Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have a child, get a free house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

I know an immigrant and he doesn't know what a tracker mortgage is, but that's fine because he got a free house. And a new car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

positron wrote: »
    I know an immigrant and he doesn't know what a tracker mortgage is, but that's fine because he got a free house. And a new car.

Osama Bin Laden was driving a taxi he got off the dole around the northside in 2005. He got a girl in trouble and took off for Pakistan like there was a rocket up his arse.

Don't let on I told you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Dowl88 wrote: »
    A load of people I know all have children and are getting the dole and a lovely modern house to live in for free. Before anyone says its not free its feck all a week, like 30 euro. This is outside Dublin.
    Most are unskilled and one said she wont go back to work because shes better off on the dole which really peeved me off, she has a car, can go out drinking and goes on holidays. Livin the dream!

Heres myself on 30k in Dublin, getting taxed to pits, paying 600 for a bloomin crappy box room as I cant afford a house or decent apartment.

Somethings not right with our culture!

Let me guess shes a migrant and she leaves prams on the bus and she arrived here yesterday and signed on and the dole pay for her car

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Those are the two cliches. I used to work in Revenue. They tend to be true. As you imply, all walks of life double-job.
    Guards (like everyone else) are always up for work on the side and popular in the security business. Farmers can make up their own hours and aren't afraid of hard work. Both can be creative on the tax return and forget to ask the boss to be the same.

Oh ok, so all walks life than.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Let me guess shes a migrant and she leaves prams on the bus and she arrived here yesterday and signed on and the dole pay for her car

In fairness to the op it does happen that some people not working live better lives than those working.
    I have a neighbour a single mother does a few nixers too. Has house, car and a better social life than most.
    She isn't rich but can afford a decent lifestyle

Not all are in that situation but some are. It is folly to say it doesn't ever happen.

In fairness her life isn't great apart from.her social life I don't envy much that she has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

anncoates wrote: »
    My wife rents her house to a single mother who gets rent allowance and has two kids. AFAIK, she's getting an education after her relationship broke up.

The house is completely spotless and she's even asked to make small improvements to it once or twice. My wife is delighted to have her as a tenant and hasn't raised the rent since she moved in because she'd love to have her there long term.

Sorry only negative anicdotes allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

bluewolf wrote: »
    jesus

Can't help but thinking if you meant that literally or figuratively....? I mean, I'm prett sure they never got a free house. Barn, maybe...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Can't help but thinking if you meant that literally or figuratively....? I mean, I'm prett sure they never got a free house. Barn, maybe...

The barn was occupied by ISIS fighters. Had to make do with a stable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Keisha07

Although it's sickening to hear of those who abuse the system, whats the alternative, bring back the work house, I like to moan too but for those who abuse there are genuine people who wouldn't be claiming if they didn't have to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Bang_Bang

Nahh a few posts back she left a house at the bus stop too, said the council will give here another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Bang_Bang wrote: »
    Nahh a few posts back she left a house at the bus stop too, said the council will give here another one.

Another house or another bus stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Anyone who abuses the system should be reported and have their payments taken off them.

As for the single mothers, if it's found they have a boyfriend living with them for free they should lose the accommodation they are in and it should be given to someone who won't try and abuse the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

I hear that if you're an immigrant you get a helicopter too.

The state even delivers your babies for you too.. ahead of time also so you don't need to haul it around for the full 9 months:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Bang_Bang

Another house or another bus stop?

Another house along with a pram left at the bus stop with the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭oceanman

Ush1 wrote: »
    It's the people working and claiming that truly boils my blood.

If you are caught you should never receive any dole again and have to pay back everything already claimed.
    but how would you survive on the dole on its own!..???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Dowl88

Gonna quit my job, knock up a young wan, get a council house, get tons of benefits, buy some cocaine, plant it on the young wan, get her sent to jail.

Living the dream!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

oceanman wrote: »
    but how would you survive on the dole on its own!..???

This isn't aimed at all claimants but some, maybe just maybe stop spending it on the hairdressers and nail salons, holidays to Lanzarote, Honda Civics, chinese takeaways, slabs of cheap beer and PS4's, rottweiller dogs that would eat you out of house and home like what I see some people purchasing. Among other things, the list goes on.

Christ I'd love my own roof over my head paid for by other people, but unfortunately I have a conscience. As I said before it's not independance if other working people are funding your lifestyle, some are more than happy to be stay at home parents for the rest of their lives, using their kid as an excuse to stay at home all day. If we started taking away these devine privileges some of these dole babyboomers wouldn't be so busy procreating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

If you really think life relying on state handouts is a cushy number go down the social in the morning and sign on.

