Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you go out to celebrate when you got your Leaving Cert results?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Got mine 11 years ago and didn't go out as I was so angry at what I got compared to my mocks. Looking back now, it was a waste of time and I never needed it anyway as the college courses I did do I had no interest in. If I left school after my JC I'd actually be in an even better position today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Back when I got mine, we were all warned by the teachers not to go off mad drinking. Of course, a lot of us were like "Eh, we are no longer your pupils. We're able to do whatever the fúck we want. Good luck with that." Basically, "FÚCK YOU, I WON'T DO WHAT YA TELL ME!!!"

Found the only bar in the whole town that was open at 10am. Rough as a badger's arse this place was. But seeing as the only other customers at this point were a couple of old alcoholics, we ensconced ourselves and began drinking. Like fúck.

We then intended to troop into Dublin for a proper gee-eyed session. I, however, got an itch. An itch to play poker. And it wasn't going away.

I arranged to meet up with the lads in a club later on, while I stole away to a casino in the heart of Dublin for a tournament. I assured the lads that in my inebriated state I would be soon knocked out and would join them once the itch to play poker had been scratched.

I didn't get knocked out as quickly as planned. Ended up winning the tournament (I sobered up as the night wore on and began pumping the coffee in), pocketing a cool €1300. I got a taxi home and fell into bed with my winnings in my arse pocket and slept. The sun was well up by the time I got home, about 7:30am.

I got 495 points and €1300. Not a bad result!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Was a lovely sunny day, got my results, knew I'd got enough points so lay in a field having a few cans with mates in the afternoon. Parents took me for a pint in early evening, got something to eat and out again with my mates! Standard stuff I would imagine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

baldbear wrote: »
    I Did bad and ended up in Athlone......

There's no such thing as doing bad. Are you happy in a general way?

DazMarz wrote: »
    Back when I got mine, we were all warned by the teachers not to go off mad drinking. Of course, a lot of us were like "Eh, we are no longer your pupils. We're able to do whatever the fúck we want. Good luck with that." Basically, "FÚCK YOU, I WON'T DO WHAT YA TELL ME!!!"

Found the only bar in the whole town that was open at 10am. Rough as a badger's arse this place was. But seeing as the only other customers at this point were a couple of old alcoholics, we ensconced ourselves and began drinking. Like fúck.

We then intended to troop into Dublin for a proper gee-eyed session. I, however, got an itch. An itch to play poker. And it wasn't going away.

I arranged to meet up with the lads in a club later on, while I stole away to a casino in the heart of Dublin for a tournament. I assured the lads that in my inebriated state I would be soon knocked out and would join them once the itch to play poker had been scratched.

I didn't get knocked out as quickly as planned. Ended up winning the tournament (I sobered up as the night wore on and began pumping the coffee in), pocketing a cool €1300. I got a taxi home and fell into bed with my winnings in my arse pocket and slept. The sun was well up by the time I got home, about 7:30am.

I got 495 points and €1300. Not a bad result!!! :D

Now that is a result. I give you an A +++++++++++++++

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭sblythe

Strange how different things turn out for different people. I'd be the opposite to you, my main group of friends are the same ones I started 1st year in school with 16 years ago. We all went to university locally with some of us even doing the same course so the group never got broken up.

On the other hand as we were all around we didn't really mix much with others in university so I don't keep in contact with people from undergrad at all.

Indeed. One of my friends went to study back in his country, and two others went to two separate colleges. I knew absolutely nobody in my course but now I have made some great friends.

Fiolina wrote: »
    Yeah, you're right actually. When I did my leaving, I'd been working part time since I was 13 (prob why I failed exams) but I'd been there, done that etc so it was no big deal going out for the exams whereas for most of my friends it was a really big deal.

Fiolina
    You liked my post. So as an aside I have to tell you all my father refused to drive me to the exam center. I thumbed a drive to sit all of my exams.

In 1984 you could thumb a drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Fiolina

Aineoil wrote: »
    Fiolina
    You liked my post. So as an aside I have to tell you all my father refused to drive me to the exam center. I thumbed a drive to sit all of my exams.

In 1984 you could thumb a drive.

