Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

It only becomes a problem when you run out!! Wouldn't see it as an issue. I'd have a bottle or two of wine a night watching tv, just to relax. Don't need an audience

Now that's alcoholism. :(

Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Drinking alone is not healthy....drinking with others, is also not healthy. If drinking is what you want to do then do it and stop your b1tching!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Wouldn't usually drink alone, much prefer being out with friends or whatever. That being said, I was out last Saturday and it was crap so I grabbed a few cans and went home, happy days :)

Whatever you're into really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

Whatever you're into really

Anything?

catallus wrote: »
    Anything?

You can do anything you're into, doesn't mean I will! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

You can do anything you're into, doesn't mean I will! :pac:

Good answer!

I'll pray for your soul :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,474 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Drinking alone is totally cool.....as long as there is stopping at a normal time. Just like there would be on a regular night out

It shouldn't become something you rely on (Heineken in hand as I type) :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

I cant remember how many vodkas ive had sitting here. but ive some how lost my clothes... pixies again

90% of my drinking is done with friends/family etc but every now and then it's nice to sit down and relax on your own and get hammered!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

dar100 wrote: »
    It's not a taboo it's early stages of alcoholism

These threads are always a haven for people to project their own issues on others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

18 TIPS FOR DRINKING ALONE

“The other day I got invited to a party,
    But I stayed home instead,
    Just me and my pal Johnny Walker,
    And his brothers Black and Red,
    And we drank alone,
    Yeah, with nobody else,
    Yeah, you know when I drink alone,
    I prefer to be by myself.”- George Thorogood

1. Apparently, drinking alone is one of the warning signs of both alcoholism and depression. Hey, go tell it to Hemingway, dweeb.

2. Speaking of our friend Ernest, we’re not talking about a wine with dinner here. We’re talking serious drinking. Hemingway once said, “I drink to make other people more interesting.” Well, when you drink alone, you make yourself more interesting!

3. Don’t worry about justifying it to other people. They’ll probably assume that you’re depressed (which you are, but whatever) and you’ll have to spend a lot of time convincing them not to worry about you. I’ve found that repeatedly stating, “I’m not depressed, I’ve just realized that parties are more fun without other people!” is not an effective reassurance.

4. Socially acceptable excuses include: “I downed a few beers while I had the game on,” “I thought I was meeting up with my friends later at the bar,” or “My girlfriend just broke up with me.”

5. Not so socially acceptable reasons include: “I like to drink a bottle of rum while I stare blankly at the fish tank for a few hours,” “My roommate accidentally scratched my Weekend at Bernie’s II DVD,” or “My girlfriend broke up with me because I’m always drinking alone.”

6. You’ll have to come up with a decent alibi when people ask what you did on Saturday night. “Oh, I was so exhausted, I just passed right out at 10,” sounds a lot better than, “I did Edward Fortyhands by myself while watching Edward Scissorhands by myself. In my inebriated and non-dexterous state, I got trapped in the bathroom and had to chew my way through the duct tape.”

7. If you decide to tell people about it, keep in mind that they’ll probably keep a close eye on you for the next few weeks. They don’t want to be quoted in a future newspaper article as saying, “Looking back, it was so obvious. He kept making these desperate cries for help, and we just pretended not to notice.”

8. However, if you’re planning on going on a serious solitary bender it might be a good idea to tell others, just like mountain climbers and hikers should alert friends and family in advance of the trails they take or the mountains they scale. This way people will know where to look if you don’t show up to work for a week.

9. Do not drink alone if you are within a 5-mile radius of a McDonald’s, Domino’s, White Castle, or KFC. Do not drink alone if you are within a 40-mile radius of a Taco Bell.

10. Don’t attempt to watch a movie you’ve been dying to see or read a great book while drinking alone. You’ll probably forget major plot points and you’ll have no one to check your questionable memories with the next day. For instance, I just discovered that 300, which I’ve only seen drunk and alone, is not, in fact, a bowling movie.

