Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming ChitChat Ploughs On To Five

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Kovu wrote: »
    Fcuk load and a half. :D

That heavy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

If you're interested in horses, there's a thread over on AMA with a guy answering questions about the horse industry.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057395366

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ok folks I know this is a how long is a piece of string question but.....

What weight would you think is a bale of silage. As in its heaviest possible weight within reason

800kg????

Depends, did it get 4, 6, or 8 wraps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Shannonside/Northern Sound.
    One of the most irritating stations & presenters in the known galaxy. Imagine every cliché and imbecile remark and catchphrase ever to come out of rural Ireland, and you're halfway there.
    In fact, imagine Richie Kavanagh after a blow to the head.
    I refuse to shop in places that have him on in the background.

The 'power hour' is my favourite. Every chart song title and artist pronounced funny!! You'd swear it was put on, but it's not!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Muckit wrote: »
    The 'power hour' is my favourite. Every chart song title and artist pronounced funny!! You'd swear it was put on, but it's not!!!!

A bitta Sean mc Caffrey in the morning show sets you up for the day!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Jb1989 wrote: »
    A bitta Sean mc Caffrey in the morning show sets you up for the day!!!

Definitely. It makes me want to get out of house and go and do something wbere he can't be heard
    Reckon only thing northern sound is grand for the death notices. If I'm not on that I know I'm not to bad

Definitely. It makes me want to get out of house and go and do something wbere he can't be heard
    Reckon only thing northern sound is grand for the death notices. If I'm not on that I know I'm not to bad

Awe did he Forget to read out one of your requests lol
    Yea never so bad if you escape the obituaries for another day ðŸ‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

l like browsing the obituaries in the paper. 'At least l'm one step ahead of ye.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,854 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

poor old tony fenton, always liked him :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

Reggie. wrote:
    What weight would you think is a bale of silage. As in its heaviest possible weight within reason

fusion three bale = 840 kg

whelan2 wrote:
    poor old tony fenton, always liked him 

same here, was on when I'd get up in afternoon so always on in tractor.

l like browsing the obituaries in the paper. 'At least l'm one step ahead of ye.'

Facebook for old people they call it 🙈

visatorro wrote: »
    fusion three bale = 840 kg

Cheers. Just sizing up new machines so looking for estimated weights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Rip.ie,papers are so last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I usually read the Births column in the Saturday Irish Times. Never know anyone, but at least there is hope and happiness there, none in the deaths column.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Was saying to a lad in work today that I hadn't seen a calf born yet (8 of them), got in the door from work to get a phone call, cow sick two hours, only one leg coming, ended up pulling a long but handy heifer calf (on the last rung of the jack) and now I'm just back after helping a neighbour pull another calf. I've seen enough of the now.:D no more talking at work either in case I jinx the rest of them :D

visatorro wrote: »
    same here, was on when I'd get up in afternoon so always on in tractor.

Same here. Tried to make sure I would be spreading between 2 and 5 so I could hear him.

He seemed a genuinely nice guy and hugely positive. Ni beith ar leithead aris ann.

RIP.

am after sleeping for a solid twelve hours!! feel great now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Just cut stitches out of a cow that put her calf bed out a week ago. Hands down the worst smell in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Cheers. Just sizing up new machines so looking for estimated weights

I think the new lely tornado fixed chamber is making an 800 kg bale but im sure if a person went for the variable ya could makee a 1000kg bale easily.. but ya might loose the wrapper very quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Just cut stitches out of a cow that put her calf bed out a week ago. Hands down the worst smell in the world.

I bet rotten lambs pulled out of a ewe is worse.

