Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

For Villa I'd go.....

_____________________Mignolet_______________________

Manquillo__________Lovren_________Sakho_______________Moreno

_______________________Gerrard________________________

_______________Hendo____________Lallana_______________

______________________Coutinho________________________

________________Sterling________Balotelli_____________

Villa have played us off the park the last 2 years, I'd hope with Hendo and Lallana in there that they will get in amongst their midfielders and not let them walk through us again, I'm very nervous about this game, even with the team I picked there is a lot of question marks, it'd be Lallana's first game, Balo only settling in, Sterling playing up top etc etc.... I can see it being a bit of a nail biter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

MD1990 wrote: »
    For Villa I would go

______________Mignolet______________
    Manquillo___Lovren____Sakho___Moreno
    _____________Gerrard_______________
    _____Henderson_______Allen_________
    ______________Lallana_______________
    _________Balotelli______Sterling_______

& Ludagorets

____________Mignolet______________
    _______________Can_______________
    _____Henderson_______Coutinho_________
    ____________Markovic_______________
    _________Balotelli_____Borini/Lambert___

I would do similar except perhaps give Hendo the night off against Ludo and play Llama in both matches, also would give Skittles a shake against Ludo.

Good shout to include Laser but would have him as left sided attacker against Ludo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

For Villa I'd go.....

_____________________Mignolet_______________________

Manquillo__________Lovren_________Sakho_______________Moreno

_______________________Gerrard________________________

_______________Hendo____________Lallana_______________

______________________Coutinho________________________

________________Sterling________Balotelli_____________

Villa have played us off the park the last 2 years, I'd hope with Hendo and Lallana in there that they will get in amongst their midfielders and not let them walk through us again, I'm very nervous about this game, even with the team I picked there is a lot of question marks, it'd be Lallana's first game, Balo only settling in, Sterling playing up top etc etc.... I can see it being a bit of a nail biter.

I don't think Allen deserves to be dropped but I suppose Lallana offers more in an attacking sense.

Harsh on Allen all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Disappointed Redspider didnt get a mention in with those who have fallen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Read garra's post in isolation, and was staring at if for almost about 30 seconds, thinking, "Who the hell is Ludo?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Knex. wrote: »
    And missspell it.

*Ahem* BorneTobyWilde

Was he the guy who posted in Haiku format?

Augmerson wrote: »

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Hefferboi was the best of all. Best looking poster with the best footballing insight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

hefferboi wrote: »
    Hefferboi was the best of all. Best looking poster with the best footballing insight.

I've seen a pic and can confirm he is a ride. Almost as rideable as Emre Can, and that is saying something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Heh heh.

Really enjoyed those last few pages. I miss a lot of those names too. Felt like I stopped reading for a few months and they all disappeared at once or something, though I imagine it was drips and drabs and I just didn't notice. Mike65 used to always say interesting things though.

Also LOVED the random bit of knowledge about Raif. Brilliant to be reading your posts for years and not have that bit of basic knowledge. Just don't get surprises like that on twitter ;)!

Shame we got left with the lesser, lower case 'h', hefferboi, then. :(

An impressive specimen in his own right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Augmerson wrote: »
    He wrote from the heart,
    words they flowed like a river,
    now his throats gone dry.

Never liked him...full of himself.

Fifa 15 leaked liverpool ratings;
    Sturridge 84
    Gerrard 84
    Lallana 83
    Sterling 80
    Skrtel 82
    Sakho 82
    Mignolet 82
    Agger 80
    Johnson 85

Sterling getting a bit rode

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Sturridge 84
    Gerrard 84
    Lallana 83
    Sterling 80
    Skrtel 82
    Sakho 82
    Mignolet 82
    Agger 80
    Johnson 85

JOHNSON 85?????
    WTF
    70 and that's being generous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Sturridge 84
    Gerrard 84
    Lallana 83
    Sterling 80
    Skrtel 82
    Sakho 82
    Mignolet 82
    Agger 80
    Johnson 85

Who is this "Johnson 85" lad?

It must be a retro team, and they meant Craig Johnston who played in 85.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Dont know why but this thread this evenin reminded of this wonderful passage in The Naked Gun 2 1/2....

Lt. Frank Drebin: Hector Savage. From Detroit. Ex-boxer. His real name was Joey Chicago.
    Ed Hocken: Oh, yeah. He fought under the name of Kid Minneapolis.
    Nordberg: I saw Kid Minneapolis fight once. In Cincinnati.
    Lt. Frank Drebin: No you're thinking of Kid New York. He fought out of Philly.
    Ed Hocken: He was killed in the ring in Houston. By Tex Colorado. You know, the Arizona Assassin.
    Nordberg: Yeah, from Dakota. I don't remember it was North or South.
    Lt. Frank Drebin: North. South Dakota was his brother. From West Virginia.
    Ed Hocken: You sure know your boxing.
    Lt. Frank Drebin: All I know is never bet on the white guy.
    [Nordberg nods in agreement]

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

Good for him. I admire his determination. Would love nothing more than for him to succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

This thread is on fire tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,930 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Sturridge 84
    Gerrard 84
    Lallana 83
    Sterling 80
    Skrtel 82
    Sakho 82
    Mignolet 82
    Agger 80
    Johnson 85

Enrique not even listed and he is the god of FIFA :mad:

Its the new "John 3:16"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I hope someday all the people out there who have contributed to these threads, the long-time posters who are not around now, I hope they come back. And everybody who chips in now and again but has a busy schedule aka life. And everybody just has a nice time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Johnson 85

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQnVTwhUN-HpSTVRo0w4Xbg2Ew-vNQ9gylAvMbLSsQUe4svWv60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Johnson jumps 7 points?

