Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

mada999 wrote: »
    in Cork tonight... anyone know a good bar to watch the match in?

If you like your beers it might be worth going to the Rising Sons, new place do their own beers and pizza and they have a fairly massive projector, along with a good few TV's up and down the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

The Rising Sons Brewery has loads of screens. It's next to TK Max

Edit: snap, mayordenis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

This is the rumoured team tonight

Mignolet
    Johnson---Skrtel---Lovren---Moreno
    Gerrard

Henderson
    Allen

Coutinho

Balotelli---Sterling

I like the look of that team & I think Sterling could be a very good option up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,296 ✭✭✭✭rob316

GavRedKing wrote: »
    City or suburb?

There all the bigger and better places to go, theres an LFC supporters Bar but not sure where it is, a Google off it might help.

It was Brannigans on Pine St, off Patricks Hill, the official one is Cashmans on Academy/Paul Street now.

Couldn't tell ya what its like to watch a match in there, I never liked Brannigan's though, full to the brim with scumbags.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

MD1990 wrote: »
    This is the rumoured team tonight

Mignolet
    Gerrard

Henderson
    Allen

Coutinho

Balotelli---Sterling

I like the look of that team & I think Sterling could be a very good option up front.

For some strange reason I think we will see this lineup:

Mignolet
    Henderson
    Allen
    Coutinho
    Gerrard----Sterling
    Balotelli

I think Gerrard further forward with Allen and Hendo behind him is the way to go.

jonny24ie wrote: »
    For some strange reason I think we will see this lineup:

Mignolet
    Henderson
    Allen
    Coutinho
    Gerrard----Sterling
    Balotelli

I think Gerrard further forward with Allen and Hendo behind him is the way to go.
    Doubt it. We don't play well in a 4-2-3-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,296 ✭✭✭✭rob316

MD1990 wrote: »
    Doubt it. We don't play well in a 4-2-3-1.

I think the issue was playing it with Gerrard in the holding role he and his partner played far too deep and offered nothing. Allen and Henderson deep would be a lot more mobile and offer a lot more protection to the defence.

rob316 wrote: »
    I think the issue was playing it with Gerrard in the holding role he and his partner played far too deep and offered nothing. Allen and Henderson deep would be a lot more mobile and offer a lot more protection to the defence.
    Henderson is wasted playing deep. He needs to be allowed to play box to box. Allen being back alongside Gerrard could work though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

GavRedKing wrote: »
    City or suburb?

If its the City you've got the below for example,

Woolshed, has a few screens, good grub too.
    Reardons, has 3 huge screens, you can get food, never had it though.
    Soho, 1 huge screen, good food too.
    Old oak, 1 huge screen, dont do food, I'm sure.

There all the bigger and better places to go, theres an LFC supporters Bar but not sure where it is, a Google off it might help.
    mayordenis wrote: »
    If you like your beers it might be worth going to the Rising Sons, new place do their own beers and pizza and they have a fairly massive projector, along with a good few TV's up and down the bar.
    brevity wrote: »
    The Rising Sons Brewery has loads of screens. It's next to TK Max

Edit: snap, mayordenis

Cheers lads, staying in the silversprings, if they don't show it i might venture out to the city!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Maybe the version that plays for Portugal will show up.

Now the real season begins. Missed you bro, the bantz hasn't been the same.

Cheers lads, staying in the silversprings, if they don't show it i might venture out to the city!

Go to the rising sons brewery and stop off at TK-Max first, then you can do a you by you and watch the pool do a pool by pool.

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭paulieeye

Preachers on washington street is a big liverpool pub. It'll be quality tonight

paulieeye wrote: »

Guy that owns it is a son of a preacher...

/bye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

If you left now you would be in Dublin in plenty of time for the match !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Guy that owns it is a son of a preacher...

/bye

And don't effing come back, don't even look back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Liverpool FC @LFC
    #LFC U19s team to face Real Madrid: Fulton, Whelan, Maguire, Cleary, Brewitt, Rossiter, Wilson, Phillips, Sinclair, Brannagan, Kent.

#LFC U19s substitutes for the UEFA Youth League tie: Canos, Firth, O’Hanlon, Marsh, Alexander, Lewis, Ejaria.

Sinclair should have done so much better there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

TBH ,result not too important to me ,would just love to see a decent performance from the team.
    If we can take it to Real like we did first half against City ,that might be what we need to turn the season around.

I want to see Boroni play ,he has not been given any where like the chance Mario has ,and there is zero doubt on the effort he will put in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭NEDDURC

I personally think Madrid can be got at tonight.

