Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photospheres

Options
  • 20-08-2014 8:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭

Hello. I am very new to app creation and completely devoid of any coding knowledge. Is it possible to create an app that shows photospheres in compass mode (ie the image moves in tandem with the screen when displayed) Google have a photosphere viewer as part of their Google Cardboard app, I want my own and am wondering what will it take to make that possible? Ideally I would like the app to contain preloaded/compressed photospheres. Am I able to implement this myself? Is there a way I have overlooked? or, do I need a dedicated pro to build it for me? Kind regards.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Yes, you will need an experienced developer to do this.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

The default camera app can record photospheres. It can also use compass mode. Does this do what you want?

5uspect wrote: »
    The default camera app can record photospheres.
    For a limited number of phones, by default. For most others you need to download an app to do so.

The OP hasn't really explained what he wants. I'm presuming he wants his own app that can produce photospheres itself, after which he'll do something with them (if not, he's probably on the wrong forum). If that's the case, he needs to build it - get the camera to take a series of images, stitch them together and then add the embedded metadata.

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭osprey

For a limited number of phones, by default. For most others you need to download an app to do so.