Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Persevering to achieve success.

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

LiveIsLife wrote: »
    Not really. Just because someone worked hard for something doesn't mean they can't be a bit of dick. People spout on about Irish begrudgery, but we're no worse than other places. If a decent person has done well, people wish them well. If people have an 'I'm better than you' attitude naturally they aren't going to be liked, and these people are usually so up their own hole they just put it down to everyone being jealous.

It's called Power Living, you unmotivated plebian! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

The Peanut wrote: »
    Let's move on.

Persevering to achieve success:

Dennis Taylor beating Steve Davis in 1985 snooker World Championship final - one of the great sporting comebacks of all time.

If I recall correctly, Steve Davis said afterwards:
    I'm disappointed to have lost, but at least I'm not some narcissistic prick working in a financial institution who thinks that the accumulation of material goods is the definition of success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

LiveIsLife wrote: »
    The looking at his past posts is in relation to people saying 'oh look typical Irish begrudgey'.

I'm aware of that, I'm not having a pop at anyone. But if there's a small chance, no matter how unlikely it might seem, that he's above board, all the referencing is unfair. If he's a troll, he's delighted with all the attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭valderrama1

Look, the chap is either a troll or an individual with, what he feels, is a perfect life.

His post was not modest but it was in reply to a question I posed. All the individuals who went referencing his other posts elsewhere were either feeding a troll or posting material that he did not supply himself on this thread. Let's move on. If he is as he says, and it may be a big if, he is entitled to his comments, as OTT as they may seem.

No this guy doesn't exist. He's not real :D

Most of it is borderline believable, but the German wealth management, gives it away.

He could be selling irish bonds to german high net worth individuals. Esso guy will pay it off sure.
    "How dare you AvB"!!!

Not......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭LiveIsLife

I'm aware of that, I'm not having a pop at anyone. But if there's a small chance, no matter how unlikely it might seem, that he's above board, all the referencing is unfair. If he's a troll, he's delighted with all the attention.

What is unfair about it? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Life is a lottery depending on your health, your socio-economic background, your support circles etc. Some folks are almost guaranteed to be winners others have little chance of being anything other than losers but if you don't play it you'll never win. Talent, intelligence matter for naught if you don't persevere. Even if it's ultimately futile. Thing is if you don't try it IS futile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

It's unfair in the context of this thread. He did not state in this thread all the other quoted statements in relation to this topic. He posted a relatively harmless, if immodest, statement. The other quotes are admittedly crazy when grouped together but he did not state them in this thread.

Therefore, I think that in the context of this thread, it's unfair. If he rejoins the thread, he can defend himself. Or provide some more nuggets...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

I grew up on a rural farm in the west of Ireland. Our house was comfortable but far from affluent.

I persevered through college, achieving very highly in all exams. I eventually went on to do a post-graduate degree in the UK's top university. I now have a very highly paid job working in wealth management in Germany. I have a beautiful German partner and want for absolutely nothing.

I've come a long way from picking stones in the West.

I was going to post this almost exactly the same since I'm in the exact same boat. Cudo's!

It's unfair in the context of this thread. He did not state in this thread all the other quoted statements in relation to this topic.

He was offering himself and his lifestyle as an example of a great achievement, and surely it is enterprising of - dare I say, morally incumbent upon - the readers and contributors on here to find out more about this modern-day Übermensch so that they may seek to emulate his existence, even if only in their dreams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

He was offering himself and his lifestyle as an example of a great achievement, and surely it is enterprising of - dare I say, morally incumbent upon - the readers and contributors on here to find out more about this modern-day Übermensch so that they may seek to emulate his existence, even if only in their dreams.

Yeah I know you wanted a chance to show off your German word but I hardly think his achievement makes him a superhuman. He went to college and got a job in finance and is generally happy. I am sure he is one of many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Wow! I've inadvertently managed to create quite a kerfuffle. I posted what I felt was a valid example of perseverance. This appears to have rubbed some people up the wrong way. That isn't my intention. While I'd like to think I have many outstanding qualities (the same as most people), perhaps my tone when using this message board needs to be worked on.