It isn't though,and you won't.
    Exactly. The house you'd get won't be a nice house and won't be in a nice area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The local authority housing lists are overflowing anyway. Good luck in getting a house even with a shed of babies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    That's why you see helicopters abandoned at bus stops all the time. The dole just gives them a new helicopter the next day if they can't fit it on the bus with them.

And Taxi's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

What about the people who "rent" out their social welfare house when they buy a house, so in turn the tax payer is paying their mortgage.

Pure filth.

robertxxx wrote: »
    What about the people who "rent" out their social welfare house when they buy a house, so in turn the tax payer is paying their mortgage.

Pure filth.

Rent on social housing is based on income so you be paying a fairly decent rent if you could afford a mortgage

If you were signing on you wouldn't get a mortgage .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

anncoates wrote: »
    Rent on social housing is based on income so you be paying a fairly decent rent if you could afford a mortgage

If you were signing on you wouldn't get a mortgage .

Sorry, I'll try to clarify it, girl with kid gets social house, boyfriend is staying with her unofficially, boyfriend is working, they have savings and put deposit on new house and move out of social one, girl rents her social house to somebody for cash at a cheaper than the market rate due to the new renter not being able to claim rent allowance.
    Social welfare are totally unaware of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

the curtains are closed at 9 am,.

Mine would be closed all day if my neighbours were nosy ***** who knew all my business

Sorry, I'll try to clarify it, girl with kid gets social house, boyfriend is staying with her unofficially, boyfriend is working, they have savings and put deposit on new house and move out of social one, girl rents her social house to somebody for cash at a cheaper than the market rate due to the new renter not being able to claim rent allowance.

Doesn't sound nice but like a lot of posts here its hard to say this is widespread.

I grew up on a council estate and while the kind of hardcore dosser thing existed, it seemed to be in the minority. Those kind of people were looked down on in the area when I was a kid rather than them being the norm as claimed here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Dowl88

Magaggie wrote: »
    Exactly. The house you'd get won't be a nice house and won't be in a nice area.

Anywhere outside Dublin the houses are petfect!

Surely the local authority would get wind of that eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭experiMental

Dowl88 wrote: »
    A load of people I know all have children and are getting the dole and a lovely modern house to live in for free. Before anyone says its not free its feck all a week, like 30 euro. This is outside Dublin.
    Most are unskilled and one said she wont go back to work because shes better off on the dole which really peeved me off, she has a car, can go out drinking and goes on holidays. Livin the dream!

Somethings not right with our culture!

Not sure if those children will end up with the best life experience or upbringing... maybe they will end up bitter and disaffected.

But in any case, there is a chance that there will be a mad control freak who will assemble an army of them and start wrecking havoc. Russia is already doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Imagine if you bought a house and you got a free child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Haha noting is stopping you OP, go down to dole office tomorrow and get your free house

Noted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

i once met an absolute nutter whos seemingly one aim in life was to get preggo and get a free house. swore blind she was taking the pill but the pill she was taking i found out later was the end of the month placebo which was the contraception value of a panadol. low and behold , a month or two , the magic two blue lines appear on the test.in case you are thinking im being dramatic , first thing she said to me when she got the news was "i'll get a house out of this" She demanded 250 euro a week maintanence before the child was born or else id never get to see the child when the time came , i threatened her with bringing her to court if she pulled that crap and then she said she would tell everyone i raped her cos it would be her work against mine. Like a dope i took out a 3000 loan to put a deposit on a rented (3 bed?????) apartment and furnish the place for her, she stopped taking my calls and texts the next day and i got a call off her brother to continue putting the 250 a week in an envelope through the post box , but she never answered the door , even though i could see her through the glass catching the money before it hit the floor. bought her the buggy , pram , steriliser etc....was even told i wasnt welcome at the christening told me that i had to pay for it.....all while she moved a scumbag dealer in with her. Final straw came when i heard that she fell out with her brother because she wrote unkown through the fathers details on the birth cert
    might have been petty , but i took a stroll to the local scratch office and showed bank statements that showed i was paying the rent from my account which she was claiming from the dole and pocketing, deposit for the apartment , reciepts for strollers and prams which she claimed , food shopping etc, and when i withdrew the 250 a week from the bank , i always marked it down as maintanance for xy.
    She got into **** loads of trouble :)
    some might think i was a bit of a dick , but feck it. doing my civic duty in exposing a career welfare cheat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