11. On the other hand, this is a great time to watch some of the stuff that no one else ever wants to watch with you. So go ahead and get started on that Saved by the Bell: The College Years marathon.

12. If you’re drinking alone, it’s probably for a good reason — if there was anybody you wanted to drink with, you would’ve invited them beforehand. So don’t try texting your ex-girlfriend “sup?” at 3:14 a.m. Unfortunately, your judgment can’t be trusted at this point.

13. Stay away from Twitter, Facebook, e-mail, etc. “drrunkin alone, whtever IM NOT CRYING OKAY. BIG GIRLS DONT CRY” is not a good tweet, especially if you are a grown man.

14. Sure, bust out that high school yearbook! The repressed memories are flowing now, baby! LET’S RELIVE THOSE FOUR YEARS OF AWKWARD SHAME! YEAH!

15. Don’t drink excessively in the tub. I mean, it’s awesome, but it also sounds like the premise of a really bad Final Destination scene.

16. Don’t go outside. You’re obviously going through some weird **** right now, and the best way to handle it is to bury it deep down inside and smother it with sweet, sweet alcohol. Going outside only invites other people into the miserable sideshow that is your life.

17. If you’re gonna watch porn, it might be a good idea to pick it out ahead of time or else you might end up watching that hentai stuff with the tentacles.

18. Engaging in drinking activities usually done in groups (i.e. power hour, drinking card game, or that game where you take a shot every time a Full House character makes a demeaning comment towards Kimmy Gibbler) might seem extremely sad and pathetic to do alone. But hey, you’ve already shown casual apathy regarding other societal norms, so why draw the line here? Go ahead and play Solitaire Beer Pong. Remember, if a tree falls in the forest and no one is there to hear it, it doesn’t have to do that awkward thing where it stands back up and looks around to see if anyone was watching.

Cheers :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

What the **** is it with the term "social drinking"?

Surely rationalising that it's "Ok" to drink in the company of other people is as equally irrational as drinking "alone" - "social" it makes it suddenly "Ok"?
    Bollocks. It's a drug. Take it as you wish and what works best for you. I do.

Moderation, folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I drink on my own once a week when I catch up on all my TV shows - I purposely save them all for that one evening for this reason. Been doing it now for 4 years!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

I find anyone who partakes in this drug every night to be bland,uninteresting and difficult to talk to while they are on their "buzz".

Wait,sorry, wrong thread....

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Ah, so a woman runs herself a bath in the evening after a hard day at the office, kicks off shoes and pours a chilled chablis into a crystal glass and checks the post.

Next thing she's under a bridge wolfing down Dutch Gold with the rest of the winos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Egginacup wrote: »
    Next thing she's under a bridge wolfing down Dutch Gold with the rest of the winos.

Only the bums have a problem. I'll have you know, I'm high functioning!

Every few weeks when this topic resurfaces we have nonsense like the above posted. That some people think that drinking at home alone is the first steps on the path to alcoholism is just ridiculous.

There's often nothing better than a few nice beers while listening to music, watching a film or reading a book. It's one of those simple pleasures that you need in life. I've been told in the past that the fact that I'll have a beer or two in the early afternoon while playing video games makes me a drunk. It's the most ridiculous nonsense I ever heard and it came from someone who thinks it perfectly acceptable to head out on a Friday and/or Saturday night and drink 12 pints and then some shots. Society seems to view binge drinking in such a manner as more acceptable than a few cans or bottles at home.

As I type I've dinner in the oven, the DVD of 4 for Texas in my Blu-Ray player and two nice bottles of Ale to go with it. Nothing beats it and I'd sooner do that every night than head into a pub and pay close to 5 euro for a pint of generic tasteless beer that has to be served as cold as possible so as to kill the taste.

In other countries you can order a glass of beer at 8 in the morning and no one bats an eyelid. Here if you did it you'd have people pointing and commenting on it. Absolutely nothing wrong with having a few pints by yourself and anyone who says differently is wrong, and they're generally the definition of a condescending dick.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It depends on how much drinking alone you do. A glass or two of wine or a bottle or two of beer is Ok - getting plastered on booze alone is a very bad sign.

