Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you feel the days getting shorter?

• 15-08-2014 6:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭

I tell ya, it'll be winter in no time. Dark at 9 o'clock now. :( Next thing you know we will be putting the ol clocks back.

EDIT: Woopsies, I made a typo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭Electric Boobs

clock 'back'. I don't mind the days gettin shorter as long as the warm weather stays for a bit, but it doesn't seem to be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Bad oul' stretch in the evening :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,208 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Indeed op. Practually dark at 9pm these days.
    Sure give it a week or two and it will probably be 8pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Bad oul' stretch in the evening :(

Great drying out though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

wazky wrote: »
    Great drying out though.

Not for long. I hear it's gonna snow this Christmas, the Donegal postman said so.

The cows will coming in soon, the poor fcukers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Not dark until after 9. Still a grand stretch. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Yep, it's back to being dark when I get up in the morning.

Magaggie wrote: »

Tell that to the cows! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Magaggie wrote: »

Must be all this global warming they keep going on about.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 deerehunter

Yestorday seemed to be only 22 hours alright

catallus wrote: »
    Must be all this global warming they keep going on about.

Isn't it great? Why is everyone giving out about global warming for? I mean it's going to get warmer in Ireland.

That's the deal right?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

I feel the days and I'm getting shorter. I think it's my back and the ageing process.

Yestorday seemed to be only 22 hours alright

Roysh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭lulu1

I just love the dark evenings. Big roaring fire. Tv on. Sure ye couldn't beat it wey a big stick.

I just read all those posts in Mrs Doyle's voice.

Sure 'tis still a grand aul stretch. Sure what would you be wantin' the good weather for anyways?

Will you have a cup'a'tea? Ah, ye will. Go on.

Go on, go on, go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I'm gonna just say it. I prefer dark evenings to bright ones. There's nothing worse in the summer than trying to get an early 'night' with your room like a sauna, the sun still shining in your window, stupid birds f*ckin singing outside and idiotic kids playing football on the street. Nothing better than throwing on your warm pyjamas, getting a hot water bottle and cuddling up under the duvet in a cold, dark room :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

I fukn hate winter. Galway is lovely in summer but wet windy winters make me semi depressed. Fcuk ya OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    I fukn hate winter. Galway is lovely in summer but wet windy winters make me semi depressed. Fcuk ya OP!

I'm the opposite, wet and windy weather gives me a semi

I'm sitting here in the dark freezing. Summer is well and truly over lads. Ya can smell it out there. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I've started to grow fur on my back in anticipation of the impending harsh winter.

Karl Stein wrote: »
    I've started to grow fur on my back in anticipation of the impending harsh winter.

Have you put on the winter weight yet? Think might have to soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Ya can smell it out there. :(

What do you smell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Have you put on the winter weight yet? Think might have to soon.

I'm working on it. That reminds me.. off licence.

catallus wrote: »
    What do you smell?

Your gee.

Your gee.

Well, that escalated quickly :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,370 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Winter is coming.

Birneybau wrote: »
    Winter is coming.

Brace yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,020 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Winter is fab. You don't feel you have to be Doing Something.

Snuggle in, and enjoy the hibernation.

It's what the seasons are for FGS!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I definitely notice the evenings closing in earlier now.

Just do what I do and put your watch ahead by 2 hours every week!

It's next Wednesday 15:30 here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Fierce dark at 9pm tonight here in Dub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭lulu1

Aye The dark days of christmas are one the way. I would start baking a xmas cake if only I knew how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,370 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

lulu1 wrote: »
    Aye The dark days of christmas are one the way. I would start baking a xmas cake if only I knew how.

I think you may have time enough to learn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Reiketsu

I have the curtains drawn and lights on by 8:30pm now. I like autumn and winter though!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I am definitely summer's child. I hate the long, dark, cold nights of winter and the sun setting earlier each night is so depressing. Every year after Christmas I begin the countdown to mid-February when the sun starts setting after 5.30 because then I know I'll get daylight after work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Air has that heavy Asthma inducing damp feeling about it from about 6pm onwards, although my favourite times of the year are Autumn and Spring. I love the crisp snuggly, not too cold not too warm weather.
    Summer is a killer for me, the humidity here is just awful, looking forward to not sweating all the flipping time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Definitely getting late early

• Registered Users Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I way prefer winter to summer. I'm a teacher so you'd think I'd be the other way round but bring on the fires, seeing your breath when you go for a walk, lying on the couch with a blanket, hot chocolate, sitting in my local with a hot port beside the fire, mulled wine at Christmas and getting to wear my nicest clothes. Love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Guerreiro

I love the dark evenings, but as soon as Christmas is over I can't wait for the evenings to get that little bit brighter and for the clocks to go forward again.

So I'm pretty happy with the hand dealt!

Definitely getting late early

If we all moved to China we wouldn't have this problem. It's dark there now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Dark at 4pm… soon… soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,020 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The evenings are getting a bit darker but that happens every year!

A man who has made the most of summer is not afraid of the winter!

The evenings are getting a bit darker but that happens every year!
    I know, what a stupid thread. "ah, the days are getting darker", "yeah yeah, I noticed that alright"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Reiketsu wrote: »
    I have the curtains drawn and lights on by 8:30pm now. I like autumn and winter though!

Seeing your hobby is walking around naked in the house that is a good move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Lights on since 5pm. Winter's coming...