Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish government jet

• 18-08-2014 6:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1

Looks like the Irish governments largest jet the gulfstream GIV 251 will be no more.
    Seems keeping the jet maintained is getting too expensive. Currently at a gulfstream facility in the United States, it appears the budget has finally ran out.
    Officials from the department of finance are currently deciding whether the aircraft can be saved, sold as is or scrapped. I have it on good authority that a department official has traveled to the maintenance facility in America to decide the best course of action. More to follow

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

pretty embarrassing a very wealthy country and we present ourselves as paupers! Replace the bloody thing with something reliable, the cost would probably run the place here for a few minutes anyway, but the government are probably worried about this potential show of reckless largesse would look close to election time. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭arubex

Not too surprising. Wasn't it originally justified on the basis of holding the EU Presidency? Even that was a bit of a flimsy excuse, a GIV was overkill.

Using it for a hop over to London this year was an example of style-before-sense. It burns as much fuel in cruise as a Fokker 70... for a handful of passengers.

I can see them trading-in the cramped LJs as well and settling on a couple of stand-up cabin mid-tier bizjets. Perhaps used Challengers or similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,829 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Idbatterim wrote: »
    pretty embarrassing a very wealthy country and we present ourselves as paupers! Replace the bloody thing with something reliable, the cost would probably run the place here for a few minutes anyway, but the government are probably worried about this potential show of reckless largesse would look close to election time. :rolleyes:

We are paupers.
    Didn't the mis-management of the country ensure that we had to apply for a bail-out which has to be paid for by the workers of Ireland who are paupers now.

Let them fly in the same manner as other workers.

We are paupers.
    Didn't the mis-management of the country ensure that we had to apply for a bail-out which has to be paid for by the workers of Ireland who are paupers now.

Let them fly in the same manner as other workers.

I think image and presentation is very important! Should they be driving around in 8 or 9 year old mondeos too? There is a lot of scandalous waste here, that should be cut out, including their pensions and perks, but this area shouldn't be one in my opinion.

To use an analogy, we are like a millionaire who claims he is broke because he spends what he earns or slightly more. A lack of money here isn't the problem, the appalling mismanagement of it is...

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Not particularly new news, http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/government-jet-may-be-grounded-by-lack-of-repair-budget-1.1812976 from May of this year highlighted that there is no budget for other than routine maintenance, and it's not a new jet any more, BA are in the middle of a process of scrapping most of their 747's of similar vintage, and other aircraft of that vintage are also being parted out.

Depending on what's happened, it's altogether possible that something like a bird strike has damaged an engine, and if it's not on a maintenance contract or similar, that could be a large bill, which clearly is not funded right now.

The G IV has a reputation of being a very reliable aircraft, but we have no way to know at present what the issues are with the Irish one.

we shall just have to hope that more specific information will become available before too long.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

I think image and presentation is very important! Should they be driving around in 8 or 9 year old mondeos too? There is a lot of scandalous waste here, that should be cut out, including their pensions and perks, but this area shouldn't be one in my opinion.

To use an analogy, we are like a millionaire who claims he is broke because he spends what he earns or slightly more. A lack of money here isn't the problem, the appalling mismanagement of it is...

Why should the Govt travel in luxury while we have ambulances, garda cars and fire brigades breaking down on a regular basis. Those vehicles are far more important than a Govt jet in my opinion as the people rely on them.

I absolutely agree about the ambulances, garda cars etc, I just dont agree on where the savings should come from. Some services have been and are being run into the ground (beyond a disgraceful situation) because some sacred cows couldnt possibly be asked to stump up their "fair share"...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,328 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I think leading by example is more important then image and presentation. Something that has always been systematically lacking in the people who end up erm.. representing and working for the people in this country. I am not informed enough to make a judgement if it is more prudent to keep the GIV or otherwise but when politicians from the president down can travel on commercial they should...

the VP of our district. one of the most respected and revered organizations in the world will travel cheapest fare ie. ryanair and stay in Premier Inn hotels.. he requires and demands the same all the way down the chain depending on the duration of the project and one or two other variables... that's leadership..

