Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ice bucket b*lloxology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Good Jesus. Money is being raised. Awareness is being raised. People are having a bit of craic (even if it might not be my idea of fun) along the way. I fail to see what the problem is. Ignore it if you don't like it, there will be some other fad/trend along soon enough.

I remember a thread on here before giving out about Movember and the men looking like idiots and being attention seekers etc. FFS. Jesus but people will give out about anything, even positive things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Meangadh wrote: »
    Good Jesus. Money is being raised. Awareness is being raised. People are having a bit of craic (even if it might not be my idea of fun) along the way. I fail to see what the problem is. Ignore it if you don't like it, there will be some other fad/trend along soon enough.

I remember a thread on here before giving out about Movember and the men looking like idiots and being attention seekers etc. FFS. Jesus but people will give out about anything, even positive things.

I think that's the problem. People aren't supporting ALS because they care or have the foggiest idea what it is, they are doing it to be "cool" or because some celebrity they like did it. I think its the herd mentality and blindly emulating celebrities that annoys people. I think its great to get so much support for the disease but this celebrity fawning does make me a bit queasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I think that's the problem. People aren't supporting ALS because they care or have the foggiest idea what it is, they are doing it to be "cool" or because some celebrity they like did it. I think its the herd mentality and blindly emulating celebrities that annoys people. I think its great to get so much support for the disease but this celebrity fawning does make me a bit queasy.

I understand that but celebrity fawning happens anyway. At least it's being put to good use here as opposed to some young wan wanting a handbag/haircut/dress because Kim Kardashian has it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭SpiceWeasel

You are indeed correct, however I had a typo in my original post which i have since amended, I ment to say cublic meters not liters so the numbers still add up
    Yet you argued about a "cubic litre" and tried to be condescending about it in another post, funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

What in the name of f*ck is this all about and why should I give a f*ck?

I'd imagine sufferers couldn't give a f**k that you don't give a f**K. Just when you thought you've seen the worst of begrudgery in this country. Along comes this sad shyte. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

when bush jnr gets involved cos "lots of americans called for him to do the ice challenge" that's it for me,

prick should listen to those calling for him to hand himself in as a war criminal and not be having the craic while the world burns after the illegal wars he started!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Fair play to all those raising money but some are just doing it for the craic to put on facebook as it's the in thing. For instance there was a few drunken muppets up at my local hurling club's family day doing it last Sunday, one fella had it done to himself 4 or 5 times. Can't hurl for sh1te but great lads for the banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭EachSmallChime

Look it lads, its a bit of craic and if the argument to it raising a few million for charity is that it annoys a few people on facebook then I think people need to chill out (no pun intended)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,189 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I wouldnt worty about it too much op. There'll be none of this when the water charges come in.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Just donated €2 to the irish motor neurone disease association text number, 50300.

Special text number and they only take €2 euro credit. ... My problem. I want to donate more but it doesn't matter how many texts I send, they aren't taking my credit... This hasn't been the first time... Yet I can enter into competions with these text 5 digit numbers as many times as I want... But when it comes to these special donating 5 digit numbers, I can only send off the one text.

My problem is...I top up with €20 credit a month which I hardly use, but I get free internet by topping up. I've got over €50 credit that I have collected over the past few months.

God damn it, take my credit and put it to use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Just donated €2 to the irish motor neurone disease association text number, 50300.

Special text number and they only take €2 euro credit. ... My problem. I want to donate more but it doesn't matter how many texts I send, they aren't taking my credit... This hasn't been the first time... Yet I can enter into competions with these text 5 digit numbers as many times as I want... But when it comes to these special donating 5 digit numbers, I can only send off the one text.

My problem is...I top up with €20 credit a month which I hardly use, but I get free internet by topping up. I've got over €50 credit that I have collected over the past few months.

God damn it, take my credit and put it to use.

I was the same

Keith Barry had the best one by far.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=t2PpFyUPIns

Fair play to him.

