Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Note in OP, 25/08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

it was only till that interview he did when he said that he would have been applauded in spain for his passes that i grew a strong dislike for the guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,227 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Blatter wrote: »
    Sky Sports claim we have accepted Villa's bid for Cleverley.

ron-moved.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 33,755 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

sky88 wrote: »
    it was only till that interview he did when he said that he would have been applauded in spain for his passes that i grew a strong dislike for the guy

Stupid thing to say really by him.

It was not penetrating decisive passing that puts teams under pressure.

LVG is doing what should have been done two years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

adox wrote: »
    I take it as a huge positive.

On the Cleverley sale, surely there is someone coming in then? I mean there is no one left to play in midfield otherwise!

Erm....
    Date: 28/08/2014
    To: doc@postlengthchallenege.com

Subject: Are you still knocking about?

Hi Daniel,

I hope I find you well today. I was flicking through our archived trialists documents, and noticed you had a brief spell with the club at in the early 00's.

Are you free for a quick call?

Kind regards,

Ed Woodward

P.S. If your not available, would you mind forwarding this onto to any blokes you know who are handy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Selling Cleverley will be like a new signing

nuxxx wrote: »

Well it will raise the mood of the fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,389 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Soldie wrote: »
    Did you see the MK Dons game? Powell was one of the worst players on the pitch.

So was Evans and I'll be pissed if he's not playing the next game. Is Herrera not nearly fit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Fletcher and Fellaini to play against Burnley so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Is Fellaini fit?

nuxxx wrote: »

This made me lol properly in fairness

• Registered Users Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Fellaini out for 2-3 weeks, Wilmots was saying today

Is Fellaini fit?

No he is expected out for another 2-4 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Herrera should be back for Saturday, no?

So did LVG just tell players he doesn't want today? Thought he told them a while back no? Or was today a "gtfo"

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    Herrera should be back for Saturday, no?

Think LVG said in presser out injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Who's left? Amos and Welbeck in midfield?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Is Fellaini fit?

One man midfield it is so

Hang on a second, it's not too late to register Giggs and Scholes for the season!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭KH25

Fletch and Ando for midfield? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,316 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Coat22 wrote: »

That article hits the nail on the head re Utd's transfer policy in the last few years

I remember when we played Rafael in midfield against one of Burnleys main rivals and things went well. we should give that another go ;-)

No two...Fletcher and ADM :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,979 ✭✭✭billyhead

Zaha has gone on loan. Don't think he will be back next year either after the loan spell. I don't see anything on the Sky Sports website about Cleverly. If its true it will be like a new signing. Finally we are getting the cleaver out.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/9444620/transfer-news-manchester-united-winger-wilfried-zaha-rejoins-crystal-palace-on-loan

TheDoc wrote: »
    So did LVG just tell players he doesn't want today? Thought he told them a while back no? Or was today a "gtfo"

I think he said after lunch they were told.

I think it's fair to say Blind would definitely be a good shout now, if nothing else to replace Cleverley in the squad. (And as backup for Vidal :D)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

billyhead wrote: »
    Zaha has gone on loan. Don't think he will be back next year either after the loan spell. I don't see anything on the Sky Sports website about Cleverly. If its true it will be like a new signing. Finally we are getting the cleaver out.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/9444620/transfer-news-manchester-united-winger-wilfried-zaha-rejoins-crystal-palace-on-loan

its not got its own story yet its just on the transfer center

magnumbud wrote: »
    its not got its own story yet its just on the transfer center

he tweeted a while ago himself that he was back at palace but then deleted it

The impression I got was that he had a chat with them previously, possibly a warning that they need to impress him fast. Today's comments seem to suggest that he followed it up with a "You're fired" today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

"I only buy players that can improve our philosophy…(also) I can change the system with him and maybe we will do that in future. Maybe even during a match. He played at Real Madrid not only as a wide wing player but also in midfield. This is why we are convinced he shall succeed."

ADM7 to play in mid field Sunday (and maybe for the foreseeable) I’d say.

I still reckon TC23 will refuse Villa and run his contract down – no way Villa will pay him 70k a week on top of the 9M they give United – unless of course Roy is launching a charm offensive “See what I did with Liam Miller”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Fxuk sake. Shouldn't have got "Cleverley 23" on my new jersey.....

The impression I got was that he had a chat with them previously, possibly a warning that they need to impress him fast. Today's comments seem to suggest that he followed it up with a "You're fired" today.

Bit short notice to move them on is it? Must have been some preliminary **** in the works.

Cleverley would be very stupid to run his contract down and barely play. He might as well say bye bye to any chance he has of getting back into the England team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

Have to say... if he is going to Villa they paid about €27 million to much for him !!

If anyone wants a sober reality check, CL draw is happening....Liverpool mates are being really sound letting me know, every minutes, via text.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Cleverley will be scared sh1tless of Keane you'd have to imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

BREAKING - Aston Villa agree an £8M fee with Manchester United for Tom Cleverley.

Apparently Manchester United will pay it in installments.

If anyone wants a sober reality check, CL draw is happening....Liverpool mates are being really sound letting me know, every minutes, via text.

Don't get too down about it, there's always the chance that they'll be completely shown up and we can have a snigger behind our hands like they always do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

That article hits the nail on the head re Utd's transfer policy in the last few years

Its one of the most spot on I’ve read in a while.

Ogden won’t be on Fergie and Gill’s Christmas card list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭kilrush

Fxuk sake. Shouldn't have got "Cleverley 23" on my new jersey.....

Any chance you will go out and buy a chicharito,Welbeck and sure while you are at fellaini jersey too?? I'm sure we will all chip... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Don't see the delight with Cleverley going as bad as he is we only have one fit midfielder for Saturday.

Oh lads nearly forgot to mention. Paddy Power profits announced 20% decrease this morning. Have reached out to Ed Woodward for advice .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I've learned a lot from this UEFA stream.

1) Real Madrid have had some beautiful, simple, jerseys over the years.

2) Cringe.

3) There are some awful teams in the Champions League. How the feck do Zenit keep qualifying? Atrocious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭paulbok

Oh lads nearly forgot to mention. Paddy Power profits announced 20% decrease this morning. Have reached out to Ed Woodward for advice .

somebody please do a smart ar$ed meme for them over this.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

An agreement has been met between United and Dortmund for the transfer of Shinji Kagawa.

https://twitter.com/TrueRedDevils/status/505018437798621184

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭xtal191

Yeah there does seem to be a lot of poor teams in it this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

You would have to think there are a couple of players imminent. Cleverley, Zaha gone. Chico, Welbeck and Kagawa looking very likely to go soon.

Fletcher is the only fit midfielder we have for the Burnley match ....:eek::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Its starting to become a cull if all this is true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Right, I'm off to burn Old Trafford to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I'm smiling ear to ear with all the shíte being moved out of the club. LvG is the man!

Bar Kagawa. I love Shinji.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Don't see the delight with Cleverley going as bad as he is we only have one fit midfielder for Saturday.

He was a shockingly poor player who may even struggle at Villa but got lots of first team starts for UTD. Everythime he played we looked like muck and was an annoyance.

Whats not to be happy about?