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

If it was 8 or 9 years old, there might be a case, it's 25 years old, and there are not many 25 year old jets in daily use at this stage, and the maintenance costs on those that are don't bear thinking about.

There are good reasons for having the flexibility of being able to transport Government representatives (not just ministers) at short notice. The hourly operating cost of the G IV are not unreasonable, and getting a jet of that size at short notice is not always easy, and some of the trips that have to be taken cannot be planned with much advance notice.

The begrudgers will make noise about the country having a government jet, but the reality is that pretty much all democratic countries have similar systems, and dictators for sure do, but that last is no recommendation for continuing the practice.

The big issue is going to be how to move forward, there would appear to be a number of options.

1. Dispose of the G IV.
    2. Replace the G Iv with something similar,
    3. Enter into some form of sharing arrangement for a similar jet
    4. Make arrangements to have a jet available for hire at short notice.

Given the age of the present machine, option one looks a sensible plan. Option 2 as a follow on would appear to be realistic, albeit that finding the funding will be problematic. That's their problem, and I'm sure that it will generate reams of paper, and inconvenience millions of electrons, especially in places like this forum and after hours, but like it or not, there are some things that require face to face meetings, and those meetings can't always be scheduled a long time ahead and in places where scheduled airline services operate, and like it or not, Ireland is an island, so getting pretty much anywhere in a sensible time scale requires some form of air transport.

Option 3 has possibilities, and serious limitations, one of which is that the G IV is at present operated by the Air Corps, which has some advantages. The first is that they are trained to deal with operations in hostile areas, and the other, albeit less significant, is that they can if necessary operate in ways that "commercial" operators are not allowed to do.

Option 4 also has possibilities, but the reality is that it will probably end up costing more than owning and operating a G IV replacement, in that the nature of the task is that it has to be available to go pretty much anywhere in the world at short notice, so the costings of a "private" jet hired in are going to be massive, and the operator of such a service will want to make a profit from providing it.

This thread could be a serious contender for popcorn thread of the year by the time its run its course. Where's me comfortable slippers?

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

I think leading by example is more important then image and presentation. Something that has always been systematically lacking in the people who end up erm.. representing and working for the people in this country. I am not informed enough to make a judgement if it is more prudent to keep the GIV or otherwise but when politicians from the president down can travel on commercial they should...

the VP of our district. one of the most respected and revered organizations in the world will travel cheapest fare ie. ryanair and stay in Premier Inn hotels.. he requires and demands the same all the way down the chain depending on the duration of the project and one or two other variables... that's leadership..
    I agree and fair play to him and commercial should be taken where its an option... Was just taking a look at Gulf Steams competitors i.e. Cessna and Bombardier and was Beechwood another one?! The below looks pretty cool!

http://www.cessna.com/en/citation/longitude

Sorry we can't attend this very important short notice meeting in the middle of the night we have no way of getting there.

Governments are not 9-5 Monday to Friday or to an airline schedule.

The world WON'T wait while we await the arrival of the only weekly scheduled flight to wherever.

They won't re-schedule or delay a meeting till we can get there.

What will happen though is the Learjet 45 and there is only one will be used till it breaks down and then a replacement in the next electoral term WILL have to be found.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

Was the G4 the one that "Bertie" was nervous about flying on because it was always going tech?

Sorry we can't attend this very important short notice meeting in the middle of the night we have no way of getting there.

Governments are not 9-5 Monday to Friday or to an airline schedule.

The world WON'T wait while we await the arrival of the only weekly scheduled flight to wherever.

They won't re-schedule or delay a meeting till we can get there.

What will happen though is the Learjet 45 and there is only one will be used till it breaks down and then a replacement in the next electoral term WILL have to be found.

But we will vote the way we're told to vote anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭logie101

If my memory serves me right the government spent a crazy amount of money putting two new engines in the Gulfstream a couple if years ago instead of replacing the jet.
    Common sense would have resulted in the jet being replaced. I think Gulfstream and a number of aircraft manufacturers provided cost effective replacement options.
    But the government did not want to been seen to be buying a new jet even if it was cheaper than throwing money at the Gulfstream.