i once met an absolute nutter whos seemingly one aim in life was to get preggo and get a free house. swore blind she was taking the pill but the pill she was taking i found out later was the end of the month placebo which was the contraception value of a panadol. low and behold , a month or two , the magic two blue lines appear on the test.in case you are thinking im being dramatic , first thing she said to me when she got the news was "i'll get a house out of this" She demanded 250 euro a week maintanence before the child was born or else id never get to see the child when the time came , i threatened her with bringing her to court if she pulled that crap and then she said she would tell everyone i raped her cos it would be her work against mine. Like a dope i took out a 3000 loan to put a deposit on a rented (3 bed?????) apartment and furnish the place for her, she stopped taking my calls and texts the next day and i got a call off her brother to continue putting the 250 a week in an envelope through the post box , but she never answered the door , even though i could see her through the glass catching the money before it hit the floor. bought her the buggy , pram , steriliser etc....was even told i wasnt welcome at the christening told me that i had to pay for it.....all while she moved a scumbag dealer in with her. Final straw came when i heard that she fell out with her brother because she wrote unkown through the fathers details on the birth cert
    might have been petty , but i took a stroll to the local scratch office and showed bank statements that showed i was paying the rent from my account which she was claiming from the dole and pocketing, deposit for the apartment , reciepts for strollers and prams which she claimed , food shopping etc, and when i withdrew the 250 a week from the bank , i always marked it down as maintanance for xy.
    some might think i was a bit of a dick , but feck it. doing my civic duty in exposing a career welfare cheat

I'm gonna have to claim the blind pension after reading that. Probably land meself a new pad aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Ha another dole thread :P
    So ultimately this thread is about what other people are doing in life that is not 'fair' .... hmmmm.

- So when Joe Skanger wakes up tomorrow, goes down the social to sign on and then do a days work unofficially. He is working the system. Thats "wrong"

But...

- Joe Plumber can wake up tomorrow and charge someone 110 euro to change a tap. Doesnt declare that job. He is working people and the system.
    - Joe Suit can wake up, go to work, barely does anything and justifies his job. But is clever enough to hire a creative accountant. He is working his employers and the system.
    - Joe taxi declares any old figure on what he earns as most people don't ask for receipts. He is working the system.
    ... I could go on.

My point? we're all working someone. Ain't no fairness in this world.
    Now I aint no shark. Everything I wrote above is also me telling me to stop being a thick and wake up. But lets be honest because we are either sharks, sharks-in-training or wannabe sharks. Even the most gullible of a person will try to pull the wool over anothers eyes when it comes to money.
    So let's cut the crap. What are we really talking about here? Moaning about someone else because they got XYZ. While we are trying to get XYZ just through a different avenue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Give up your job op and live the high life on the dole. you get the car and house right away,its a separate form for the rolex though.
    You might need to get down off the cross first though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

In Connemara, they are so unambitious and backward-thinking that a girl getting pregnant (with no daddy hanging around) is seen as a good thing as she gets a free house out of it. That is what the girls strive for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

In Connemara, they are so unambitious and backward-thinking that a girl getting pregnant (with no daddy hanging around) is seen as a good thing as she gets a free house out of it. That is what the girls strive for.

Suas do guna Una

agus beidh teach againn. . . :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I was tapping a young girl of 20 there about 10 years ago, on and off. She was a member of a, how would you describe it, 'less than reputable' family.

She grew up in abject poverty; her brothers and father in and out of jail for drugs, assault and robberies at times. No support for her schooling.

Scenario has big, big influence on this girl in her mentality, self confidence and sense of self worth now that an adult.

What you you got was a girl solely focussed on a welfare state; a sense of entitlement; an anti establishment 'someone owes me a favour' attitude; sher why work; annd quite aggressive in her belief.

Me, alternative views.

Cracking girl though, definitely ate her vegetables, developed well if you get me.

Well, mid coitus one time, I went to retract and she wrapped her legs around me screaming 'Be my Baby's Daddy!' 'Be my Baby's Daddy'.

THAT is the extent of the lack of reforms in Welfare in this country. We are producing young women who know no better to establish themselves in life than to have a baby for the sake of having a baby, as of the benefits it brings; sustainable housing, sustainable income.

And you have a guy who very well could have got lamped.

4/10 myshirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

[QUOTo 'Be my Baby's Daddy!' 'Be my Baby's Daddy'.

.[/QUOTE]

Well.
    Were you?
    And if not why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

myshirt wrote: »
    I was tapping a young girl of 20 there about 10 years ago, on and off. She was a member of a, how would you describe it, 'less than reputable' family.

She grew up in abject poverty; her brothers and father in and out of jail for drugs, assault and robberies at times. No support for her schooling.

Scenario has big, big influence on this girl in her mentality, self confidence and sense of self worth now that an adult.

What you you got was a girl solely focussed on a welfare state; a sense of entitlement; an anti establishment 'someone owes me a favour' attitude; sher why work; annd quite aggressive in her belief.

Me, alternative views.

Cracking girl though, definitely ate her vegetables, developed well if you get me.

Well, mid coitus one time, I went to retract and she wrapped her legs around me screaming 'Be my Baby's Daddy!' 'Be my Baby's Daddy'.

