Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming ChitChat Ploughs On To Five

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭tanko

I said wrote: »
    Does he post on this forum?

I don't know, if I meet him I'll ask him. He's a part time farmer as far as I know.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

tanko wrote: »
    DIY Ai
    Say 30 cows x €12 per straw = €360, €200 for Nitrogen, Flask cost €550/15 years = €37, cost of Ai course €350??/15 = €23
    Cost per year = €620 per year.

Ai technician
    30 cows x €31 = €930 per year

These figures are a bit rough but not too far out I think.
    Good point.
    Is it €200 for the year, so €50 per fill!
    As you point out, benifical for the medium to large operator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

http://kilkennyroots.com/

Any of you guy or gals heading down to the Marble City for this?

(I know there is no marble in Kilkenny, but that's what they like to call it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,854 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

so do you know all he countes of ireland, i missed out 1 http://www.jetpunk.com/user-quizzes/24056/counties-of-ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭mf240

whelan2 wrote: »
    so do you know all he countes of ireland, i missed out 1 http://www.jetpunk.com/user-quizzes/24056/counties-of-ireland

Got them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I got stuck for ages with one in Ulster. Bloody Tyrone. Still vaguely remember the rota we reeled them off in from the spelling books in first/second class. 1.09 seconds left on my timer anyway. That was fun! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

mf240 wrote: »
    Got them all.

I'm an idiot it seems :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭mayota

Plenty of time but forgot Carlow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

i'll go for saturday
    Whelan was spot on. Big bull calf at 7pm this evening out in the field. Fair pressure on the jack.

Base price wrote: »
    Whelan was spot on. Big bull calf at 7pm this evening out in the field. Fair pressure on the jack.

IT'S A HARP, Razorback has a harp on her side! :D:D:D

Kovu wrote: »
    IT'S A HARP, Razorback has a harp on her side! :D:D:D
    Your nuts :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

tanko wrote: »
    DIY Ai
    Say 30 cows x €12 per straw = €360, €200 for Nitrogen, Flask cost €550/15 years = €37, cost of Ai course €350??/15 = €23
    Cost per year = €620 per year.

Ai technician
    30 cows x €31 = €930 per year

These figures are a bit rough but not too far out I think.

Tanko, would you AI many in a year, would love to do an AI course but feel I would not get enough practice in any given year to be any good at it. As they say practice makes perfect!!

yipee, was she on pre calving minerals, might be no harm to give her a bottle of calcium, how many calves will you put on her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

The only job fir a subday morning

Oh id love one now. Have to go across the fields now and re sort all the cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭dzer2

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    http://kilkennyroots.com/

Any of you guy or gals heading down to the Marble City for this?

(I know there is no marble in Kilkenny, but that's what they like to call it)

Plenty of marble in KK just hard to get it polished.

never go to the City when any off that stuff is on.

Was at Pat Shortt last nite brilliant he was

yipee, was she on pre calving minerals, might be no harm to give her a bottle of calcium, how many calves will you put on her?

What ya win :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Indeed.
    Herself just brought me rasher sandwidge and mug of tea in the bed. Great stuff.!!

_Brian wrote: »
    Indeed.
    Herself just brought me rasher sandwidge and mug of tea in the bed. Great stuff.!!
    ITS deffo a mans world

Reggie. wrote: »
    What ya win :D
    i am sure bp will be along shortly with my winnings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

How many do you need for the single farm payment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

*heads off to shop to buy stuff for a big fry up

i am sure bp will be along shortly with my winnings

An all expenses trip to her yard bottle feeding the calf no doubt :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Muckit wrote: »
    *heads off to shop to buy stuff for a big fry up
    Jaysus, Muckit, send herself down for it:D

*dives into deep bunker*

Farmer sues Coveney over botched probe

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/farmer-sues-coveney-over-botched-department-probe-vestigation-31085413.html

The SIU again. Gone but not forgotten...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Renamed, but not forgotten.

ITS deffo a mans world

Good men are worth minding ;)

She had pre calver lick buckets with her for the last 6 weeks.
    We have a few strong calves on teat feeders that we will put on her twice a day for the moment.
    Her calf is knuckling over on his fore legs. OH got him to suck lying down last night but is struggling with his this morning as he is trying to stand.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Renamed, but not forgotten.

Maybe they could merge with the Garda drugs squad and eliminate the drugs problem, with all the powers they have it would only take a few weeks.

Good stuff..

Some bag of milk on her, looks like she could feed a small army of calves :p

Absolute uproar in the shed earlier, could hear it from the house here so went down to check. Cow trying her absolute best to climb through the barrier as her calf was out leaping round the field with the twins. I've had all my exercise for today chasing after her, had to rugby tackle her in the end and stuck a rope over her head :D :pac:

There's an image :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭ABlur

Just evicted some crows who were setting up residence in my attic. Wasn't happy with their structure as it seems they hadn't employed an Approved Certifier!!!!!

ABlur wrote: »
    Just evicted some crows who were setting up residence in my attic. Wasn't happy with their structure as it seems they hadn't employed an Approved Certifier!!!!!

Have eradicated a few over the weekend with the air rifle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭ABlur

Unfortunately we live in the town so that wasn't an option.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

There's is women's 6 nations rugby on RTE 2 if you want tips for that.
    Someone tell Charliebull. And say there are 2 hookers playing as well. :D

What sort of air rifle are you using and what sort of range has it, do you use a scope ?

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

There's is women's 6 nations rugby on RTE 2 if you want tips for that.
    Someone tell Charliebull. And say there are 2 hookers playing as well. :D
    They massacred Scotland,

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭dodo mommy

Happy days all clear in the herd test yesterday always a big sigh after releaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Good men are worth minding ;)

With a mortgage and the associated life cover l'm always aware l'm potentially worth more dead as alive!!! :D:D

What sort of air rifle are you using and what sort of range has it, do you use a scope ?

Spring type. I think its a weirauch. Yes has a scope. Going to get a .17 hmr next

That's my weekend over, ferry and a 5hr drive to London now :(

Last Christmas I gaaaaaave you my heart :D

x3Cu9Gkm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

Is that a cows heart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭dzer2

naughto wrote: »
    Is that a cows heart?

Oh yes Stuffed and seasoned and roasted

Angus heifer :) Doing it two ways, half roasted, half stewed. It smells bleeding delicious already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Angus heifer :) Doing it two ways, half roasted, half stewed. It smells bleeding delicious already.

Any tongue going?

Which type ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Reggie. wrote: »
    Which type ;)

Way hey!!

Any tongue going?

It's actually brining in the fridge in the other house :D Mum wouldn't allow it to be kept here. Be ready Wednesday!