And he nominates Enda Kenny. Hope he jumps in to same swimming pool of ice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

James Cameron is the best I've seen, taking it like a man :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Done today and donated 25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Ugh now all the D list Irish 'celebrities' are doing it.

Sorry lads some of Hollywood's best known actors have done it er I think the word is out there already your attempt is just kind of a little late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

Well done to all involved, for whatever their reasons, for raising awareness and funds. I gave a few quid. I was diagnosed with a neurological illness in May shortly after I turned 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Patrick Stewart showing how it should be done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Bang_Bang

Folks, i'm going to be a bit controversial about this ice bucket thing. I know it's going to a really good charity ( actually lots of charities) but is this not a ploy by the CEO's of these charities for you to hand over cash because of the recent scandals that have gone on in the charity sector?

1)Use facebook

2) Use ice bucket

3) Handover cash

4)Profit?

All the negative stuff about CEO's earning huge salaries in the charity sector is gone with this ice bucket challenge, I have personally witnessed friends and family hand over hundreds of €euros to some of the dodgy charities that were under investigation a few months back, this is not just for MND it's for all charities good and bad, I only donate to 2 charities, that I believe are not filling the pockets of the CEO's.

So what do you think, is this a ploy to start getting the CEO's of these charities, back to living the high life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,916 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'll admit that using FB is a clever idea for charities now, as it is populated by billions of narcissists who want the world to see how wacky they are, and hence any FB plan can't fail.

Thought the ice bucket challenge was invented to raise awareness for motor nueron disease.

Why are other charities stealing the idea. Think that Ryanair eejit did the ice bucket challenge and mentioned the jack and Jill foundation in his video. That's all good raising money but the ice bucket challenge is for motor neuron disease.

It sounds like a rotten disease...it leaves you paralysed... unable to feed for yourself, stuck in wheelchair, you can't even talk, you end up dying.

They deserve all the attention, awareness and help they can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Bang_Bang wrote: »
    Folks, i'm going to be a bit controversial about this ice bucket thing. I know it's going to a really good charity ( actually lots of charities) but is this not a ploy by the CEO's of these charities for you to hand over cash because of the recent scandals that have gone on in the charity sector?

1)Use facebook

2) Use ice bucket

3) Handover cash

4)Profit?

All the negative stuff about CEO's earning huge salaries in the charity sector is gone with this ice bucket challenge, I have personally witnessed friends and family hand over hundreds of €euros to some of the dodgy charities that were under investigation a few months back, this is not just for MND it's for all charities good and bad, I only donate to 2 charities, that I believe are not filling the pockets of the CEO's.

So what do you think, is this a ploy to start getting the CEO's of these charities, back to living the high life?

If your referring to Irish charities, you need to realise this whole thing started in the US of A. And as far as I know the money raised here in Ireland should be going to motor neuron disease? Of course Irish people on FB probably
    A) Don't give a Fook once someone clicks like on their video
    B) I wonder how many people actually go through with making the payment to charity??

But, I'd say the other irish charities are SICK they didn't think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

The only problem I have with it is that it gives some celebs, that normally wouldn't waste their time giving to charity, the chance to pretend to be charitable while really just looking to get their few David Brent esque moments in the public eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

On the subject of it i'll be extremely blunt :o .... The ALS Ice Bucket Challenge did some good but is now a load of bollocks.

The idea is to have some fun, donate to a charity & nominate others. But i've seen alot of videos now where people are just doing it for the craic. Then nominating their friends. No money being parted. I don't mean to sound like Buzz Killington or anything :o it's just I do believe this has changed from a viral means to give to a charity .... to now just a viral fad.

If your referring to Irish charities, you need to realise this whole thing started in the US of A. And as far as I know the money raised here in Ireland should be going to motor neuron disease? Of course Irish people on FB probably
    A) Don't give a Fook once someone clicks like on their video
    B) I wonder how many people actually go through with making the payment to charity??

But, I'd say the other irish charities are SICK they didn't think of it.