I know because I was getting blind drunk alone and I just admitted myself into a treatment centre to get the help I need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

:rolleyes: If you don't have a drinking problem, you don't have a drinking problem. Whether you have a couple of drinks alone or with company won't change that.

If you drink alone so that you can get drunk and not have to deal with people being concerned then maybe you have a problem. A couple of drinks to relax while watching a film or whatever is not alcoholism.

I suppose it's hard to define an alcoholic. A poster earlier said that they drink a bottle or two of wine a night and think it's perfectly fine, that's a serious amount in my opinion and I would class that as an alcoholic. Not because they are doing it at home alone but because of the amount and regularity of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Every few weeks when this topic resurfaces we have nonsense like the above posted. That some people think that drinking at home alone is the first steps on the path to alcoholism is just ridiculous.

There's often nothing better than a few nice beers while listening to music, watching a film or reading a book. It's one of those simple pleasures that you need in life. I've been told in the past that the fact that I'll have a beer or two in the early afternoon while playing video games makes me a drunk. It's the most ridiculous nonsense I ever heard and it came from someone who thinks it perfectly acceptable to head out on a Friday and/or Saturday night and drink 12 pints and then some shots. Society seems to view binge drinking in such a manner as more acceptable than a few cans or bottles at home.

As I type I've dinner in the oven, the DVD of 4 for Texas in my Blu-Ray player and two nice bottles of Ale to go with it. Nothing beats it and I'd sooner do that every night than head into a pub and pay close to 5 euro for a pint of generic tasteless beer that has to be served as cold as possible so as to kill the taste.

In other countries you can order a glass of beer at 8 in the morning and no one bats an eyelid. Here if you did it you'd have people pointing and commenting on it. Absolutely nothing wrong with having a few pints by yourself and anyone who says differently is wrong, and they're generally the definition of a condescending dick.

Amen, brother.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

It's nine o'clock on a Saturday
    The regular crowd shuffles in
    There's an old man sitting next to me
    Making love to his tonic and gin

He says, "Son can you play me a memory
    I'm not really sure how it goes
    But it's sad and it's sweet
    And I knew it complete
    When I wore a younger man's clothes"

Sing us a song you're the piano man
    Sing us a song tonight
    Well we're all in the mood for a melody
    And you've got us feeling alright

Now John at the bar is a friend of mine
    He gets me my drinks for free
    And he's quick with a joke or to light up your smoke
    But there's someplace that he'd rather be

He says, "Bill, I believe this is killing me"
    As a smile ran away from his face
    "Well, I'm sure that I could be a movie star
    If I could get out of this place"

Now Paul is a real estate novelist
    Who never had time for a wife
    And he's talking with Davy, who's still in the Navy
    And probably will be for life

And the waitress is practicing politics
    As the businessmen slowly get stoned
    Yes they're sharing a drink they call loneliness
    But it's better than drinking alone

Sing us a song tonight

It's a pretty good crowd for a Saturday
    And the manager gives me a smile
    'Cause he knows that it's me they've been coming to see
    To forget about life for a while

And the piano sounds like a carnival
    And the microphone smells like a beer
    And they sit at the bar and put bread in my jar
    And say "Man what are you doing here?"

Sing us a song tonight

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It depends on how much drinking alone you do. A glass or two of wine or a bottle or two of beer is Ok - getting plastered on booze alone is a very bad sign.

I know because I was getting blind drunk alone and I just admitted myself into a treatment centre to get the help I need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,020 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I will do what I want to do regarding alcohol.

I hate the Nanny State. In fact I am sick of it now.

A responsible person can drink Lough Erne dry but never cause a problem. Except maybe to themselves.

Whereas, we are all going to be penalised by increasing the cost of off sales, because a few muppets cause a problem?

It's a law and order issue IMO.

Catch the messers and stop them....but please don't stop me!

The policy seems to be...stop everyone from enjoying themselves because of a few toddlers.

But what about the Dail Bar?

Imagine having a pub in your workplace? Yes, them TDs have one, no problemo.

