Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

AI SFC SF Replay Kerry v Mayo 30/08 5pm Mod Warning Post #1 #562

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

I honestly didn't think the ref was that bad and I wanted Mayo to win.I thought he got all 3 penalty decisions correct apart from not giving a black card for Mayo's penalty and in every game of football you could have arguments about loads of frees that were given/not given.

Kieran Donaghy may be a great player but his cynical behaviour is dreadful at times.

Horan has to take a degree of blame for this defeat he should have taken Cafferky off Donaghy much sooner and put someone like Barry Moran/Tom Parsons on Donaghy. Donaghy isn't a normal full forward so you don't need a regular full back to mark him just some one who can compete with him in the air. Donegal /Dublin will be much shrewder in how the deal with him. Todays match also shows that a great bench is vital in the modern game and Mayo just don't have it although Michael Conroy played very well when he came on.

the penalties were bang on no question. that i dont deny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Rockfish

No excuses, well done Kerry and thanks James but time for a fresh start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭babybuilder

Cant abide commentary on RTE. Surely they can get two people to do better. ok they got the couple of soft frees at the end but they seem to choose which incidents they comment on. Ignoring blatant fouling. They picked up on the Kerry black card but completely ignored the ankle trip by a Mayo player in the first half. Unreal. Panel not much different.

Macavity. wrote: »
    He's a very dislikeable player in general, very cynical. I don't think he'll pose as many problems to Dublin/Donegal.

did you see him smirking at the mayo player who came on. real cheeky smile from him.

Youd have to give it to him. He changed the game last week and kerry were feeding off him

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

Macavity. wrote: »
    Do you watch football? Dublin are a lot better defensively and won't be exposed like Mayo were, they are more clinical in attack. Kerry were gifted with two points in extra time of this game, they are lucky to be going through. They will be dismantled by the Dubs.

And they say man united fans used to be arrogant but the dub fans are taking it to a complete new level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Tigger wrote: »
    That's Mick
    He's now officially a legend

Not a legend at all. A fool who made a show of himself and his poor daughter. He looked as though he was about to have a heart attack.

There was also another fan on but looked like he thought the better of it before getting involved.

They were disgraceful scenes at the end of the game. Mayo selector should also be reprimanded for his part in the whole thing.

It should never come to a situation where the ref needs a garda escorts like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,816 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Roquentin wrote: »
    did you see him smirking at the mayo player who came on. real cheeky smile from him.

Youd have to give it to him. He changed the game last week and kerry were feeding off him

smirking at a Mayo play coming on?
    The norm is a good hard shoulder, but you criticise him for smirking, can't do anything these days on a pitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

sammy37 wrote: »
    And they say man united fans used to be arrogant but the dub fans are taking it to a complete new level.

Not from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,776 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Ref didn't decide that game, besides ten minutes in the first half Kerry were the better team for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

keane2097 wrote: »
    Ref didn't decide that game, besides ten minutes in the first half Kerry were the better team for the most part.
    I agree. They won it in middle too where I didn't expect them to and scores came easier.
    They'd midfield won before the head clash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Not a legend at all. A fool who made a show of himself and his poor daughter. He looked as though he was about to have a heart attack.

There was also another fan on but looked like he thought the better of it before getting involved.

They were disgraceful scenes at the end of the game. Mayo selector should also be reprimanded for his part in the whole thing.

It should never come to a situation where the ref needs a garda escorts like that.