THAT is the extent of the lack of reforms in Welfare in this country. We are producing young women who know no better to establish themselves in life than to have a baby for the sake of having a baby, as of the benefits it brings; sustainable housing, sustainable income.

And you have a guy who very well could have got lamped.

We badly need a war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

So ultimately this thread is about what other people are doing in life that is not 'fair' .... hmmmm.

- So when Joe Skanger wakes up tomorrow, goes down the social to sign on and then do a days work unofficially. He is working the system. Thats "wrong"

But...

- Joe Plumber can wake up tomorrow and charge someone 110 euro to change a tap. Doesnt declare that job. He is working people and the system.
    - Joe Suit can wake up, go to work, barely does anything and justifies his job. But is clever enough to hire a creative accountant. He is working his employers and the system.
    - Joe taxi declares any old figure on what he earns as most people don't ask for receipts. He is working the system.
    ... I could go on.

Now I aint no shark. Everything I wrote above is also me telling me to stop being a thick and wake up. But lets be honest because we are either sharks, sharks-in-training or wannabe sharks. Even the most gullible of a person will try to pull the wool over anothers eyes when it comes to money.
    So let's cut the crap. What are we really talking about here? Moaning about someone else because they got XYZ. While we are trying to get XYZ just through a different avenue?

You've taken a perfectly respectable dole and single mother bashing thread and turned it into a witch hunt against poor Joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

This post has everything,
    Nutter woman deliberty gets pregnant to get free house,
    Getting 250e a week maintenance money from ex,
    If he don't pay,she tell everyone he raped her,
    Moves drug dealer into house,
    Final straw she won't put OP as father on birthcert so he rats on her as is civic duty.

And I going back asleep...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I hear that if you're an immigrant you get a helicopter too.

But not an abortion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭oceanman

But...

... I could go on.

Great post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Obviously people blow the whole dole scrounger thing way out of proportion. However, the idea that there aren't generations of families who have never work, have no intention if working and live entirely on state benefits is equally deluded.

It should imo be EXTREMELY difficult to survive soley on non contributory SW payments. Those who are physically and mentally capable of working but have never done so should receive next to nothing. Languishing on state payments should be neigh on impossible.

Again I make the point that those who are physically or mentally incapable of providing for themselves should be looked after 100%. Those who have worked and been unfortunate enough to lose their jobs should be helped 100%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Surely the local authority would get wind of that eventually.

They would, if he wasn't just making it up or repeating what he heard from someone else in the pub. We all know there are some people abusing the system, some people abuse every system they can. But to write off the 98% of genuine claimants who need help, because of the tabloid-friendly actions of a few, is pure ignorance.

If anyone knows someone exploiting the system, report them - if you don't do that and just prefer to come on here and moan about them, then shut up and get on with your own life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭woppi

Again I make the point that those who are physically or mentally incapable of providing for themselves should be looked after 100%...

Where do you draw the line for someone being mentally incapable of providing for themselves and not being employable at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

myshirt wrote: »

...She got a good Leaving Cert?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

i once met an absolute nutter whos seemingly one aim in life was to get preggo and get a free house. swore blind she was taking the pill but the pill she was taking i found out later was the end of the month placebo which was the contraception value of a panadol. low and behold , a month or two , the magic two blue lines appear on the test.in case you are thinking im being dramatic , first thing she said to me when she goI t the news was "i'll get a house out of this" She demanded 250 euro a week maintanence before the child was born or else id never get to see the child when the time came , i threatened her with bringing her to court if she pulled that crap and then she said she would tell everyone i raped her cos it would be her work against mine. Like a dope i took out a 3000 loan to put a deposit on a rented (3 bed?????) apartment and furnish the place for her, she stopped taking my calls and texts the next day and i got a call off her brother to continue putting the 250 a week in an envelope through the post box , but she never answered the door , even though i could see her through the glass catching the money before it hit the floor. bought her the buggy , pram , steriliser etc....was even told i wasnt welcome at the christening told me that i had to pay for it.....all while she moved a scumbag dealer in with her. Final straw came when i heard that she fell out with her brother because she wrote unkown through the fathers details on the birth cert

Jasus this beggars belief did you not realise she was mad for a child before you stuck your rod in there???

Were you that stuck for a shag?

Use condoms next time it might save you a good few grand and whatever else you caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

monflat wrote: »
    Jasus this beggars belief did you not realise she was mad for a child before you stuck your rod in there???

Were you that stuck for a shag?

Use condoms next time it might save you a good few grand and whatever else you caught.

Whole situation (and myshirt's) could have been avoided if he just brought and used his own condoms (to be fair, if that was the girls attitude then I wouldn't have trusted any she had)

Yea we know it's not as much fun but the alternative (as he tells it) is a LOT worse.