Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been abroad?

13»

Few places but nothing really exciting
    umm... usa, denmark, sweden, israel, england, germany, france, italy, spain, switzerland, austria, czech r...

currently eyeing up a group travel thingy to bhutan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Lived longterm in:
    France
    Georgia
    USA
    Australia
    Afghanistan
    South Africa
    Russia

Travelled in:
    England
    Scotland
    Wales
    Spain
    Belgium
    Netherlands
    Switzerland
    Germany
    Lichtenstein
    Denmark
    Italy
    Austria
    Hungary
    Romania
    Bulgaria
    Montenegro
    Greece
    Croatia
    Macedonia
    Bosnia
    Serbia
    Czech Republic
    Slovakia
    Poland
    Latvia
    Lithuania
    Estonia
    Ukraine
    Finland
    Mongolia
    China
    Hong Kong
    Turkey
    Armenia
    South Korea
    Cambodia
    Laos
    Thailand
    Vietnam
    Myanmar
    Pakistan
    India
    Nepal
    Singapore
    Indonesia
    Papua New Guinea
    Zambia
    Zimbabwe
    Botswana
    Namibia
    Kenya
    Tanzania
    Canada
    Mexico
    Trinidad & Tobago
    St. Lucia
    Grenada
    Colombia
    Venezuela
    Brazil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

mike_ie wrote: »
    Lived longterm in:
    France
    Georgia
    USA
    Australia
    Afghanistan
    South Africa
    Russia

Travelled in:
    England
    Scotland
    Wales
    Spain
    Belgium
    Netherlands
    Switzerland
    Germany
    Lichtenstein
    Denmark
    Italy
    Austria
    Hungary
    Romania
    Bulgaria
    Montenegro
    Greece
    Croatia
    Macedonia
    Bosnia
    Serbia
    Czech Republic
    Slovakia
    Poland
    Latvia
    Lithuania
    Estonia
    Ukraine
    Finland
    Mongolia
    China
    Hong Kong
    Turkey
    Armenia
    South Korea
    Cambodia
    Laos
    Thailand
    Vietnam
    Myanmar
    Pakistan
    India
    Nepal
    Singapore
    Indonesia
    Papua New Guinea
    Zambia
    Zimbabwe
    Botswana
    Namibia
    Kenya
    Tanzania
    Canada
    Mexico
    Trinidad & Tobago
    St. Lucia
    Grenada
    Colombia
    Venezuela
    Brazil

As I suspected; you're 109 and wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

The Peanut wrote: »
    As I suspected; you're 109 and wise.

35 and dumb as a bag of rocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

mike_ie wrote: »
    35 and dumb as a bag of rocks.

Wise enough to travel when you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

bluewolf wrote: »
    Few places but nothing really exciting
    umm... usa, denmark, sweden, israel, england, germany, france, italy, spain, switzerland, austria, czech r...

currently eyeing up a group travel thingy to bhutan

It looks fascinating but anything to do with tours winds my langer up something fierce. I'd sooner go for a stomp around Nepal on my own instead. (Smoking half of the Himalayas as I go.)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Americans who have never left the states is no different to an Irish person who has never left Europe to be fair about this, the US is a feckin' huge yoke!
    MS.ing wrote: »
    in fairness the whole world is turning into the united states of america consumerism. lines are blurred wherever you go now. maybe what you meant was if youve never been to a developing country.

in europe there are different languages and cultures, same cant be said for the US. size isnt every thing ;)

If you think about the most common reasons an Irish person travels overseas then it's fairly easy to see why a large % of average Americans haven't left the country.

Holidays (Winter holiday or summer sun holiday) - Covered in multiple ways by the USA
    Work (either business visit or to get a new job) - Covered ; If I can't get a job in NYC I can move to Chicago or LA or Dallas or wherever.. also lots of very large companies that do not exist outside of US , so lots of people never need to go visit a customer overseas.

Personally I've been to

England
    Scotland
    Wales
    France
    Luxembourg
    Sweden
    Denmark
    Belgium
    Netherlands
    Germany
    Spain
    Slovakia
    Morocco
    South Africa
    China
    India
    USA

I travel to the US 5 or 6 times a year for work and have been doing so for the last 15 years or more. I end up spending about 2 months a year there all told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

I've been all over the place.

Scariest place: Democratic Republic of Congo

Most giant spider place: Mozambique

Giant snake experience: India

Road potholes the size of a small car: Sierra Leone

Diarrhoea for 2 weeks: Tanzania

Nicest beach: Zanzibar

Earthquake followed by lizards in the shower: Uganda

Lovely red wine and great food: Rwanda

I've had great breaks all over Europe and I really do appreciate short-haul, easy flights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭munster87

I've been to 194 different countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Not meant as an attack on anybody. But we (The Irish) as a nation are pretty privileged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

That's more interesting than my long list of countries. So here goes (again)...