What do you think a legend is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

They were gifted 2 penalties and 2 points. Thats alot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Kerry had a gameplan last week and again today - slow the game at every chance by fouling in the forwards, holding the ball or kicking it away. Mayo's game is based on breaking from the back at speed and this stopped it. Unfortunately the ref let it continue again this week. Also mayo have no plan b. Leaving cafferkey on donaghy was madness when we all saw what he did last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭newportlad

Think that the clash between O'Connor and O'Shea at the end of the first half may well have cost Mayo the game. Lots of chopping and changing in the second half as a result and O'Connors right eye seemed to be completely closed when he did come back on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

donnem33 wrote: »
    thats fair enough, but he consistently gave kerry and in particular donaghy very dubious frees, while not giving mayo any!

felt he didnt play enough injury time either, but it would have been unlikely that mayo could have pulled anything out of the bag at that stage

he gave kerry an extra minute turning 3 mins extra time into 4 to score a point in the first half.
    At the end of 70 mins injury he blew up straight away when hennellys ball did not go over even though andy moran got the ball......
    Enough said.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Cracking game of football tainted by that twat of a Mayo fan and the Selector getting involved in the brawls.

Brawls happen but it's not an excuse for thuggery and the disgraceful behaviour we saw today. No-one but the players and ref should have been involved.

That poor young girl. Her father should have been kicked out of the stadium if not arrested IMO. He was heading for a confrontation with the Ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

thats fair enough, but he consistently gave kerry and in particular donaghy very dubious frees, while not giving mayo any!

felt he didnt play enough injury time either, but it would have been unlikely that mayo could have pulled anything out of the bag at that stage

Again as a Kerry woman, and I'd like to be fair....there were a few frees that were dodgy.....but only when I saw the replays.

I didn't have an issue with injury time...my son had it timed nearly to the same second as the ref. Actually the ref blew up the match 2 seconds early according to the son.

I do feel gutted for Mayo. As a life long GAA fan, Mayo have never had their day in the sun. I watched the match Mayo against Kerry in 1997 wishing Mayo would win.

I wanted Mayo to win because I thought it would be good for football.

Now that's an admission for a Kerry person.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

Cracking game of football tainted by that twat of a Mayo fan and the Selector getting involved in the brawls.

Brawls happen but it's not an excuse for thuggery and the disgraceful behaviour we saw today. No-one but the players and ref should have been involved.

That poor young girl. Her father should have been kicked out of the stadium if not arrested IMO. He was heading for a confrontation with the Ref.

it was the kerry player who started the brawl though. they were very cynical for a finish!! this was clearly illustrated with 2 kerry players getting yellow carded and no mayo player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

A few points.....
    1. Ref didn't win the game. I think over the 2 1/2 games decisions were even enough. Mayo got several soft dress especially in 3rd quarter in 1st game to give them a foothold, and both of mayos frees at the end of full time were soft.
    2. I wasn't against the venue before the game, but there have to be serious questions about crowd control after it. It's on laughing at yer man getting hauled off by the 5 or 6 stewards, but he was ages on the pitch berating the linesman before he was approached. You wouldn't see it at a club game.
    3. Mayo. ....here we are Again! Huge effort over last 4 years but the end of the road now I'd say.
    4. Kerry....coming again. This year is probably a year too soon in terms of an All Ireland, but who Knows?
    5. Not much between the sides, except Mayo didn't know how to beat kerry, and Kerry didn't know how to lose to mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

robbiezero wrote: »
    Some statement.

That it may be. But when you see the bile that's spouted towards Dublin or Ulster sides and yet year after year the same cynical ****e is allowed off because it's Kerry; it gets tiresome.

That was not a great game today. Exciting perhaps, but it was error strewn from the beginning. And after last week I still can't figure out what hell Ger Cafferkey is doing in that side. He was useless last week and god knows what the idea was today.

I could go on but I'm out in town and I have to lighten up, but I'll say this... Whoever wins tomorrow will win on the 21st.

Amprodude wrote: »
    They were gifted 2 penalties and 2 points. Thats alot.

they deserved the penos. they were straight forward penos any day of the week to be given and if they werent given then questions would need to be asked.

its his interpretations of events in mayos backline I have the problems with.
    Cos same tackling in the kerry backline resulted in nothing.