For my rather clumsy post I have been subjected to lots of unnecessary and petty personal abuse. I've chosen to rise above it. The second thing thrown at me is the suggestion that I am a troll. I most certainly am not. One of the real drawbacks of online discourse is the idea that anyone who expresses a controversial, left-field or dissenting opinion is automatically a troll. It cheapens the debate.

I'd suggest that for someone who posts about the need for humility, posting a wikipedia article to explain the meaning of a word is rather haughty and brash in itself.

I won't be contributing to this thread any further. I'm sorry for any misconceptions that arose out of my post. Ironically enough, a copy of Chekhov's short stories arrived today from Kennys.ie. So I'll be spending the next few days persevering over that work, whilst being optimistic of a successful outcome. I may even 'keep it real' and buy a <€15 euro bottle of wine to accompany my reading. :)

Yeah I know you wanted a chance to show off your German word

Are you one of those "begrudgers" I've heard so much about?

Wait till you see my healthy wife and beautiful bank balance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Are you one of those "begrudgers" I've heard so much about?

Wait till you see my healthy wife and beautiful bank balance.

I think we both know that you are the begrudger on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...I may even 'keep it real' and buy a <€15 euro bottle of wine to accompany my reading. :)

Keep spendin' mos' our lives livin' in the gangsta's paradise. ;)

I'm sorry for any misconceptions that arose out of my post.

What misconceptions would they be?

That's my treppenwitz for the day (no link provided in order to not cause offence to people who do not like links being provided.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Best troll i have seen for a while. I fully expect him to "play it straight" for a while now to remove suspicion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

A poster modestly enough claims to be successful and other posters hate. People jump on him, try to dissect his every post. Who knows, maybe he is what he claims to be? Of course we know the internet is full of lunatics claiming that they are all sorts.

I find it even stranger, how worked up people are getting and the lengths they go to prove him wrong. Face it lads, some people work hard, achieve their goals and get to where they want to be while always striving to be better. Typical Irish begrudging at its finest shown in this thread.:mad:

A poster modestly enough

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

jimgoose wrote: »
    Greek women == Hairy, thick.
    Spanish women == Lazy, thick.
    Italian women == Crazy, thick.
    German women == Capable, sensible, great drivers, sex-maniacs.

*Books flight to Germany*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Been thinking about this question again today and realised that even though I've spent the last year working really hard and studying in my line of work (for little to no money as an intern) that my goal never was to "get to the top" or earn loads of money. I don't know why I don't have those ambitions. It sounds weird but I'm doing an internship with no real goal other than to see if I can actually do it. I seem to be at my happiest when I'm challenging myself and that's when I persevere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

A poster modestly enough claims to be successful...

In fairness, there was nothing modest about it.

Face it lads, some people work hard, achieve their goals and get to where they want to be while always striving to be better. Typical Irish begrudging at its finest shown in this thread.:mad:

There are several examples in this thread of people who worked hard and achieved success and yet weren't subjected to this "begrudgery". Could it be because they didn't describe themselves quite so pretentiously?

No one here has suggested that there is anything wrong with a bit of pride but when it goes so far as to have many people genuinely wondering whether AvB is actually a troll, surely you can see how some people could see him as a bit pompous. That is not begrudgery.

And for the record, I'm going to give AvB the benefit of the doubt after his last post but some of his previous posts made me cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I shouldn't say this but I love the bit about having a German partner like it is something that finally lets you know you've arrived! What's wrong with a Greek, Spanish or Italian partner?

Their noses and hands are not as large as the German women.

terms and conditions angela merkel apply

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

pharmaton wrote: »
    Been thinking about this question again today and realised that even though I've spent the last year working really hard and studying in my line of work (for little to no money as an intern) that my goal never was to "get to the top" or earn loads of money. I don't know why I don't have those ambitions. It sounds weird but I'm doing an internship with no real goal other than to see if I can actually do it. I seem to be at my happiest when I'm challenging myself and that's when I persevere.

You are on the right track. If you are not ambitious but feel that you owe it to your parents etc to be a driven personality ........ that is the road to unhappiness. You are doing what your body and mind knows is best for you.
    One day you'll be retired and you can sing "I Did It My Way", while some or your contemporaries will never have smelled the roses.
    I salute you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

If 'success' includes staying alive, Joe Simpson's story is hard to beat.