I have looked at a few that have posted their receipts online to FB, to questionable charities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭miece16

exactly.

its all the farmers doing it now because everyone else is doing it and its "cool"

its starting to piss me off

miece16 wrote: »
    exactly.

its all the farmers doing it now because everyone else is doing it and its "cool"

its starting to piss me off

The farmers should do it to their cattle to raise awareness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Stirs champagne in silver ice bucket..wonders what all this "charity" talk is about...continues cleaning shotguns....finds it not remotely challenging...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭jodaw

People Ted. There just like a big group of sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Been nominated and I couldn't give a **** about it.

Only ice cube I care about is in a nice drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Logged on last night to find I had been nominated not just once but 3 times. :(
    It's not my thing at all. I'll donate to charity, (a cancer charity) and I'm more aware of motor neuron disease because of it. Don't see the need to semi drown myself in the process.

Logged on last night to find I had been nominated not just once but 3 times. :(
    It's not my thing at all. I'll donate to charity, (a cancer charity) and I'm more aware of motor neuron disease because of it. Don't see the need to semi drown myself in the process.

Don't you know, it makes you wacky, a cool kid and a real Facebooker.

You must do it!

Its raised $60 million apparently, so some good has been done with it. But it is getting boring now. The fad is over. Please stop it.

Wonder could the Irish Gov start a FB fad and raise €120,000,000?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

If everyone who has got wet has nominated 3 others, how long before the entire world gets wet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Totally sick of all this hype now.

I did the steaming hot water bucket challenge months ago.

(Before it got cool...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭jodaw

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Totally sick of all this hype now.

I did the steaming hot water bucket challenge months ago.

(Before it got cool...)

Now that is cool:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Half the people I've seen doing it don't know whether to call it ASL or ALS, so while there's money raised (which is great, obviously!), I'm not 100% sure there's a lasting awareness raised.

131spanner wrote: »
    Half the people I've seen doing it don't know whether to call it ASL or ALS, so while there's money raised (which is great, obviously!), I'm not 100% sure there's a lasting awareness raised.

It's definitely not all going to MND in Ireland anyway, I would do it for Barnardos, MND, SVP and Temple childrens hospital, But some of the receipts I have looked at on FB are to those charities that have lined the pockets of their CEO's in the past, and now?........Swooosh all forgotten about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I was nominated on FB by someone I barely know, he's the brother of a mate of mine who passed away recently ~ so I immediately unfriended him, f*ck that sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Jaysus lads, it's only a bucket of water ffs. Just do the bloody thing, donate the €2 and be happy knowing that you have contributed to a Good cause.
    Try smiling instead of moaning for once :)
    You never know what's around the corner, you could be struck down with this this particular illness or something similar someday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Did ye see the one where the young lads mother fecks it on top of him before he's ready and he's like "jaysus mammy!!" Loved that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Did ye see the one where the young lads mother fecks it on top of him before he's ready and he's like "jaysus mammy!!" Loved that one

That was Bush and it wasn't his mammy (it was Laura, the mammy that he married). They let him pretend to run the free world once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Is everybody who was nominated even donating money? It's really flooding my newsfeed at this stage with a lot of the attention seeker types and is a bit annoying tbh. If I get nominated I don't think I'll do it, I'll donate some money though.

Macavity. wrote: »
    Is everybody who was nominated even donating money? It's really flooding my newsfeed at this stage with a lot of the attention seeker types and is a bit annoying tbh. If I get nominated I don't think I'll do it, I'll donate some money though.

From what I have seen on FB, most of it goes to "likecharity.com" who the fúck are these people, does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Tell you what, Macavity, I'll nominate you. Now. I challenge you. You have 24 hours. Or else, nothing. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

I've donated to mnd ireland but have not been nominated. I'm a shy retiring sort of gal so even if I was nominated I think I would ignore it.
    Donate to charity if you can afford to I firmly believe it's good for the soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭Trebor176

I haven't been nominated, and I don't expect to be nominated. If I wish to donate to any charity, I will donate. I don't need to be told to do so. I opened my Facebook a while ago, and there were several posts one after the other of these challenges. I'd love to know if many of those nominated or watching the videos will actually donate.