Crazy!

If my memory serves me right the government spent a crazy amount of money putting two new engines in the Gulfstream a couple if years ago instead of replacing the jet.
    Common sense would have resulted in the jet being replaced. I think Gulfstream and a number of aircraft manufacturers provided cost effective replacement options.
    But the government did not want to been seen to be buying a new jet even if it was cheaper than throwing money at the Gulfstream.

Crazy!

yeah typical Ireland! why invest 10 million when you can send 1 or 2 up in smoke, but hey, its better for optics right! Why dont we put the government jet decision to a referendum, arent we specialists at consensus here?

You would actually swear Enda was going to be flying about in a new A380 "EirForce a hain" its pathetic!

yeah typical Ireland! why invest 10 million when you can send 1 or 2 up in smoke, but hey, its better for optics right! Why dont we put the government jet decision to a referendum, arent we specialists at consensus here?

You would actually swear Enda was going to be flying about in a new A380 "AerForce a hain" its pathetic!

Two new engines for the Gulfstream would of cost around €18 million.
    They should of traded the old jet back to Gulfstream and leased a new one. That would of been what was logical.

• Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭eusap

At least the Learjet can be changed into an Air Ambulance at short notice, i think lots of people do not agree with the expense for ministerial transport if a Government jet can save one life its worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

An online production list for the Gulfstream IV records none of the 825 built to date as having been scrapped to date and the type is still in production in developed form as the G-450. http://rzjets.net/aircraft/?page=1&typeid=122

These aircraft do not see anything like the amount of usage that an airliner does and calendar age is not very meaningful as a measure of their reliability or value. If anything, I suspect that the Irish Gulfstream has seen less use under this Government than previous ones, for political rather than operational reasons. It has made a good few visits to Shannon for circuit training, presumably to maintain crew proficiency.

If the Government decides not to retain the aircraft, barring some major structural problem it would be sold, as have previous transport types such as the King Airs and the HS125.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

do away with them and let the gov travel like the rest of us do,they are paying themselves well enough to do that anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 23,508 ✭✭✭✭ted1

barney4001 wrote: »
    do away with them and let the gov travel like the rest of us do,they are paying themselves well enough to do that anyway

And if they need to get to meetings on places where scheduled flights don't go. At times that scheduled flights don't go. There's a very good case for them having access to a jet.

ted1 wrote: »
    And if they need to get to meetings on places where scheduled flights don't go. At times that scheduled flights don't go. There's a very good case for them having access to a jet.

Tele-conferencing is the way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

You obviously have a lot of experience in international business and diplomacy.:eek:

barney4001 wrote: »

While this might be a populist statement to make. The reality is that a significant proportion of TD's are very talented individuals with many coming from successful professional careers in finance, law, business etc. Many take significant pay cuts when entering politics and are always working.
    In regards the Government jet I believe that it is an essential tool that used correctly can save Ministers & High ranking civil servants time and therefore "get more business done" for Ireland.

EchoIndia wrote: »
    You obviously have a lot of experience in international business and diplomacy.:eek:

Most of the tools we send over to Europe should be sent in horseboxes.

Tele conferencing has its place, but you need to meet the person in the real world. To build up a rapport and relationship especially when dealing with different cultures. You need to press the flesh

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

EchoIndia wrote: »

How do the Uk government get around then. They use BA or the RAF.

The RAF have a huge fleet of planes available. The aer corps don't .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭man98

Why do we need a big fuel burning private jet? What we need is something like a Casa 235 or Embraer 135. The Casa would be cheap, and the Air Corps already have 2 of them. If speed is really an issue, an Embraer 135 could do just fine. VIP Configured of course to each. 20 passengers could comfortably fly in each.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭Terrontress

ted1 wrote: »

What sort of places do ministers go that scheduled airlines don't go but have a secured airfield to land a Gulfstream? Presumably any Irish military deployment has troop transport etc going there so a private jet isn't necessary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Presumably any Irish military deployment has troop transport etc going there so a private jet isn't necessary

Troop transport? :rolleyes:

Half the time we use the RAF. Or BA.