Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newcastle United - Manchester City (SS1 16:00)

• 17-08-2014 3:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭

NUFC XI - Krul; Janmaat, Williamson, Coloccini (c), Dummett; Anita, Colback; Sissoko, Cabella, Gouffran; Riviere

NUFC Subs - Elliot, Haidara, S.Taylor, Abeid, Obertan, Aarons, Perez

City XI - Hart, Clichy, Kompany (C), Demichelis, Kolarov, Fernando, Toure, Nasri, Silva, Jovetic, Dzeko

City Subs - Caballero, Boyata, Zabaleta, Milner, Fernandinho, Navas, Aguero

Some bench we have today. Clichy at RB is a weakness, and Fernando hasn't been fantastic in pre-season. Need Demi and Kompany to be in top form today.

No Vines of any match footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

I would love to see them do it for Alder and Sweeney but unfortunately I expect us to be bottom of the table this evening.

Newcastle 1 (Riviere) City 3 (Silva, Dzeko, Toure)

COME ON THE TOON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

BvPAw5lCIAAGwJu.jpg:large

Banner up before the game. Both died in the MH17 plane crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

As I've said in the Newcastle thread, we have to be positive. Pardew came under fire and rightly so for the shíte he had us playing last season. If he wants to get fans back on side, he needs to take this game to City. No excuses. We've bought, according to Pardew, "attacking and exciting players that can play the brand of football that's expected of us".

If we lose, I'd rather that it's because we've fúcking gone for it and got caught on the break. If we're to sit back and allow them to come on to us I'll be pissed off.

We were shíte last season, we've brought some potentially good players. Just try. For the love of fúcking jesus, just try.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,408 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Sagna injured?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

3-1 Man City. Fernando needs to up his game for this though, he has been fairly crap so far.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Sagna injured?

Nope, just not match fit. Almost nobody who played in the World Cup have played pre-season for us. Might be a more cautious approach to player fitness this year after the never-ending injury problems we had last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭fearrua

Any Toon fans know why De Jong isn't in the team/on the bench?

fearrua wrote: »

Injured. He'll be back next week as far as I know.

Picked up a pre-season injury in New zealand. Himself Tiote, Santon are out injured and I believe Mbiwa picked up a knock yesterday. HBA out of favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Yeah, I threw him in to my FF team last minute-ish and he got injured. I'm sorry.

Right. Good luck fellow Toon sufferers. I'll be back at HT for the inevitable rant.... May god have mercy on us all.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭fearrua

Shame about De Jong, had been looking forward to seeing him play. Should be a good game, and, as an Arsenal fan, best of luck to Newcastle today :P

Well respected, fair play to both sets of fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Decent start

Clichy's passing better than in pre-season anyway, that's vital. Jovetic looks lively.

Kolarov is causing Newcastle lots of problems so far.

Yeah, this fullback pairing should get us through today after all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Nice gesture with the minutes applause there.

Nice touch by the fans

Colback playing well, getting into some good positions both attacking and defensively.

This is more like it from Jovetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Cabella should be banned until he sorts that haircut out.
    bazual wrote: »
    Colback playing well, getting into some good positions both attacking and defensively.

Yeah, I just came on to post that. He has played very well so far today. I think he knows he needs to get off to a very fast start and it's showing.

Yaya is playing really deep. I thought Fernando starting would give him more license to get forward.

Fernando's really not impressing me much. He's so slow, he'll be really caught out against the bigger teams.

Great stuff from Kompany and Demi there.

Such a shame!!!

Top stuff from Dzeko, good goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭frisbeeface

What a superb goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭cadete

Lovely move, krul should have done a bit better

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Way too easy. Silva not tracked at all by Janmaat.

Silva! Nice play by Dzeko.

You're my boy Silva!

Can't complain really about the nufc performance, Williamson been good, pity about the goal but such a pity about the Ben arfa situation would be great in behind reviere

Been quite impressed with Colback and Riviere. The former has made some lovely little passes and Riviere looks a willing runner. It's a shame that he's having to make it work for himself because we're not getting bodies in to support.

Cabella has had some neat touches but I feel he's trying to impress too much by attempting that Hollywood ball all the time when the simple pass is always on.

Unlucky to concede as we've matched City well. Need to have a bit more conviction going forward.

Dummett has had a jekyll and hyde game. Missed some crucial tackles and has been left for dead on a couple of occasions but stopped Nasri in a crucial area of the pitch.

BvQKF4kIgAAIMkV.jpg

Pics still allowed? :P

Jesus lads relax with the bookings

Fernando with a class tackle there.

Good tackler yeah. Wish he was a bit quicker and a better passer.

Cmon lads top of the table is at stake here

Fine game by Jovetic, a much more viable option this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Nufc looking very tired

Looking forward to see Aarons, great pre-season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Bringing on an academy player to try to rescue a game? Pardew happy with squad?

Does not compute

That's four bookings...jesus lads

I Would Luv it if we snuck one here, Luv it!!!!

M5 wrote: »
    Bringing on an academy player to try to rescue a game? Pardew happy with squad?

Does not compute
    Obertan, Just crazy that guy is thieving a living playing premier league football offers nothing at all,

Aguero will score...just watch

Tackles flying in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Christ, Perez would've went down in folklore if that had've went in.

Aguero will score...just watch

Yup, Newcastle a great city to go out in alright. ;)