Pot, kettle, black.

I suppose it's hard to define an alcoholic. A poster earlier said that they drink a bottle or two of wine a night and think it's perfectly fine, that's a serious amount in my opinion and I would class that as an alcoholic. Not because they are doing it at home alone but because of the amount and regularity of it

I think most would consider that problem drinking, and not without cause. Company or not would be a non-issue in my mind.

My thoughts about being an alcoholic

Being alcoholic is defined by the fact that someone can not leave the alcohol alone at free will.
    The Dutch word for addiction is literally translated by "being slaved" and that's exacly what it is: being a slave to the alcohol.
    The alcohol is in control of you and not the other way around.

Being a "true alcoholic" is not defined by the amount of alcohol one drinks or for how many years, but only by the sole fact that one is not able to stay away from the alcohol without help.

Moreover, being an alcoholic" is nothing to pursue or to be proud of. So if anybody tells me there an alcoholic, I believe him/her without questioning.
    It's difficult enough to admit it to yourself, let alone to others.

Re OP post IMO there's nothing wrong with having a few beers by your own,I know it can be quite a soothing and chilling out time.

Of track post i know :-)

realies wrote: »

Being alcoholic is defined by the fact that someone can not leave the alcohol alone at free will.

I'd have to question that definition to be honest. An alcoholic to me, is someone whose drinking causes harm to them, or those around them on a regular basis.

Many alcohoics can go through self imposed 'dry spells' for weeks or months, in order to try and prove (to themselves mostly) that they don't have a problem, so I don't quite believe it's as black and white as your definition states.

daRobot wrote: »
    I'd have to question that definition to be honest. An alcoholic to me, is someone whose drinking causes harm to them, or those around them on a regular basis.

Many alcohoics can go through self imposed 'dry spells' for weeks or months, in order to try and prove (to themselves mostly) that they don't have a problem, so I don't quite believe it's as black and white as your definition states.

Sorry dident mean to make it black and white as I surely know that it is not so, Every alcoholic is different excepts for the fact they can't control there drinking, Giving it up for weeks or months is not controlling it, it's white knuckling it,and many a time I have done that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Egginacup wrote: »
    Ah, so a woman runs herself a bath in the evening after a hard day at the office, kicks off shoes and pours a chilled chablis into a crystal glass and checks the post.

In answer to the many times my post has been quoted and taking out of context, il say this:

My initial response was in relation to the OP "sitting alone and firing back vodkas"

If you enjoy a beer every so often watching telly, or in the bath, great. If you inferred that my post was about your type of drinking, maybe there's a reason for that

anncoates wrote: »
    These threads are always a haven for people to project their own issues on others.

I'm well aware of the psychological defence mechanism that is projection. I'm also aware of the many stages which alcoholism progresses through.

Firing back vodkas in isolation can be part of this progression, having a beer watching TV, or chilling out after hard day in the office, is in a different category to the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Last weekend I was having a few drinks with a friend. They went to the toilet and I was left on my own for a few minutes.

I'm a bit worried now, am I an alcoholic?

Last weekend I was having a few drinks with a friend. They went to the toilet and I was left on my own for a few minutes.

I'm a bit worried now, am I an alcoholic?

You are, 100%. Seek help immediately.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 412 ✭✭better call saul

Jesus lads you're some buzzkill, i started the thread for a bit of craic and it turns into a discussion on what defines an alco

Craic like this would turn you to drink...

Jesus lads you're some buzzkill, i started the thread for a bit of craic and it turns into a discussion on what defines an alco

Craic like this would turn you to drink...

You need to watch that crack. It highly addictive:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Apparently, drinking alone is one of the warning signs of both alcoholism and depression. Hey, go tell it to Hemingway, dweeb

Didn't he shoot himself in the face? Right in the fucking face?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I'm drinking alone right now. Quick! Call the priest!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 412 ✭✭better call saul

I'm drinking alone right now. Quick! Call the priest!

are you the intimate wax girl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

A bottle or two of wine a night is definitely problematic!