Ha ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Sturridge 84
    Gerrard 84
    Lallana 83
    Sterling 80
    Skrtel 82
    Sakho 82
    Mignolet 82
    Agger 80
    Johnson 85

I have never played this consol game and I still know Johnson is 20 points above his grade.
    x43r0 wrote: »
    This thread is on fire tonight

It deserved to be burnt to the ground.

edit - just scanned that Borini piece. Hmm he's winning me round, that he is on the CL squad list suggests he has a chance to impress Rodgers.

I've been meaning to post this for ages, and what the heck, now seems like the right time.

Spotted a guy wearing this tee when I was at Indiependence Festival last month, so had to make him stop for a photo.

Happy Panda Poster Memorial Day, guys.

YFQi5sK.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

People actually believing that post about Johnson.....

giphy.gif

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Disappointed Redspider didnt get a mention in with those who have fallen

Ah in fairness there are probably 2 reasons for that.

1. He jumped ship once match talk was banned from the superthread, and wasn't banned I believe.
    2. He was probably before the time of a lot of those discussing.

I'm sure there are loads of others.

Back in the days of 1 superthread per season I did this list up of top posters. Some names here unfamiliar to many now I'd say.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72796034&postcount=86

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

5starpool wrote: »

1. He jumped ship once match talk was banned from the superthread, and wasn't banned I believe.

Back in the days of 1 superthread per season I did this list up of top posters. Some names here unfamiliar to many now I'd say.

Alot of posts in the 10/11 season . Shows u the mayhem that happened in that season.

Mike two posts off the 6k. Typical.

I'll never forgive him for closing his account on the number that he did, either. 10 more posts, for feck sake.

Curiosity gnawing away at me - what happened to him?!

Had a melt down, lost his mind, and now only answers to the name, 'Arry.

He thinks he's 30 again, as well. Has better internet though.

He reinvented himself as a Michael Caine character.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

If only he were still around. I guess we'll never know! At least someone else has stepped up to the plate to talk about not celebrating Suarez's goals and update on loans, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,930 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

harry-redknapp-ive-got-appetite-premier-league.jpg

Had a melt down, lost his mind, and now only answers to the name, 'Arry.

He thinks he's 30 again, as well. Has better internet though.

Ha. Gotcha. Cool. The linked thread reminds me I enjoyed Leiva's contributions too, who now seems to be gone a year +. He's not banned, so presume I'm okay to mention him :-/

redzerdrog wrote: »
    ...... those who have fallen

Absent friends.

At least ye have new folk :D

I'd keep Allen in the team for Villa, can't see Sterling being rested and I don't think Coutinho has done enough to keep his place........

I'm in agreement with this......
    MD1990 wrote: »
    For Villa I would go

______________Mignolet______________
    _____________Gerrard_______________
    _____Henderson_______Allen_________
    ______________Lallana_______________
    _________Balotelli______Sterling_______

But would like to see Sterling getting some rest time after the internationals. It's steel we need against Villa, would love to see Lambert go at them and despite not being a good pairing with Balotelli on paper I reckon it might well work a treat :)

If only he were still around. I guess we'll never know! At least someone else has stepped up to the plate to talk about not celebrating Suarez's goals and update on loans, etc.

And the kids, he loved talking about the kids ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Raif Severance

He reinvented himself as a Michael Caine character.

I didn't know that. I only knew Michael Caine when he was already Old. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Who was the guy who posted "inside" information on the transfer? Good times before twitter ruined it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,042 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Who was the guy who posted "inside" information on the transfer? Good times before twitter ruined it.

Bannor...actually did seem to have some connections within the club alright.

Just got fed up with being questioned to death each and every time he said anything, so stopped posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I didn't know that. I only knew Michael Caine when he was already Old. :D

"Not a lot of people know that"

Put away the fishing rod heff.

Johnson should be a solid 26 on the next fifa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Sturridge might be fit for the weekend so it seems the injury is not as bad as first feared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Pighead wrote: »
    He wrote from the heart,
    words they flowed like a river,
    now his throats gone dry.

Always post with care
    Kess is watching ev-ery-thing
    With a stack of cards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

You are the second Asian American that I know of that has posted in this forum. You aren't as notorious as the previous one was.

So I guess I'll be a surprise then...

My father was a relentlessly self-improving boulangerie owner from Belgium with low grade narcolepsy and a penchant for buggery. My mother was a fifteen year old French prostitute named Chloe with webbed feet. My father would womanize, he would drink, he would make outrageous claims like he invented the question mark. Some times he would accuse chestnuts of being lazy, the sort of general malaise that only the genius possess and the insane lament.
    My childhood was typical, summers in Rangoon, luge lessons. In the spring we'd make meat helmets. When I was insolent I was placed in a burlap bag and beaten with reeds, pretty standard really. At the age of 12 I received my first scribe. At the age of fourteen, a Zoroastrian named Vilma ritualistically shaved my testicles. There really is nothing like a shorn scrotum, it's breathtaking, I suggest you try it.

And I bet I am STILL not the first on here... :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Soldie

I presume this is mike BTW: https://profile.theguardian.com/user/id/2682700

For those of you who miss him, ya know. ;)