Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Daunting Firsts

• 13-08-2014 11:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭

So, yeah, I'm new to this stuff. Been driving a car a good number of years, and decided I would like the freedom of a bike, to leave the car for the wife and kid.

The wife said it's a mid-life crisis, I disagree. :D

How is someone supposed to start out? :eek: So much choice.

I get my learner permit next week, and then plan to go do IBT. Since I live northside, I'm considering Airport Driving School or else Irish School of Motoring, both in the Jamestown Business park. Any recommendations on either?

Then starts all the fun - buying the gear, and of course, deciding on my first bike. I am not looking for a sport bike. Something with a more upright seating position. Just something mainly for commuting. But, something that can carry a bit of gear on the back. It would free up the car if I can get what I need on a bike. I want something comfortable. I plan to go to a few motorbike shops soon to just have a look. Searching online looks great, but obviously touching a bike will have a big impact.