But enough beers or wine to get mildly drunk on a Friday night, is an extremely pleasant way to spend the evening after a week's work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I don't think it's a problem if you're in tune with yourself and if you're aware of any ill effects it's causing you. If you're drinking alone because you feel bad then you're gona have a bad time. It's one thing drinking to unwind of an evening :P But drinking to excess on your own nahhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

Here we go again, just finished watching "Dawn of the dead" from '78 and sipping Bushmills. I still have a glass of Bushmills with ice as I am sitting here.

I couldn't give less fcuk whether I am an alcoholic or not.

On my 4th can. Just finished Tucker and Dale vs Evil :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

On my 4th can.
    What else can we say, good man yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

4th bottle of wine.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭beckman

I take it you also drink alone:)

Question: when does ones drinking become unsocial?

Answer: wait for it! It becomes unsocial when one does it alone

Who says drinking has to be done socially?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

The Dutch word for addiction is literally translated by "being slaved" and that's exacly what it is: being a slave to the alcohol.
    The alcohol is in control of you and not the other way around.

Being a "true alcoholic" is not defined by the amount of alcohol one drinks or for how many years, but only by the sole fact that one is not able to stay away from the alcohol without help.

Moreover, being an alcoholic" is nothing to pursue or to be proud of. So if anybody tells me there an alcoholic, I believe him/her without questioning.
    It's difficult enough to admit it to yourself, let alone to others.

Re OP post IMO there's nothing wrong with having a few beers by your own,I know it can be quite a soothing and chilling out time.

Of track post i know :-)

Not exactly. An alcoholic is when a person becomes a nuisance due to alcohol and refuses to acknowledge this or take responsibility and will not fix the problem or can't.

Some people do not HAVE to drink but when they do become violent or anti-social they may not drink as much.

One of the first signs of an addict is refusing to admit what you do when you are drunk or high and refusing to take responsibility for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Pawn wrote: »
    Here we go again, just finished watching "Dawn of the dead" from '78 and sipping Bushmills. I still have a glass of Bushmills with ice as I am sitting here.

I couldn't give less fcuk whether I am an alcoholic or not.

Ice in whiskey?!

No.

Bold.

Also move it up to at least bushmils 10year old.

Mmmmm bushmills 10year old.

7.40am... Maybe not yet but op nothing wrong with it once your not getting plastered at home a few times a week on your own.

A few beers/glasses of wine on a Friday after work are just glorious.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

My sister is way too fond of drinking alone.
    She denies it but it's always easy to tell that she's put away a box or two of wine if she's been posting crap on the internet at silly o'clock.
    Her drunkeness is usually directly proportional to the number of youtube music videos she has posted to facebook.

Lou.m wrote: »
    Not exactly. An alcoholic is when a person becomes a nuisance due to alcohol and refuses to acknowledge this or take responsibility and will not fix the problem or can't.

Some people do not HAVE to drink but when they do become violent or anti-social they may not drink as much.

One of the first signs of an addict is refusing to admit what you do when you are drunk or high and refusing to take responsibility for it.

There are many people who are alcoholics who don't bother anybody but themselfs,all they want to do is drink and most likely alone.

Just because some people become violent when drinking certainally does not make them alcoholics.

Yes denial is a huge factor in alcoholism,but getting the strength and help to deal with your addiction takes huge self courage and will power and is certainly not as easy as some people make out.

Alcoholism is a broad term for problems with alcohol, and is generally used to mean compulsive and uncontrolled consumption of alcoholic beverages, usually to the detriment of the drinker's health, personal relationships, and social standing. It is medically considered a disease, specifically an addictive illness. In psychiatry several other terms have been used, specifically "alcohol abuse", "alcohol dependence," and "alcohol use disorder" which have slightly different definitions.[1] Alcohol misuse has the potential to damage almost every organ in the body, including the brain. The cumulative toxic effects of chronic alcohol abuse can cause both medical and psychiatric problems.[2]. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alcoholism

But to early for this realise :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

are you the intimate wax girl?

What