GAA brings out passion. Thuggery? Not too sure that it was that

kupus wrote: »
    he gave kerry an extra minute turning 3 mins extra time into 4 to score a point in the first half.
    At the end of 70 mins injury he blew up straight away when hennellys ball did not go over even though andy moran got the ball......
    Enough said.

Ah ok bitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Aineoil wrote: »
    Again as a Kerry woman, and I'd like to be fair....there were a few frees that were dodgy.....but only when I saw the replays.

I didn't have an issue with injury time...my son had it timed nearly to the same second as the ref. Actually the ref blew up the match 2 seconds early according to the son.

I do feel gutted for Mayo. As a life long GAA fan, Mayo have never had their day in the sun. I watched the match Mayo against Kerry in 1997 wishing Mayo would win.

I wanted Mayo to win because I thought it would be good for football.

Now that's an admission for a Kerry person.:)

Mayo are cursed simple as!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Tigger wrote: »
    What do you think a legend is

Well it's colloquial use is generally positive, hence saying he isn't a legend.

Overall kerry used tactics at the end to close out the game and disrupt mayo and it worked.

it was the kerry player who started the brawl though. they were very cynical for a finish!! this was clearly illustrated with 2 kerry players getting yellow carded and no mayo player

Oh we'll that's ok then.

It doesn't matter who started it, it shouldn't have gone that far.

Off course Kerry were. That's how you win matches.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    smirking at a Mayo play coming on?
    The norm is a good hard shoulder, but you criticise him for smirking, can't do anything these days on a pitch.

it was the kind of smile a guy gives a girl in nightclub if you know what i mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Not related to this game in particular but it is an example. Commentators saying "what can the referee do" after him and other officials are standing a few feet away from a mass brawl. What he can do and should do is send off five players. Keegan got sent off (rightly) last week and O'Connor got sent off today for kicking. But nobody got sent off for the brawl when much more dangerous stuff went on and nobody got sent off in Armagh. Nobody every gets sent off. And you have mentors and spectators coming on to get involved.

And then you have the same commentators complaining about inconsistency in refereeing decisions. The rules should be applied equally in every situation whether it is one on one or ten on ten.

"He got the ball before the man"

Same **** as last week with some fans. That's a soccer rule

Aineoil wrote: »
    GAA brings out passion. Thuggery? Not too sure that it was that

Thuggery may be the wrong word but it certainly wasn't passion.

His poor daughter, if that's what you call passion I think you need to rethink your understanding of the word.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭VanDinkle

Dublin aren't even in the final yet ffs, it's nearly embarrassing to see how they're carrying on.

Exactly who is carrying on embarrasingly ? Dublin fans ?

I have been following this thread and I dont know what you are talking about. But dont let that stop your hatred. No genuine Dublin fan is expecting an easy game tommorow, despite what imaginary price the bookies have put on them.

I hope they have extra moderators on tonight. I can see it being a bloodbath in here later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

nm wrote: »

thats assault. take it to alan shatter, emm i mean the new justice minister

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

I think a more objective reading of that would be that Mayo deliberately killed the clock so that there would be no possibility of Kerry getting the ball back up the field. So they can hardly complain that there was no time left just cos one of their players caught the ball.. If they wanted time on the ball when the ball dropped short, they could have got O'Connor to kick it in 30 seconds earlier (instead of waiting on the keeper).

However, I did think that Kerry got the better of the refereeing decisions. Probably should have got one penalty but not two. And Donaghy frees in extra time (particularly the first one) were not really frees..

Enough said.

oh and by the way for people that dont know ill keep it KISS(keep it simply stupid) that point scored at the end of a mins extra extra time in the first half meant the scores were all level at the end of second half

youd swear that cop was playing the match...... for kerry:pac:

When exactly does the Brawl start, there's a video a few pages back - go watch it and tell me what number 4 for Mayo is doing jumping in. They needed a goal, why get involved - they wasted about a minute or 2 there.

Mayo lads lost their heads at the end and wanted to take it out of the Kerry lads, Mayo lad got a red card for lashing out even.

