Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Note in OP, 25/08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Fergie was some man to get the that side to win the league!

Another reason why he is the GOAT. But ironically, his ability to get gold from mud, has hurt us in the long term.

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭twam2008

adox wrote: »
    Any thoughts on the alleged fee agreed for Di Maria?
    I knew we would be paying over the odds for him but £64 million?
    If that's true I'm a little bit shocked.

Just think of it as he's worth £14m more than David Luis. It helps me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,024 ✭✭✭✭adox

Fergie was some man to get the that side to win the league!

He didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Not arsed about Di Maria tbh. Smacks of sticking a Ferrari engine onto a Lada chassis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,247 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

He also deserves criticism for leaving the team in such bad shape for the future.

Agree fully Fergie left in glory but left a heap of **** for next manager to clean up after him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,212 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Rep made the difference. Luck and top 4 being **** that year helped also

Was he lucky every year?

Nothing to do with luck mate, the man was a genius.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭OdgeXD

Are we seriously offering Cleverly a new contract at 70k per week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Some size rock on dwights wrist.

If there's one positive to come from this it might result in a bit more urgency in the transfer market.

There's a week left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,859 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Schwiiing wrote: »
    Not arsed about Di Maria tbh. Smacks of sticking a Ferrari engine onto a Lada chassis.

Mind the metaphors :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

adox wrote: »
    Any thoughts on the alleged fee agreed for Di Maria?
    I knew we would be paying over the odds for him but £64 million?
    If that's true I'm a little bit shocked.

Too much money. I'd be surprised as well.

Di maria wants to leave. His wages are high. Madrid don't have to worry about strengthening a Champions League rival. Nobody else is in for him driving up the price.

I'll be surprised as well if United pay over £50m for him, which would already be a lot considering the circumstances.

How van Gaal sanctioned giving Antonio Valencia a new contract is beyond me.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭baldshin

There simply has to be something up our sleeve transfer wise apart from Di Maria. There is no way in hell Van Gaal can think we can cope with the players already at the club in the middle of the pitch, never mind Young and Valencia. By my calculations there were only 4 world class players playing for us today(Rooney, RVP, Mata and De Gea), and they all played muck bar De Gea. Only De Gea, Jones and Blackett showed a good account of themselves today.

Speaking of Blackett, he has been pretty impressive so far in preseason and the first two games, particularly when you consider that he is being targeted by the opposition and having to do more defending than the other centre backs. He seems pretty composed and comfortable out there, a bit like a young Rio.

I would be much happier at this stage playing reserve/youth players ahead of Cleverly, Fletcher, Young and probably Valencia. At least they would make some sort of creative effort and play with a bit of heart. Heartbreaking to see the club in this state in such a short period of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Was that RVP tackle a penalty for anyone else??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Next 4 league matches for yous are Burnley, QPR, Leicester and West Ham. 4 games to set up the season before the following 4, Everton, West Brom, Chelsea, City.

A lot of poeple thought our first two games were going to be b easy to and were predicting full point on our opening five games.

Thats 5 points dropped from two "easy games". I don't fancy us to beat anyone atm

LVG is very unanimated on the bench, ne needs to get more vocal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

The problem with this team are numerous (lack of quality being one), but what made me fume today was the lack of anyone willing to take the game to sunderland.

Valencia has bags of pace and doesn't want to take his man on.
    Young is all right foot and easily marked.
    Cleverly never puts his head up.
    Where did Rooney go?

Terrible performance and you have to worry about where the points are going to come from. Also 3-5-2 needs to go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

De jong is nothing amazing but he'll do a job short term and is better than a cleverly,fletcher or anderson etc but its not looking good, as far as an opening season fixture list we couldn't of asked for much easier.

I like LVG but I'm starting to think he is a master of excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

Tom pass sideways cleverley, ashely curl the ball into the byline and antonio pass the ball backwards need to to go.

That was the worst performance ive seen from a united side since 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Same as last year no pace or urgency at all rooney rvp and mata are still having to drop to pick up the ball from just a terrible midfield just aweful how a big team let this decline happen in midfield is shocking

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭OdgeXD

irishfeen wrote: »

Replay showed he got the ball, right decision. Young is still a disgrace though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Lads on Ford Super sunday saying we have agreed a fee of 80m euros for Di Maria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

irishfeen wrote: »

Hooked his foot on the ball. No peno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,358 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Di Maria ain't going to fix that on his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,247 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Was he lucky every year?

Nothing to do with luck mate, the man was a genius.

Nobody said any different the last league United won had some massive luck attached to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

If there's one positive to come from this it might result in a bit more urgency in the transfer market.

We seem to hear this after every shocking result. Yet nothing ever happens.

Big problem for me is the gap between defence and midfielders. Why are the defence dropping off so much? There's plenty of pace in defense they all need to push up to support the midfield.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

What I have taken from today's game.....

Blackett had a great game; as did Jones when he moved to CB. That's really it from a positive perspective.

Tom Cleverly provides nothing positive, he has to be let go.

Valencia again proves how much he has regressed. For a man who used to be the fastest player in the world he cannot take on defenders anymore and his pace has almost vanished.

Mata is technically great and his positioning for the goal was excellent however his lack of pace is telling and our CF's suffer because of this. Where does' he play??? I can't see where best suits him.

Kagawa again sitting on the bench. How on earth he didn't start ahead of Cleverly is a amazing. His time at Man Utd is nearly up and in fairness to him his treatment has been poor.

Ashley Young and his final delivery is painful. To top it off he won a gold medal for his dive.

Wayne Rooney was forced to drop deep because of our midfield deficiencies but still doesn't excuse him from the amount of poor touches he had today.

RVP feeds off supply which he did not receive all game. Not once was he given a ball to run on too and essentially was feeding off scraps.

Unfair to Junazaj to pull him in as a sub. He needs to start ahead of Young. As with Welbeck at least he has a bit of pace.

At the end of the day (Keano style); we were so predictable. Anybody in the PL can predict and defend so easily against it because of the above.

Best news today is the Di Maria has been agreed. Thank ****.

Lads on Ford Super sunday saying we have agreed a fee of 80m euros for Di Maria.

Posted already a few pages back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Sickening. You could buy three decent defenders for that money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

OdgeXD wrote: »
    Are we seriously offering Cleverly a new contract at 70k per week?

Lord Jesus above this can't be true. Ffs I'll let them sign one of my German Shepherds.....

They're all strong on the ball.
    Impossible to dispossess.
    Always going forward and positive in attack.
    Don't give away the ball.
    Impossible to beat or dribble past.
    Great engines and stamina.
    Will take the ball forward with unbeatable bursts of speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Moyes ****ed up his chance Liam O

Let it go

It's hard to let it go when someone who actually had a plan for the Summer is let go and the club descends into a circus for the 2nd season in a row. I didn't think 5 points would be dropped in the first 8 or 9 games and here we are 2 games in and 1 point.

Nobody said any different the last league United won had some massive luck attached to it.

11 points of luck?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Reckon Brown and O'Shea might fancy a return? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Trilla wrote: »
    Learn from this Mr philosophy Van Gaal

New signings or not

NEVER EVER play Tom Cleverley again

Ever.

Singling out Cleverley, over Fletcher, Young, Valencia and Rooney is a piss take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Its frustrating none of the dead weight have been shipped out so actual replacements can happen. The only one to leave has been Nani and arguably he's the best of a bad lot and United are paying his wages.

Everyone knows who the players are yet they are still starting games, is it really that hard to get rid of them or for the management to see the lack of quality they possess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

I have a full faith in Van Gaal that he will turn things around.

However, the decision to give Rooney the captaincy was a bad one I think. Leaving aside his disloyal leanings in the past, he is just not the player he once was. He should be at his peak but looks much older than his age out there.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Soldie

• Valencia seems to think he's playing chess whenever he's got the ball. Only, he's incredibly shít at chess.
    • Cleverley is a coward and plays the safest possible option every time he finds himself unfortunate enough to have the ball.
    • Young isn't a wing-back. In fact, he's not much of anything. Seems like the pre-season was just a blip, same as last year.
    • Fletcher would be blown off the ball by a five-year-old in the unlikely event he got to the ball before him.
    • van Persie doesn't look match-fit.
    • Rooney doesn't look arsed. Mind you, he probably can't be blamed after he saw who was playing in behind him.

If any of Valencia, Cleverley, Young or Fletcher are more than bit-part players for us this season then we're royally fúcked.

Liam O wrote: »
    Thos is what happens when you become a team that looks for a quick fix when it's not working out I guess. But sure last year was all Moyes' fault...

Moyes did not get nearly enough out of the players and money available to him and he was rightly sacked. LVG is currently not getting nearly enough out of the players and money available to him. If LVG keeps on going and ends up having a season like Moyes then he will be sacked too and it will also be the right decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Tom McDermott ‏@FootballMcD Protected Tweets 41s
    .@SkySports reporting that #mufc and Real Madrid have agreed a fee of £63.9m for Di Maria.

Hopefully we switch to 4-3-3 after signing Di Maria or a diamond.

Also Jones was very good today. Shame whole team was in shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Headshot wrote: »
    Rooney was dire again today. The amount of miss placed passes from him is getting ridiculous at this stage

Hard to produce as a striker when you have to continuely drop into the midfield looking for the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Trilla wrote: »
    Learn from this Mr philosophy Van Gaal

New signings or not

NEVER EVER play Tom Cleverley again

Ever.

I don't know what we can do with him now as no teams are interested in him and there about to offer a new deal to the lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Disappointing result in the grand scheme of things....however.....considering we had two reserve centre backs, two poor wingers playing as wing backs and a midfield duo of Fletcher and Cleverly I'm very glad we didn't lose. I do worry about Van Gaal with a depleted squad. He's very rigid when it comes to playing to his philosophy. Currently we don't have the numbers or the quality in the squad to effectively play his system but he's persevering. Now with so many out injured it might have been better to pick a system that suited the available players rather than try to fit them into his system. I dont know, he's far more knowledgeable than me, but playing with Valencia and Young as wing backs is just ridiculous in my opinion.

I'm sure things will turn around. Getting a fully fit squad will be a start, getting Di Maria would be nice but I'd really want to see some midfielders and defenders being signed. If not I think beating our 7th place finish is the only realistic target for this season.

The problems in possession today were Young (on the wrong side tbf) and Valencia making nothing of the ball in good positions; the lack of pace upfront before Welbeck came on; RVP's and Rooney's lack of hold up play and a lack of incisiveness from midfield.

People flipping out over Fletcher and Cleverley are overlooking all the other more serious problems today. They weren't great (Fletcher was particularly bad), but they did dominate the possession and kept Sunderland pinned back for long spells all game.

When defending the shape still looked ropey, but Blackett and Jones were very good one-on-one and dealing with balls into the box. Smalling did okay while he was on. Young and Valencia still don't look like they know where they're supposed to be defensively. Tbf to Valencia he was assured when he was chasing down runs towards the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Get the feeling we will see two more signings in the coming days. Probably two midfielders. Blind and de Jong would be good choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,760 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

billyhead wrote: »
    I don't know what we can do with him now as no teams are interested in him and there about to offer a new deal to the lad.

Dont be making excuses for him. He mis place passes all over the pitch. He has been ****ing dire for some time and gets away scot free of criticism.

League cup match Tuesday evening should be interesting.

Is it being televised?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Pro. F wrote: »
    Moyes did not get nearly enough out of the players and money available to him and he was rightly sacked. LVG is currently not getting nearly enough out of the players and money available to him. If LVG keeps on going and ends up having a season like Moyes then he will be sacked too and it will also be the right decision.

Would it have been the right decision for Liverpool to sack Rodgers his first season too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Is it being televised?

Sky sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Is it being televised?

Yeah , sky have it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,568 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Is it being televised?
    yeah,Sky have it.