You could thumb a lift and there wouldn't be an eyebrow raised.
    As another aside - I did work experience (after my leaving) in the arsehole of kKldare in the early 90's when random girls went missing, always hitched and didn't think twice about it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Fiolina wrote: »
    You could thumb a lift and there wouldn't be an eyebrow raised.
    As another aside - I did work experience (after my leaving) in the arsehole of kKldare in the early 90's when random girls went missing, always hitched and didn't think twice about it :eek:

Used to thumb from dublin to galway in the late eighties & early nineties. It was reasonably safe back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

JillyQ wrote: »
    Used to thumb from dublin to galway in the late eighties & early nineties. It was reasonably safe back then.

I remember thumbing to Dublin with my sis years ago. A big muscly truckie pulls up "hop in girls ;)" ..... we did and so did my ma who was hiding behind a wall :-D
    .......... we got dumped in Fermoy!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Mariasofia wrote: »
    I remember thumbing to Dublin with my sis years ago. A big muscly truckie pulls up "hop in girls ;)" ..... we did and so did my ma who was hiding behind a wall :-D
    .......... we got dumped in Fermoy!! :(

I remember myself & a friend getting picked up by a farmer who had calf in the back of the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭thrashmetalfan

i remember failing the leaving cert first time round. I found some of the subjects quite tough especially maths which I got NG as a result. I remember that day cycling into the local village to buy some things in the local supermarket when a mini bus passed me by with a good few of my class mates all dressed to go out. obviously they did not invite me along with them and I spent results day sitting at home watching tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,672 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

i remember failing the leaving cert first time round. I found some of the subjects quite tough especially maths which I got NG as a result. I remember that day cycling into the local village to buy some things in the local supermarket when a mini bus passed me by with a good few of my class mates all dressed to go out. obviously they did not invite me along with them and I spent results day sitting at home watching tv.

I have to ask did you pass maths the second time, I have never come across anyone getting NG in a state exam. Hope it all worked out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I was 19 getting my LC results (started school when I was 5 and a half and did transition year) so went to the pub and got drunk. Was happy with results because I'd passed without doing a tap (not something I'm proud tbh). Got with my friend's cousin, woke up on the beach the following morning with said cousin, brushed myself down and went to work in the Motorola factory in Swords for 7.30am. Slept most of the day with my head propped up on a coat on top of the sanitary bin in the jacks.

15 years ago. Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

One thing that pisses me off is celebrating mediocrity. You should not celebrate mediocrity.

I fell just short of 600, so celebrated that. But I didn't celebrate my degree nor go to graduation, as I fell below a 1.1.

I remember my mother was really annoyed; I was her only child that went to college and she wanted to see me graduate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Yogosan

I was drunk when I collected the envelope, because the Leving Cert was THAT important to me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I was drunk studying for it.
    I was drunk doing it.
    I am still drunk.
    It was 1992. A good year as I don't recall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Got my results in 2005. Got about 400 points which was respectable enough. Celebrated with the family by having a quiet meal in the Star in Swords followed by a few cheeky Bacardi Breezers at home before rolling into bed drunk and sugar-high around 10pm.
    Good times. Sure, I was only 17 at the time and pretty much devoid of any friends who would willingly hang out with me after school so I couldn't really do much "get utterly ****faced"-type celebrating. :(
    Oh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

No.

I didn't do as well I should have(would have, without stress and a break down.) and I didn't see the point of celebrating subpar(to me) results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭indigo twist

myshirt wrote: »
    One thing that pisses me off is celebrating mediocrity. You should not celebrate mediocrity.

I fell just short of 600, so celebrated that. But I didn't celebrate my degree nor go to graduation, as I fell below a 1.1.

Did you not feel that falling short of the magical 600 was kinda mediocre ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

No.

I didn't do as well I should have(would have, without stress and a break down.) and I didn't see the point of celebrating subpar(to me) results.

Reminds me of me!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

No, but I was just 17 and did as expected which was fairly good, it was not something that would get me excited that I would feel I needed to celebrate.
    Just a relief to have achieved to what I had expected.

I got my results, went home and helped out on the farm, and that was enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,553 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I only got 599 points so I restricted my celebration to half a twix and a single can of Budweiser after dinner before retiring to bed early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

Mine was 8 years ago! I just went out to Eddie rockets with a few friends for some food and then home :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭indigo twist

kowloon wrote: »
    I only got 599 points so I restricted my celebration to half a twix and a single can of Budweiser after dinner before retiring to bed early.

