Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming ChitChat Ploughs On To Five

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Dad got this notion at some point as red legged partridge arrived nearby after a shoot. Handfed oats scattered in the fields and next thing,...two red leg chicks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

haha did you see that an ex boards member is going to picket Enda Kennys office in castlebar on 5th Sept.

Reggie round up the troops think of the over time :D

Boards members looking after boards members at its best :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Dad got this notion at some point as red legged partridge arrived nearby after a shoot. Handfed oats scattered in the fields and next thing,...two red leg chicks!!

Yep, redlegs are a doddle to breed as they are a calm, tame type of bird.
    The greys are wild and jumpy.

Nothing beats rising a large brood of greys and seeing them away! Magic.
    The greys are quite like grouse in their flight and behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

C0N0R wrote: »
    Yea a lot of the nz real hill farmers tend to go for them, not cheap in the slightest and there all v8's but there built like a brick **** house and are virtually indestructible.
    I think the old style FJ that we got in the 1970's are still available new in Chile.!

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

haha did you see that an ex boards member is going to picket Enda Kennys office in castlebar on 5th Sept.

Reggie round up the troops think of the over time :D

Boards members looking after boards members at its best :rolleyes:

Never mind the ploughing, theres the boards meet point :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Just dropped the tractor in to be serviced never seen as many new hand signals from car drivers on the road.It seems if ya don't pull in straight away to let them by they get very irate,overtaking on continuous white lines,bad bends and blind spots up a hill are perfectly safe places to overtake for most cars I met today.lunatics a small bit of manners wouldn't go astray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I said wrote: »
    Just dropped the tractor in to be serviced never seen as many new hand signals from car drivers on the road.It seems if ya don't pull in straight away to let them by they get very irate,overtaking on continuous white lines,bad bends and blind spots up a hill are perfectly safe places to overtake for most cars I met today.lunatics a small bit of manners wouldn't go astray.
    Ah always in a hurry going places. It'll catch up with them someday unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Was stuck behind a combine last week, I had to watch the on coming traffic through a hole through the combine, gob****es behind me were pulling out to try and see what was coming.

the roads near home are peppered with cyclists and one day coming around a nasty bend isn't there some gob****e trying to overtake one of em. I had to stop dead and so did he...I think he must of got some shock to see me coming at him cause he stalled the car trying to get going again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

''Horses crossed with Belgian Blue''

A surprise in the post from a FF boardsie :) (And yes the postman found me !)
    NyBFLf9m.jpg

You can admire my nails again Reggie.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    ''Horses crossed with Belgian Blue''

A surprise in the post from a FF boardsie :) (And yes the postman found me !)
    NyBFLf9m.jpg

You can admire my nails again Reggie.

Get the grinder that them things missus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

whelan2 wrote: »
    spirovac is cheaper.... how do you mean you missed 1 vaccination?

Vaccinated every year for years. Didn't do it this year and it's back. Have to do um all now anyway.
    Plus mart was **** today. ....
    Bad form tis evening.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Vaccinated every year for years. Didn't do it this year and it's back. Have to do um all now anyway.
    Bad form tis evening.

Bad prices ill take it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,854 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bad form tis evening.
    i used to have to vaccinate twice a year, last year i stretched it to 11 months, so do them every 11 months now, tis a fecker.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Bad prices ill take it

Poor enough. But twas bound to trickle down I spose. Lads just can't afford to pay what there worth with so much uncertainty.
    Plus you meet some of the most ignorant people at the mart. They'd boil your blood.

i used to have to vaccinate twice a year, last year i stretched it to 11 months, so do them every 11 months now, tis a fecker.

Christ tis. Do you find much of an improvement with the shorter interval?

Poor enough. But twas bound to trickle down I spose. Lads just can't afford to pay what there worth with so much uncertainty.
    Plus you meet some of the most ignorant people at the mart. They'd boil your blood.

I hear ya. Nearly as bad as the day job :rolleyes:

Jesus don't get me started on that fancy dress party.

Christ tis. Do you find much of an improvement with the shorter interval?
    other years any time we went over 6 months we would have an abortion, so did them every 6 months for a long time, last year-2013- i was cutting costs and stretched it til the 11 months-was trying for 12 month interval but a cow threw her calf, so injected at 11 months again this year

Jesus don't get me started on that fancy dress party.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Just booked a holiday to Thailand for new years, have a mate getting married there so that's the reason! Only live once, can't wait now!!!

Behave yourself and if ya can't always check the undercarriage first :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Of course that's the reason ;)

Behave yourself and if ya can't always check the undercarriage first :D

Ha was there in may to so ive done the checks before!!

Don't do what I did and get approached by one

Ya must have been sending out the wrong signals there then so! :D

Damo810 wrote: »
    Ya must have been sending out the wrong signals there then so! :D

My friends were. The fookers

Yeah....your friends. ... :rolleyes:

ye the friends in your boxers ;)

Sorry I ever said anything now. :D Just a warning if your ever in Thai. Look for an adamsapple and the shoulders

had you the same feeling of regret when you woke up the morning after you had learnt your lesson with a sore arse:eek:

Harsh....very harsh

Ah well always be here till help ya along green :D

Whatever floats your boat I suppose. An adams apple and shoulders wouldn't really be my thing now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

First time farmers on at 10,

it was crap last week :o

Recording it for tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

What channel

sea12 wrote: »
    What channel

Channel 4

sea12 wrote: »
    What channel

channel 4

Spent the whole time checking every girl out to see what the story was, didn't come across many with Adams apples! But they can get an op to remove them now!!

**** really?

Ha yes so ive heard!

Ye must have been researching it were ya?

Damo810 wrote: »
    Ye must have been researching it were ya?

Prior preparation prevents poor performance! Heading to a wedding do you would be hoping anything at it is legit!!

On another note. Jaysus the weather has gotten rough out there. Wind howling and all

not long in from calving a heifer, not raining here yet

You'd want to give the bride a good going over, just to make sure like. As a friend and all. :D

not long in from calving a heifer, not raining her yet

Get ready for it

not long in from calving a heifer, not raining here yet

an AAX?