It must be spring already. Just put up the trampoline again:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭tanko

I'd give that cow 50 mls of Betamax LA every second day for a week or so to prevent infection setting in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

anyone in Fermoy Tuesday? many cows in it?

tanko wrote: »
    I'd give that cow 50 mls of Betamax LA every second day for a week or so to prevent infection setting in.
    have a cow that had a section nearly 4 weeks ago, drug withdrawal up tomorrow, factory not killing monday or tuesday, doubt if she'll make it til wednesday:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

It must be spring already. Just put up the trampoline again:)

Trampoline is causing me headache at the moment, she was three weeks asking me to bring it down from the home house and I hadn't time so the father said he would move it . He shoved it onto the trailer with the loader and warped it so now I have to try and fix it which I still don't have time for ! I hate the things

whelan2 wrote: »
    have a cow that had a section nearly 4 weeks ago, drug withdrawal up tomorrow, factory not killing monday or tuesday, doubt if she'll make it til wednesday:mad:

Positive thoughts whelan...positive

But Dharling, Pig Slurry is so "last year" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Pig Slurry is so "last year" :D

Why not take a quack at it Nek? I'm sure you could.....foot the bill :pac:

*gets coat*

Kovu wrote: »
    Why not take a quack at it Nek? I'm sure you could.....foot the bill :pac:

*gets coat*

You better :rolleyes:

But Dharling, Pig Slurry is so "last year" :D
    being nosey, who is advertising the cow scanning under the duck slurry ad?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

20 calves on the way home from Cork :D I can't wait to see them!

Youngest lad just came home from a birthday party with a black eye. What's the best to put on it? He's 6 . I not impressed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Youngest lad just came home from a birthday party with a black eye. What's the best to put on it? He's 6 . I not impressed

Arnica creme/ointment/salve/tincture.
    Arnica in any form works well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

I hope it was an accidental clash of heads and nothing more sinister.

AP2014 wrote: »
    I hope it was an accidental clash of heads and nothing more sinister.

A pinch on his eye. Not accidental :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

A pinch on his eye. Not accidental :(

Feckin hell, at that age I wouldn't be impressed either. Hopefully the other fellas parents sort the brat out while he is young enough to be sorted out.

Don't know, Whelan, we reading it in a cafe.
    Going to have to buy the Celt now! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭tanko

Here ya go, it's Ken Burns, he's an excellent scanner, don't know if he covers your area tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

tanko wrote: »
    Here ya go, it's Ken Burns, he's an excellent scanner, don't know if he covers your area tho.

There's not too many places he doesn't go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Does anyone know if medicines administered to sheep go in the animal remedies record in your herd register? Or is that strictly bovine only.
    There's no place for it in the sheep flock register!

Am happy out now with the guy who does my scanning. He is from far side of carrickmacross. Was just being nosey :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Does anyone know if medicines administered to sheep go in the animal remedies record in your herd register? Or is that strictly bovine only.
    There's no place for it in the sheep flock register!

Not in the flock register, but ya can put it in the bb book if you're bb

AP2014 wrote: »
    Feckin hell, at that age I wouldn't be impressed either. Hopefully the other fellas parents sort the brat out while he is young enough to be sorted out.
    the fact the lad who did it is his cousin makes it very hard, it was a kid in their classes party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

If my youngest lad came home from anywhere with a black eye, I'd be wondering where the corpse of the lad that did it was.
    He's a tough young lad, with an explosive temper. I think he even frightens himself sometimes with his eruptions!

If my youngest lad came home from anywhere with a black eye, I'd be wondering where the corpse of the lad that did it was.
    He's a tough young lad, with an explosive temper. I think he even frightens himself sometimes with his eruptions!
    ye, this lad is a grand quiet chap and can 100% say he didnt deserve what he got, kids mother who's party it was was horrified, she is a nurse and did her best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

ye, this lad is a grand quiet chap and can 100% say he didnt deserve what he got, kids mother who's party it was was horrified, she is a nurse and did her best

I wouldn't lose much sleep over something like that. Young lads can play hard and knock corners off each other. Once it wouldn't be a recurring theme I'd move on fairly quickly.

My elder lad is a quite lad but is a big long athletic sort so he doesn't get in any bother even though he's very quite.

ganmo wrote: »
    Not in the flock register, but ya can put it in the bb book if you're bb

No im not QA so no bb im afraid. If I can't put it in the back of the herd register then I can't put it anywhere. Unless make up my own book.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    No im not QA so no bb im afraid. If I can't put it in the back of the herd register then I can't put it anywhere. Unless make up my own book.

Here ya are
    I made my own book using these

Here ya are
    I made my own book using these

On the ball Reggie.