :confused:
    And why is it on so early compared to other years, isn't it usually on the Friday after the CL draw?

Some things never change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

kfallon wrote: »
    How did this game end up in Cardiff City's stadium? :confused:
    And why is it on so early compared to other years, isn't it usually on the Friday after the CL draw?

Super cup is a 30k seater game. Monaco had it for years before they moved it around.

Love Kerr.

"You have to be impartial"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

For such a strong forward line Madrid look very shaky at the back!

I like that Cardiffs stadium is barely a year old but looks like its been there forever. Old School squared off tight feel to it. None of that Ashburton Grove/Wembley nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

What a fecking ball, pin point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Who else! Was coming

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

2 very good passes, the Ronaldo ball wide and the Bale cross. Very clinical on the break as usual from Real.

Madrid are useless at the back

Real and Barca could learn something from Atletico - how to defend!

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Madrid are useless at the back

As always

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Does anyone know how much Barcelona paid to Manchester City for Denis Suarez? I'm surprised City let him go, though maybe he wanted to go back to Spain I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Di Maria in midfield ahead of James would have been better for the team IMO but I'm guessing that's not a decision Carlo can make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

James having a bit of a 'mare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Di Maria in midfield ahead of James would have been better for the team IMO but I'm guessing that's not a decision Carlo can make

Not after paying so much money

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Just seen that ball from Bale, absolutely beautiful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rezident

Pepe is a disgrace. What sort of ref still falls for his antics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Well done Kerr. Sergio Raymos.

is it Steven alkin thats commentating? god he's ****ing annoying.

wacker or spud on the teamsheet...Brian Kerr.