A Mayo panellist should have not been even on the pitch, but no doubt that will be overlooked by the pro Mayo supporters.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭crackity_jones

Completely irrelevant.

It was past the allotted 3 minutes of injury time BEFORE the free kick was even taken. The ref could have blown up without the kick even being taken, if he was being really sticky on time, but he allowed it and did the right thing in blowing up once the ball was cleared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

"He got the ball before the man"

Same **** as last week with some fans. That's a soccer rule
    To be fair the commentator on RTE said something very close to that though .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Brilliant .. thanks... The guards really sorted out that fourteen year old boy... I'd say organised criminals all over the country are taking a long hard in the mirror tonight and considering changing profession.. :pac:

You do realise that lad assaulted a Garda first, he pushed him to the ground.

Ah ok bitter.

Ive stated before I dont mind getting beaten, what i dont like is getting beat by a ref.... that consistently made strange decisions thru out the game from start to finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

When exactly does the Brawl start, there's a video a few pages back - go watch it and tell me what number 4 for Mayo is doing jumping in. They needed a goal, why get involved - they wasted about a minute or 2 there.

Mayo lads lost their heads at the end and wanted to take it out of the Kerry lads, Mayo lad got a red card for lashing out even.

A Mayo panellist should have not been even on the pitch, but no doubt that will be overlooked by the pro Mayo supporters.

if the kerry player that cycnically dragged down the mayo player going through (what were black cards introduced for again) hadnt have stayed lying down on the mayo attacker slowing play down, then the brawl would not have occured!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Ref was dodgy but it wasn't really a case of one side or another coming out on top because of him. Incredible matches to be at, some unforgettable moments over the 160 minutes plus of football.

For Mayo it looks like it could be a bit of an ending, but it will still take a fine side to beat them next year if they don't install a joker as a manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭threeball

Kerry had a gameplan last week and again today - slow the game at every chance by fouling in the forwards, holding the ball or kicking it away. Mayo's game is based on breaking from the back at speed and this stopped it. Unfortunately the ref let it continue again this week. Also mayo have no plan b. Leaving cafferkey on donaghy was madness when we all saw what he did last week.

Kerry have been at that for years now but the purists tag somehow deflects alot of the heat off them. There is really only one purists team left and thats Galway but that 15 on 15 game won't win anything any more

Stoner wrote: »
    To be fair the commentator on RTE said something very close to that though .

Yeah Carr and O'Rourke both said it. Crazy.

Stonewall penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Then he runs off the pitch at the end as fast as he could.

I wouldn't blame him to be honest. There was a good chance some header would have given him a box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

He is also a coward.
    He ran off the pitch in the Cork Mayo match as fast as his little legs could carry him after he railroaded Cork .

Today he stood idly by as the brawl went on making sure he was far enough away not to get a belt .
    Then he runs off the pitch at the end as fast as he could.

All referees are told to get off the field as quick as possible.
    Even at club level.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Hard lines on Mayo, a third day out might just have been a fair result. Donaghy got at least two easy frees and the first penalty, the second penalty was a foul IMO, you cannot slide tackle in Gaelic football, that is a rule and it is a foul.
    I thought Cormac Reilly had a good game up to extra time, it also got messy at the same time as both sets of players were tiring, which is not surprising considering the amount of hard physical play.
    Reilly by the way is seen by McEneaney as the fittest referee of them all, would not be surprised if he would have got the final this year.

One thing, maybe the match was gone at the time, but Mayo's reaction to the two incidents at the end, put the tin hat on the match. They reacted to the first foul (I Think there was 19 mins 20 secs gone, so there was still plenty of time) and what's worse a Mayo official got involved and Cillian O'Connors kick out meant the ball was thrown up on the second one.
    And as regards the big fat fella running on to attack the ref, at least the woman in the crowd had the sense to give out to him. (By the way, he would not get away with that in croke park. :)