Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming ChitChat Ploughs On To Five

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,499 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    On the ball Reggie.

The big irish ball ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,380 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Dawggone wrote: »
    Arnica creme/ointment/salve/tincture.
    Arnica in any form works well.
    Arnica or Aloe Vera are good but not recommended if the skin is broken.
    Cold compress is best to reduce swelling (frozen bag of peas) but not directly on the skin. Wrap them up in a tea towel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

First cut of 2015 today. Decided against the pit and wrapped instead. Will probably go for a second cut again in a few weeks.....................the lawn that is:eek:

Spring is here:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,981 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Base price wrote: »
    Arnica or Aloe Vera are good but not recommended if the skin is broken.
    Cold compress is best to reduce swelling (frozen bag of peas) but not directly on the skin. Wrap them up in a tea towel.
    I put sudocreme on it will put arnica on it now before he goes asleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Hares are mad here today, nice sign of spring to see a huge hare that must be four or five years old chasing a younger one around the field :D

The diving rescue team were also out in force on the lake, training I presume! Should have gone out in the kayak and upended myself for the craic.

Kovu wrote: »
    Hares are mad here today, nice sign of spring to see a huge hare that must be four or five years old chasing a younger one around the field :D

The diving rescue team were also out in force on the lake, training I presume! Should have gone out in the kayak and upended myself for the craic.
    Was driving the lorry and heading into Galway late last Wed night and a big buck crossed the road in front with inches to spare.
    Live Long and Prosper was reply when I passed him uninjured :D

I won't say where in fear of poachers but I seen a massive stag during the week late at night. I didn't get a chance to count the tines but easily the biggest head horns I've seen for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I won't say where.... but easily the biggest head horns I've seen for a while.

It's about that time on a Saturday night.

There's definitely enough there to get the ball rolling.

It's about that time on a Saturday night.

There's definitely enough there to get the ball rolling.

hj7xwTN.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,228 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Just in from this. Fantastic food. Wild Boar from Scotland, Venison from Mayo, Roast Duck,Partridge, goose, pheasant, Rabbit, Salmon, Trout, Teal....

Chef is Iranian!

The dogs are are giving tongue and on their toes tonight - foxes, hares or unwelcome guests :(

Hmmm this may answer the question as to why the lady next to me at the butchers was asking for wild boar and venison....

By any chance were there organic butcher sausages too?

(Cavan butcher Nek ;))

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Just in from this. Fantastic food. Wild Boar from Scotland, Venison from Mayo, Roast Duck,Partridge, goose, pheasant, Rabbit, Salmon, Trout, Teal....

Chef is Iranian!
    Best of luck Tony :D

Hmmm this may answer the question as to why the lady next to me at the butchers was asking for wild boar and venison....

By any chance were there organic butcher sausages too?

(Cavan butcher Nek ;))

Crowe Butcher in Ballyconnell made the Venison Sausages and burgers. Fecking gorgeous.
    The wild boar was done with a hint of 5 Spice, may have made a pig of myself.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Chef is Iranian!

Jaysus, most of it out of season. Maybe I'm seething with jealousy :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Good home made Venison bergers, mmmmmmm hard to beat them. Lucky you.

is the deer hunting season over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,644 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Spent yesterday afternoon taking caravan out and washing it down. Getting ready for Easter weekend, short trip away.
    Stiff and sore today :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

whelan2 wrote: »
    is the deer hunting season over?

ya think it closed 2 weeks ago, to keep goin you need to get an extension from npws
    3/4 got here in the last few weeks

ganmo wrote: »
    ya think it closed 2 weeks ago, to keep goin you need to get an extension from npws
    3/4 got here in the last few weeks
    hadnt seen the ones here in a while but they were around yesterday,

_Brian wrote: »
    Spent yesterday afternoon taking caravan out and washing it down. Getting ready for Easter weekend, short trip away.
    Stiff and sore today :(

Something to look forward to tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

hadnt seen the ones here in a while but they were around yesterday,
    cute hoors know its safe

Having a "band of brothers" day here today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Gf off to Chicago this morning.
    I'm fair jealous niw

Gf off to Chicago this morning.
    I'm fair jealous niw

Jaysus what ya do to her ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Neighbour found dead this am. Childhood friend of my uncles and 4 of us over here working. Its true that you never know the pressure a man could be under

May he rest in peace

Bad morning today, phone rang at half seven, neighbours cow had her calf bed out. By the time I got there the vet was too and she was hemorrhaging badly. Nothing we could do, she was found too late. Calf was staggering round bawling his head off while his dam bled to death in front of him :(

Cheered up while feeding a couple of pet lambs of my uncles this evening, until one peed on me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Bad morning today, phone rang at half seven, neighbours cow had her calf bed out. By the time I got there the vet was too and she was hemorrhaging badly. Nothing we could do, she was found too late. Calf was staggering round bawling his head off while his dam bled to death in front of him :(

Cheered up while feeding a couple of pet lambs of my uncles this evening, until one peed on me :pac:

Sadly there's days like that.
    Good to see your babysitting as good as ever

Babysitting? Lambs are way too fiddly for my liking. Cute though. And tasty :D

Ah that's uncalled for kovu

You'll sneak a few ewes into your farm yet, it'll be god helf your father when you put on the "daddy's little girl wants".
    As for tasty, hard to beat a good cutlet

Fencing isn't good enough for sheep! :D

Can you roast a lamb whole as you would do a hog roast?

Fencing isn't good enough for sheep! :D

Can you roast a lamb whole as you would do a hog roast?

You'd be surprised how easy it can be to fence (2ft under mains)
    Seen it done, waste of good meat

Farrell wrote: »
    You'd be surprised how easy it can be to fence (2ft under mains)
    Seen it done, waste of good meat

Hedges here, not fences. Lots of little sheep sized holes :pac: Also lots of cow sized holes compliments of our Houdini cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

On the lash here lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

The celts won the day so havin few :-)

Haven't seen CONOR from Monaghan here lately. Has he left?
    (Posted this on wrong thread earlier)

Haven't seen CONOR from Monaghan here lately. Has he left?
    (Posted this on wrong thread earlier)

New Zealand Conor or the other one?

NZ Conor

NZ Conor

Over on the hangover thread. Watching over ye like a hen with a batch of chicks so I am :D

You're like yesterday's Google banner, Kov !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Saw this last night. Quickly fill in the blanks and see what's the first word that you think of

S __ X
    BOO __ S
    P__N __ S
    __ __ NDOM
    F__ __ K
    PU __ S __

Of course you all had six, books, pants, random, fork and pulse:)

Saw this last night. Quickly fill in the blanks and see what's the first word that you think of

S __ X
    BOO __ S
    P__N __ S
    __ __ NDOM
    F__ __ K
    PU __ S __

Of course you all had six, books, pants, random, fork and pulse:)

Oh yeah....the same as you did :D

is today a holiday or not ? Seems some schools/ workplaces are off while others are not, our 2 schools are open

No normal day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Work was dead today, then the ac went at 3pm. Theres goin to b sum very cold CEO's wednesday morning, il have to find a good hiding place til its fixed. . .

Was some crop of grass on the lawn today. Some hardship but it's done now :). Grand to have the smell of cut grass in the air again....ahhhh

have a cow that had a section nearly 4 weeks ago, drug withdrawal up tomorrow, factory not killing monday or tuesday, doubt if she'll make it til wednesday:mad:
    got her put down today:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Anyone have one of those auto mowers? Seem the job compared to a ride on