Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CX beginner training in Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Anyone fancy posting a suggested route around the park for those of us not able to make the sessions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Anyone fancy posting a suggested route around the park for those of us not able to make the sessions?

Best way is just to go and explore the trails, plenty of them and you won't get bored. I don't use a specific route.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Myself and Alex just explored...http://www.strava.com/activities/187403418

The best trails (that we found)are probably around the Glen lake at the western end of the park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Fiar point guys, thanks

colm18 wrote: »
    Myself and Alex just explored...http://www.strava.com/activities/187403418

The best trails (that we found)are probably around the Glen lake at the western end of the park.

I use that and the area around the Khyber Pass, the whoops beside the magazine fort and the trail along the wall. Pitches beside the cricket grounds are good for skills training and it's generally quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,317 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Endurance spins are good but don't forget your skills sessions either, which involves some very repetitive stuff...

These are from yesterday

320484.png

320485.png

320486.png

Raam wrote: »
    Endurance spins are good but don't forget your skills sessions either, which involves some very repetitive stuff...

These are from yesterday

320484.png

320485.png

320486.png

Jaysus...what do your skills sessions involve? dismounting, remounting, running with bike i presume..anything else?

Lots of those, then lots of cornering, practicing your starts, passing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Lots of those, then lots of cornering, practicing your starts, passing...

Etch-a-sketching...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Raam, can we actually join you one day? Just to watch and chat, maybe some practice on the side (without disrupting your training)

Alek wrote: »
    Raam, can we actually join you one day? Just to watch and chat, maybe some practice on the side (without disrupting your training)

Hi Alek,
    I'm sorry but we can't open up the training to non-club members.
    However, the drills we practised are no secret...

1. Cornering
    Cornering as fast as we can around a small circle, where we ride in a line and the last man has to pass all the others on the outside. Do that a few times in one direction then repeat in the other. That is from my first image. The circle is probably 10m diameter or something like that. Hold the wheel in front.

2. Dismount Techniques
    step through and step behind
    This vid the lads are all doing step behind: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdRyXQN90Kc
    In this one we can see step through: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2V-cW3lPQk
    The step through can help with maintaining momentum but is a wee bit trickier.
    Practice both a load of times on the straight and while cornering.
    Practice remounting. Loads of vids on youtube.

3. Starting: one foot on the ground, sprint as hard as you can in a straight line into a tight corner. Ease off when you get around the corner and go back to the start. Repeat a few times. Preferably with 3 or 4 of you shoulder to shoulder to mimic the start of a race.

4. Barrier work
    Dismount and jump over the barriers and remount. Start slow and increase your speed. Do one at a time and then shoulder to shoulder. Repeat till death.

5. Slalom
    Set a few cones a couple of meters apart. They don't have to be in a straight line. Slalom through them. Practice tripoding. That is: cornering sharp with one foot out. Handy for slippery conditions when you might need to help keep upright. Repeat till death.

6. 30-30-30
    In a largish triangle course, 30 seconds good effort on the bike on the first part, then dismount at speed and run the next edge with the bike, either shouldered or pushing it, then on the last edge, remount and recover. Repeat till death.

7. Some single track work
    Find some single track and ride it. Hold the wheel in front.

No worries. Thanks a lot for the tips!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,558 ✭✭✭The tax man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,459 ✭✭✭lennymc

I plan on doing some training later on in the week in the park if anyone cares to join me. Possibly Wednesday or Thursday of this week from about 5 - 5.30.
    It will include some technical stuff - slaloms through tress with loose surface as fast as possible, some flat out single track, some mounting and dismounting and running up hills with the bike on yer shoulder, crashing into trees etc.

Which park Lenny?

Also, bit early for me. Can join about 6pm the earliest.

phoenix park. no problem joining in whenever you want - will arrange something close to the time.

I should be free Wednesday from 6pm so i might join yous.

Wednesday 6pm then?

^^^ I don't know yet which day I will be there. Should know tomorrow though.

Ok, either Wed or Thu is fine with me.

right - so lets meet at 6 on Wednesday. Meet on the main road, just beside the zoo. Open invite to everyone.

This is still go for this evening - I was in touch with a couple of people, but, if anyone is planning on turning up let me know in advance via pm if possible, so we will wait for you.

Enjoyed that this evening- Lenny schooled us in the ways of CX

KarateKid_dealership2.jpg

God help you so!

Thanks a lot Lenny, it was fun! Now I can say I'm hooked.

No promised beer handups though? Had to refill later.

KarateKid_dealership2.jpg

wax on, fall off.

enjoyable session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Was good craic. Thanks to Lenny for not laughing :)

Saturday or Sunday, 3pm, at the ZOO, some technical stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

Saturday or Sunday, 3pm, at the ZOO, some technical stuff?

How technical are you talking? Haven't gotten my SPD pedals yet so won't be able to mount or dismount.

I'll be out next week some evening.

Practicing my dismount/clamber back on.

Some bruising and I may not be having any more children.

Haven't gotten my SPD pedals yet so won't be able to mount or dismount.

colm18 is doing very well with dis/remounting and no spd pedals, so I wouldnt worry about this ;) besides we will certainly do some singletrail practice.

How technical are you talking? Haven't gotten my SPD pedals yet so won't be able to mount or dismount.

You will be in the lion enclosure, so quite technical.

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    You will be in the lion enclosure, so quite technical.

I don't know about that...I've heard lions can get quite cross...

colm18 is doing very well with dis/remounting and no spd pedals, so I wouldnt worry about this ;) besides we will certainly do some singletrail practice.

Well anytime Sunday suits me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭StaggerLee

Are there any dates published for the Fixx or North Dublin leagues?

After family negotiations it seems that Sunday is out for me. Anyone for today, 3pm, in the lions enclosure ?

Anyone up for this wednesday, 6 pm?

I'd be up for it.

lennymc wrote: »

Count me in

See yiz there

cool. I might try and make/bring some boards to jump.

Plumbing pipes - cheap and cheerful. Ours are a little more robust than these:
    http://cx.cxmagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/4.jpg

anyone know offhand what height the boards are? I think they are 45 cm iirc

edit - 40 cm

anyone know offhand what height the boards are? I think they are 45 cm iirc

max 40cm according to this: http://www.uci.ch/mm/Document/News/Rulesandregulation/16/61/43/5CRO-E-16062014_English.pdf

I'm in.

cx bike 1 - Lenny 0.

Coming down a descent the seat post broke stabbing me in the leg and stomach. Also somehow managed to cut my hand, then tried to convince Alek that I had just lost a finger. All very dramatic but good fun.

And you did for a second ;-)

Jinxed ride - two snakebites and the seatpost in an hour... loads of fun though!

I was considering shaving the derailleur off the grass beard at home.

I leave yiz alone for one night.....

Pics...

Pics...

I believe Alek took some...