Most tight fisted ignorant bullies: Netherlands
    More incredible, outstanding French Dinner in a Restaurant: Vilnius
    Most weird but strangely attractive and mildly friendly people: Helsinki
    Biggest gap between being sober (boring people) and drunk (wild randy people): Stockholm
    Most exciting mixture of east and west: Hong Kong
    Best city for everything really:London
    Most disappointing kip: Paris, Madrid, Athens
    Scary natives: Gaborone
    Unfriendliest taxi drivers in the focking Universe: Beijing
    Most horrible airport: Cairo
    Driving head on, both sides of the road:Beirut
    Best Food: Arab food in Israel
    Most incredible city for history, culture: Jerusalem
    Best boat trip :Overnight ferry between Helsinki and Stockholm - you think the Irish can drink??
    Beautiful women: Lebanon OMG!!!
    Classiest Hotel: Shangri La Hong Kong (in a top floor suite!) http://www.shangri-la.com/
    Worst Hotel: Hotel in Ballina (found a corn plaster full of blood under my pillow in the morning!!)
    Worst Food: Sofia Bulgaria - something that looked like a lung and tasted worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

LorMal wrote: »
    Best boat trip :Overnight ferry between Helsinki and Stockholm - you think the Irish can drink??

Great bands too. Great bands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Done a fair bit at this stage meself - 32 countries I think. Travel is like food for the soul I find. Theres a good few gems out there - Iceland, Patagonia, and Nepal come to mind. For alot of places in Asia or some places in south america once you pay for the flights, it can be as cheap as chips for grub, accommodation and tours - especially Cambodia, Thailand etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Haven't been abroad much, but I've been away a little bit.

England loads of times, Portugal, Scotland, Wales, Nice, Toulon, Monte Carlo and the Seychelles. Going to Spain for the first time next year. :)

• Site Banned Posts: 8 redbranch14

I have never been outside of my beloved Ulster (in terms of this island anyway)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,203 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Lived in UK & Ireland.
    Visited
    France - Toulouse & Paris
    Scotland - Edinburgh
    England.- London
    Spain - Canary Islands
    USA - San Francisco, LA, Las Vegas, Hawaii
    Spent 12 hrs in Newark airport, so I guess New Jersey also!!

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭snowstorm445

Yep, although never outside of Western Europe. So far I've travelled to England (London and bits of the Midlands), Scotland (Glasgow, Edinburgh, Perth, Stirling, parts of the Highlands and Skye), France (Brittany, Normandy, Paris and the Vendee), Portugal (the Algarve, Lisbon, Coimbra and the Alentejo), Spain (Madrid and Barcelona) and the Netherlands (just Amsterdam).

I've been to most counties in Ireland (including all of those in Munster, Leinster and Northern Ireland), I've yet to go to Donegal, Sligo, Mayo, Leitrim and Roscommon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

France - Paris.
    Germany - Hamburg, Munich, the Alps.
    Italy - Rome, Milan, Venice, Florence, Lake Garda.
    Northern Ireland - Belfast, Derry.

I've seen a lot of the Republic from Malin to Mizen, the family are pretty big into the aul "staycations".

I'm messing with the idea of working for one of our winters in New Zealand in 3 or 4 years when I'm qualified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭con___manx1

N Ireland ,Wales ,England,Portugal ,Spain ,holland,France,USA ,Canada,Dubai,Thailand ,Singapore and Australia . I lived in Canada and Australia for a couple of years. I'd love to go to Argentina, India ,Norway and Sweden . If I ever won the lotto I would travel the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭Brinimartini

Canada, US, Panama, Germany, France, Austria, Poland,
    Belgium, Holland, Turkey, Portugal, Madeira, England,
    Scotland, Wales, Spain, Italy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Lived in:
    USA
    Australia
    Japan

US States Visited
    Washington
    Oregon
    California
    Nevada
    Utah
    Idaho
    South Dakota
    Arizona
    Texas
    Louisiana
    Nebraska
    Colorado
    Wisconsin
    Iowa
    Indiana
    Illinois
    Kentucky
    Georgia
    Maine
    New York
    Massachusetts
    DC
    Pennsylvania
    Montana
    Wyoming
    Michigan
    Florida
    Missouri
    New Hampshire
    Hawaii

Rest of the World
    UK (all except Wales)
    Germany
    France
    Spain
    UAE
    Singapore
    China (Hong Kong)
    Mexico
    South Korea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 GAC999

Never been outside Western Europe, it's definitely my aim to do so in next year to two but I've been to Stockholm, lots of Spanish Islands (Lanzarote, Gran Canaria, Tenerife, Majorca) and London three times.

I've never lived outside Ireland though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Nothing too exciting compared to some...
    All 32 Counties of Ireland and the full coastline where it was possible.

Wales,
    England,
    Belgium,
    France,
    Portugal,
    Spain, (lived there as well)
    Lanzarote,
    Italy,
    Corsica,
    Croatia,
    Macedonia,
    Slovenia,
    Serbia,
    Greece,
    Greek Islands,
    Cyprus,
    Turkey,
    Egypt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

England, Scotland, France , Spain , Italy ,Germany , Netherlands, Austria , Greece,Switzerland Czech Republic , Cyprus , Hungary, USA , Canada, Vatican City ( lots of ye forgot that I'd say when ye put down Italy , I'm so clever me.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I didn't think I'd travelled that much, but it does add up over the years:
    Most of the UK.
    South Africa (all 4 provinces) plus Swaziland
    USA: Seattle, New York, Denver, Houston, (& Jacksonville FL later this year)
    Canada: Toronto, Edmonton, Calgary, Vancouver
    France (Paris, Canne, Lyon), Germany (Düsseldorf).
    Bangalore, Dubai.

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns