Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Note in OP, 25/08

TheTownie wrote: »
    Gary Neville on Di Maria.

EDIT: Forgot to mention... Row Joe

Blind is a DM wtf r they on about...
    Yes he can also play LB.

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭twam2008

NTMK wrote: »

No f*cking way, just when I thought tonight couldn't get any better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,659 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

NTMK wrote: »

Letting them have Cleverly will be instrumental to us getting 4th lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

I see no sense in loaning him out.

Defo loan him out. His value will rise cause he will do really well. Look at Lukaku. Sell him next Summer for twice what you'd get now.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Now Cleverly IS the type of player we should be sending our rivals way :P

Headshot wrote: »
    Letting them have Cleverly will be instrumental to us getting 4th lol

LVG master plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

GSPfan wrote: »
    Defo loan him out. His value will rise cause he will do really well. Look at Lukaku. Sell him next Summer for twice what you'd get now.

Priority is getting 4th. Giving a rival for that spot a player who you think will do really well is not very smart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Now Cleverly IS the type of player we should be sending our rivals way :P

dont know a bout that hes fantastic at dissecting uniteds defence :pac: might want to block him playing against us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

TheTownie wrote: »
    Gary Neville on Di Maria.

EDIT: Forgot to mention... Row Joe

Its been a hectic few days but did Neville not say yesterday that it was Mata who was at threat of being left out if Di Maria arrived? Now he's gonna be helping improve Mata?:confused:

I'll be able to tell my grand kids "I was on Boards for the transfer window of 2014".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Its been a hectic few days but did Neville not say yesterday that it was Mata who was at threat of being left out if Di Maria arrived? Now he's gonna be helping improve Mata?:confused:

That was Yorke

Priority is getting 4th. Giving a rival for that spot a player who you think will do really well is not very smart

Priority is not 4th. Priority is 1st.

Acceptable is 4th this year.

If Welbeck cannot play against us but can score goals against other top teams then it is smart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

GSPfan wrote: »
    Priority is not 4th. Priority is 1st.

Acceptable is 4th this year.

If Welbeck cannot play against us but can score goals against other top teams then it is smart.

Be honest with yourself. Do we have a shot at getting 1st?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

IIRC he just said one of the front three has to be left out, nothing more specific than that.

That was Yorke
    Thought it strange that Neville would do a complete flip flop in the space of 24 hours.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

Is it possible Di Maria was told Vidal will be signed and that's why he was so eager to join? Ballague said he was really excited about the "project" we were building at United. I think I've gone full muppet...

Pro. F wrote: »
    IIRC he just said one of the front three has to be left out, nothing more specific than that.
    I must have a look back on it tomorrow evening. I thought Neville specifically said Mata but it may very well have been Dwight "Tia Maria" Yorke. My assumption that it was Neville tied in with what seems to be his general dislike of Mata this season so far but then it kinda confused me to see what seems like a complete U-turn tonight. Its normally the Saturday/Sunday guys who change their minds on a players ability depending on who scores during their match....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

That was Yorke

I'm pretty sure Neville said something about one of the front three needing to make way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Holy heck lads only catching up on the events if the evening
    This place has exploded
    I think this thread could be closed by tomorrow evening
    Where's that pic of Ed pointing...
    Who's next
    #welcomeAngel...

Be honest with yourself. Do we have a shot at getting 1st?

No not really. Snowballs chance in hell at the moment but it still does not change the fact we are not aiming for 4th. We are aiming for 1st and hoping we don't miss it by 4 places. Do you really think a club spending £60 million on a player is prioritising 4th right now. No chance.

Anyway back to the Welbeck thing....

I'd be happy to loan him now to anyone who will play him and watch his value rise each week to the point we will either want him back so much or sell him for a good sum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

brinty wrote: »
    Holy heck lads only catching up on the events if the evening
    This place has exploded
    I think this thread could be closed by tomorrow evening
    Where's that pic of Ed pointing...
    Who's next
    #welcomeAngel...

Bv6nzVSIQAAQIi_.jpg

his eyes scream "come get me ed"

at this stage ive gone full muppet mode

Herrera, Shaw, Rojo and Di Maria; Not the worst transfer window in fairness.

Now sign Benatia and Vidal to make it a sorta decent Summer :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I can sorta see the logic in sending Welbeck on loan to Everton. He needs games and he won't be displacing the likes of RVP, Rooney, Di Maria. If he's going, it needs to be to a decent club because there's no use having him play with people below his level.

You don't want to get rid of him either because he's a useful player who is still improving, and RVP is likely to be playing less and less games with each passing year.

Welbeck at Everton could help them nick a few points from other top 4 rivals, and he wouldn't be let play against United. If he improves Everton enough that they look a threat to 4th, recall him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Tomorrow will be a good day. We'll get pictures of Di Maria holding up the jersey and leaning on stuff around Carrington.