Would like to us our blitz first 20 mins from last year back and an early Balotelli goal!! Would be a great watch after that.

In the U19s Real are being dominated by Liverpool, two or three decent chances carved out, the Real No 4 has given away two earl fouls. Wilson going close

Wilson again! So close. Great game

LIVERRPOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

cracking game so far 2-0 !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,504 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Where's the U19's game on lads? TV or stream?

Stream use googling skillz

Liverpool have another chance to score from dead ball

2-0!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Livepoooooooooooooooooooooooooooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll! :D

Wilson is killing Madrid single handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

for the first time i just looked in on one of the youth games. first thing i see is the worst penalty ever taken. :rolleyes:

Bah!

Real Madrid upped their game a sustained period of pressure and now a peno.

Shockingly missed! :pac:

Still 2-0

BTW it could easily be 4 - 0 to Liverpool, they missed a couple of fine chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

paulieeye wrote: »

Forgot about Preachers, but its bloody tiny.

I'd say the bar in Silver Springs will show it alright, if not you're only a few mins from the City and theres plenty of choices.

HT 2-0 probably ought to be 4-2 on chances created. Terrific helter skelter stuff as usual from the kids, relentless pace which is bound to catch up with the home side. Luckily Canos can come on though. Not sure why Ojo isn't in this he'd be perfect against Madrid today.

Bollox - 2-1 sloppy at the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Daemonic

HT 2-0 probably ought to be 4-2 on chances created. Terrific helter skelter stuff as usual from the kids, relentless pace which is bound to catch up with the home side. Luckily Canos can come on though. Not sure why Ojo isn't in this he'd be perfect against Madrid today.

Bollox - 2-1 sloppy at the back.
    Good to see consistency throughout the teams at all age levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Daemonic wrote: »
    Good to see consistency throughout the teams at all age levels.

We are pretty much shocking at the back at all ages. Even when we score 4, we concede 1 or 2.

2-2 now, all going tits up. I suspect the game tonight will be like this if Liverpool start well.

Liverpools HT sub the No 12 is pish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

2-2 now, all going tits up. I suspect the game tonight will be like this if Liverpool start well.

Liverpool to get an own goal winner in the 93rd minute.

That's the new signing from Arsenal, Ejaria. He's only 16, to be fair...

Dickerty wrote: »
    That's the new signing from Arsenal, Ejaria. He's only 16, to be fair...

16? What's he doing in this game I wonder. He looks every inch an ex Gunner. Jogging about, no snap, no pace, no pressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

16? What's he doing in this game I wonder. He looks every inch an ex Gunner. Jogging about, no snap, no pace, no pressing.

I'd find that funny if I wasn't a reformed character.

Wilson scores. 87th minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Get in lad!

Sure Phillips is 16 as well, and Rossiter only 17 and a bit.
    If you are good enough...

Dickerty wrote: »
    Sure Phillips is 16 as well, and Rossiter only 17 and a bit.
    If you are good enough...

Sure but he's brand new to the squad the rest know each others game inside out - he looked a bit like a spare part most of the time. His play was not integrated much at all.

Anyway FT 3-2 Wilson, Phillips and Rossiter the stars of the show today. Sinclair did pretty well foraging as well.

Sounds like Rossiter instrumental in that goal.
    The lad is pure class, needs to be in the regular first team squad from next season.
    Replacement for Stevie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Sakho out for another 10 days according to himself on twitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Turtyturd wrote: »
    I'd find that funny if I wasn't a reformed character.

And they say prison doesn't reform charachter;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Any yokes bud?

sq382b.jpg

Delighted to see Arbeloa start, for more reasons than one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Meh we'll beat them at Old Trafford.

Basel are a man down away to Ludo. Bit of good news for us at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,930 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Rodgers needs to bite the bullet and hire a proper defencive coach and admit he doesn't know how to coach defenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Mignolet is more of a liability than any other player on our books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Sakhos fault tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Rodgers needs to bite the bullet and hire a proper defencive coach and admit he doesn't know how to coach defenders.

He'll take Couthino off and that will sort everything out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Great finish from Ronaldo but I don't think it's unfair to say that all 3 goals were caused by the usual dicking about at the back. So frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Match thread is an utter cesspit. Our performance isn't much better. Hard to be too critical though, this Madrid team would spank nearly every other team on the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Pathetic.
    Henderson awful. Again. Yet gets **** all stick.