Good on you. Proper form!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

No.

What I got was there or thereabouts the best I could have done, so I was happy with that.

With college I pissed it against the wall academically; too much drink, women and fighting.

Hit me with a lesser degree than should have got, so I wouldn't celebrate that. That's mediocrity.

My view is if a man can get 600, he should be getting 600. If he can get 300, then he should be getting 300. As long as he is trying his best. There are a lot of kids there that are doing sh!t, and going out celebrating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

25 years ago now. I was working in my summer job but I do remember going out to the Kings Head in Galway that evening. No such thing as any big parties or big celebration holidays back then as nobody had any money for that sort of stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭Griever931

No I don't think I went out but I did get Chinese food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Yeah we went out and I couldn't get served because I was 17 and they were strict as ****. Then I went out the following year and got a bottle thrown at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Yeah we went out and I couldn't get served because I was 17 and they were strict as ****. Then I went out the following year and got a bottle thrown at me.

City living vs. country living. The pubs in dear old putrid Newcastle West would be open until 4 in the morning for the inter cert results. No getting pissed in school uniform was the general rule. As for the leaving cert, most of us were running tabs at that point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Was 14 years ago now. We went out in skerries I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I hired a beautiful black prostitute for the afternoon.

We're married and have three kids.

Bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Timistry

A big group of my classmates arrived in cars, Guns n roses blaring and trays of jelly shots at the ready. Some were still drunk from the night before ha!

We went to the pub straight afterwards and had a few pints with the teachers. They were pretty cool like that

I headed home then, dossed around for a while, ate the dinner and went to the pub for round 2. An epic nite of pintin ensued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

myshirt wrote: »

Haha! Jaysus! Any excuse to have fun and enjoy life is how I see it. We'll be dead long enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Went out for a swim after the disappointing first ones, got a Chinese take away for the better second lot. Yippee.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

yes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Jesus, that would be a good few years ago now. I can't remember that night at all...

seriously, I can't remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

21 years ago, got absolutely ****faced, by the end of it when the taxi dropped me off, I had to crawl from the car to the house, fell asleep in the bathroom.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

15 years ago, The Ambassador in Dublin of all places. Absolute E festival it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I did the Leaving twice. Both times, my mother collected my results because I had a summer job (that I couldn't leave.) I think I missed out...just the whole experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

I did the leaving 11 years ago, I got my results online and then from what I can remember I tried to go out and celebrate but I got so drunk I couldn't get in anywhere and I tried to blame my shoes. Ended up having a blazing row with my boyfriend at the time because he left me at home and went out without me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I played a round of golf with my Mam and then when to Pasta Fresca in town with herself and Dad for dinner.

It was wild I tell ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Firstly, nearly all of my classmates were **** that I hated and I never spent a second longer with them then was necessary.

Secondly, I got horrid results the first time around which resulted in me **** into a sock and sobbing furiously for three days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭griffin100

28 years ago........got the results on a Thursday and didn’t do much that night but the next night ended up in Blooms in Temple Bar and got mightily ****faced and ended up having to walk all the way home as in those days there were fcuk all taxis in Dublin.

Next day a few of us went to see Total Recall in the cinema and one of my mates had trouble getting in as he didn’t look old enough, but had been served booze no problem the night before.

Seems like a very long time ago now, probably because it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Went to a nearby nightclub and fell into a ditch on the way back to a friend's house afterwards. Took us an hour to get out.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Went on the piss with a few school mates in a local boozer and later on in town (Zoo bar, anyone remember it?? :D) the evening after getting the results. One mate did pretty badly as he did sweet FA work and partied too much in 6th year so really only had himself to blame and was drowning his sorrows. He ended up repeating and getting into the course he wanted.

This was way, waaay back in 1993 and the concept of going away to Spain or Greece or far afield after the exams wasn't the done thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

The results weren't anything to celebrate, I got a thick ear and called a waster :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I didn't drink but went to the local nightclub for their leaving cert party and decided to have a beer. Bought a bottle of Bud coz that's what everyone was drinking. Took 2 sips and left it on the bar disgusted at it.

Have made up for the not drinking until was 20 thing now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I went out for a drink with my father

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I went to work.