Going to be a bit surreal, the way Van Persie was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

throw away the negativity im back to positivity

old-man-ditches-crutches-on-the-dance-floor.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

What a GIF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,659 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Out of interest does Di Maria know any English?

old-man-ditches-crutches-on-the-dance-floor.gif

Kew were never off it were ye....

Hello Aguero
    I'm going to 5h1t all over your title ambitions
    I love United of Manchester

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

brinty wrote: »
    Kew were never off it were ye....

Messi and Ronaldo next....

we are gonna stuff Burnley woop woop:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Pass me the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

He should know spanish anyway so that's a good few players he can talk to. If he doesn't, he will have to learn fairly quick along with Rojo as Van Gaal insists they only communicate in English.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

Di Maria is a good signing. But we still have positions to fill at CB and CDM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

All he needs is an a4 page with cleverleys face on it and a big X through it. He might not pass to him then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Countless times I've wanted Welbeck sold after a trademark performance from him but at the end of the day as a 3rd or 4th choice you wouldn't do much better, because of poor wingers and no midfielders it has meant Welbeck has played a lot more over the past few seasons than he should have, however I think those days are gone. Under LVG we will have players playing in the positions they should be, unlike under Fergie his last few years which obviously worked for him but I doubt that kind of imbalance in a team could work for many other managers. If Welbeck wanted to stay and play 10-20 games a season then I wouldn't be against it.

Cleverly just give me the ball
    I got this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

How are we on the injury front for the Burnley game so? Hopefully get a win there, then have everyone fit and raring to go after the international break.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

He really doesnt have too. The squad is stacked with spanish speakers.

1. De Gea
    2. Rojo
    3. Varela
    4. Valencia
    5. Mata
    6. Herrara
    7. Hernandez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

How are we on the injury front for the Burnley game so? Hopefully get a win there, then have every fit and raring to go after the international break.

Evans back, Rafael back, Rojo eligible. Herrera will miss it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Rob HarrisVerified account
    @RobHarris
    Such transfer spending though comes with Man United set to report revenue in 2013-14 financial year of £429m-£434m

https://twitter.com/RobHarris/status/504017908033658880

Not bad for a mid table team fighting with the likes of Southampton :pac:

• Moderators Posts: 12,386 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Knows all the words to Blondie -Maria. Seriously that songs just waiting for some football lyrics.

He moves like he don't care
    Smooth as silk, cool as air
    Ooh, it makes you wanna cry

Di Maria, you've gotta see him
    Cuts inside, and outside down the line
    Latina, Ave Maria
    <something something something>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

1. De Gea
    2. Rojo
    3. Varela
    4. Valencia
    5. Mata
    6. Herrara
    7. Hernandez

He does need it.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/28495912
    However, on the pitch, speaking in Spanish has been ruled out.

"We speak in English," Mata told BBC Sport. "The manager says we have to speak in English."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

1. De Gea
    2. Rojo
    3. Varela
    4. Valencia
    5. Mata
    6. Herrara
    7. Hernandez

Thought van gaal wanted everyone speaking english to each other?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

user2011 wrote: »
    Not bad for a mid table team fighting with the likes of Southampton :pac:

I'm really confused. All Summer we had lads popping in to tell us we wouldn't be signing anybody decent without Champions League... Yet here we are, on the verge of finalising a deal for Angel f*cking Di Maria!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

I'm really confused. All Summer we had lads popping in to tell us we wouldn't be signing anybody decent without Champions League... Yet here we are, on the verge of finalising a deal for Angel f*cking Di Maria!!!

What a cool middle name to have!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Yeah but but like we need a CM and a CB, here we are pissing tens of millions on the wrong type of player :pac:

They care a lot our club it's heart warming :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

fw6qtd.jpg

F*cking delighted with this signing. Keep em coming!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Come home wrecked and check the sports and see a fee for Di Maria has been agreed....I'll be going to bed happy anyway!

dwightshrutecelebrating.gif

I'm just imagining the Glazers planning all this. okay Sir Alex, you can pick the next manager. Ed don't get him any of the players he wants, next years gonna be ****ing awesome!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Bring in a CM or another defender before the week is up and I'll be very happy. Both and I'll be over the moon. For a long time I didn't expect any more signings let alone a player of Di Maria's quality.

Not only will Di Maria bring flair and creativity (which has been missing) no doubt his arrival will offer a huge boost for the fans and players a like.

When you see a player leaving one of the best clubs in the world to join you, even without CL football, it should offer a huge confidence boost for the players and fans.

Now hopefully the players can put in a good performance tomorrow and carry the momentum through to the Burnley game. Looking forward to the next seven days!