Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

A penalty shout out is usually a no lose situation for a keeper. Mignolet though was terrible in the shoot out.

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭hadoken13

kfallon wrote: »
    The 2 keepers are brutal :pac:

Brutal - I've said for the last couple of years that Mignolet is sh1t - no confidence, never claims balls, always nervy.
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Where did our ability to be clinical go?

I know, they have no attacking intent anymore, we used to blow teams away in the first half, now we are lucky to get a one goal lead.
    Through but you'd have to be worried by how the team is playing. If anything the defence looks worse than it did last season.

Playing sh1t, really sh1t. Defence is terrible - they are all making simple mistakes and are all as nervous as f*$k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Well, its hard to know where to start with that barrel of sh1te.

I think Rodgers is going to have to go back to basics. Football Camp - Hard training, square bashing, meat and potatoes, no conjugal rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

We are in the biggest of trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,937 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

That was our 14th shootout 12 wins and 2 losses.

Both losses have come in the league cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Is Suso definitely gone in Jan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Grayditch wrote: »

Everton have a habit of kick starting our season sometimes.

They are even worse than us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Watching post match there mignolet is so shy and timid, 17 year old jordan oozes confidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Bodes well for the weekend, will surely go out and hammer Everton now. Absolutely no doubt we'll be all guns blazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Well, its hard to know where to start with that barrel of sh1te.

I think Rodgers is going to have to go back to basics. Football Camp - Hard training, square bashing, meat and potatoes, no conjugal rights.

To be fair did we not struggle to beat Notts County in our first LC game last season?

I'll not place much importance on tonight, roll on Saturday and the return of 'The Studge' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Mignolet needs competition, he hasn't been at the races at all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

kfallon wrote: »
    To be fair did we not struggle to beat Notts County in our first LC game last season?

I'll not place much importance on tonight, roll on Saturday and the return of 'The Studge' :D

You might not place much importance on tonight in of itself, but the issue is that it fits nicely with our trend of performances thus far this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭rob316

So much needed goals for the Kop end. Remember that lads that's where the ball needs to go against Everton.

Hope to christ Danny is back Saturday we are toothless without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I really don't see why.

Even at the best of times we've performed ****e against lower league teams in the domestic cups more often than not.

These games have very little bearing on where the team is at.

My only ongoing concern is Rodgers sticking with one striker in too many games. Oh, and set pieces too.

Particularly with Lambert, he's far too slow for the way we want to play as the lone striker.

Didn't think the performance was too bad on the whole though. It's not like they're some non-league ****heap where we can just turn up with half a 2nd string side and just walk over them.

We weren't outplayed and we didn't give away loads of chances - it would've been a pretty straight forward 2-1 win if Sterling didn't start looking a bit tired and give the ball away a couple of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Paul Tomkins has a new book out tomorrow about Liverpools epic penalty shootout win over Middlesborough. "Dare to Score"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,890 ✭✭✭✭klose

Still lots of work to be done but happy to be through, peno shootout is always fun. Good day/night for the academy, 2 debuts and 2 graduates on the scoresheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

I'd bite the bullet and go with brad jones Saturday if anything it will give mig a kick up the hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

klose wrote: »
    Still lots of work to be done but happy to be through, peno shootout is always fun. Good day/night for the academy, 2 debuts and 2 graduates on the scoresheet.

I'm looking forward to the 2016-17 season already!.

Ibe, Teixeira, Smth, Ilori, Origi, Rossiter, Ojo, Yesil, Kent, Wilson, Sinclair, Canos all could have looked at home in tonights side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Scored 16 times tonight and we were still shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Delighted for our academy players.

But I am absolutely dreading the champions league games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'd bite the bullet and go with brad jones Saturday if anything it will give mig a kick up the hole

Ah here.....

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Scored 16 times tonight and we were still shite.

Mig has conceded 23 goals in 6 matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Only positives out of that for me were Lallana and Enrique from the senior players. Sterling was decent too but clearly missing Sturridge to link with.

The debutants did well also.

Mig has conceded 23 goals in 6 matches

Even more worrying was how 13 of them were in the space of 15-20 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Need to move away from this 'you score 15, we score 16' attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

The Everton game could finish 5-4 to either side.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

That was our 14th shootout 12 wins and 2 losses.

Both losses have come in the league cup.

Wimbledon and Northampton (formidable opponents) if memory serves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Valdes will get in the team drunk the way Mignolet has performed lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Valdes will get in the team drunk the way Mignolet has performed lately

I would pay to see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

I wouldn't go that far, we won, can take some positives from Suso, Lallana and our debut players. I'd rather be in our position than Everton's, Arsenal's or Uniteds. There is certainly work to be done in our defense, and hopefully we won't see Toure again. Also keep in mind that we still haven't played our best team this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

tok9 wrote: »
    Could I get a bit more Suso this season please?

Seriously though what does Markovic do? I thought he was a pacey winger but he didn't really try to beat anyone. Had some nice touches.. an awful lot of passes back and 2 great opportunities to shoot where he decided to pass.

I've no problem giving him time but I'm just a little confused at what I'm watching.

He tried pushing the ball past their defenders but then didn't have the pace or power to beat them to it. Am hoping he develops significantly in the next year and learns from Llalanna & Sterling, for the sake of the Transfer Commitee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Vicxas wrote: »
    Delighted for our academy players.

But I am absolutely dreading the champions league games.

Same here . Between the Lodo game and this Boro game we got outta jail .
    Better teams will tear our defense to pieces . I hope it's a case of we can only get better , surly we cant play any worse , can we ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,954 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I'll be a lot more confident once Sturridge comes back. Him and Balotelli have only played one game together but it was our best game this season. Our best attack is definitely those two up top with Sterling in behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

what has rodgers got against suso exactly?

the kid showed more in the few minutes on the pitch than the majority of the players he has put out this season and yet he can't even get a start in a league cup game, baffling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Loved joey batons tweet

" has mingolet got hands under them gloves"

Some great penalty's loved both ballotellis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

I dont think we played badly tonight. Obviously we were far from our best and lacked a bit of cutting edge up front, but it was our best performance since the spurs game. The cause for concern from tonight was our inability to see the game out. We have absolutely no composure to control a game at the moment.

Lalanna played very well again tonight
    Look forward to when's he's fully fit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Sooner or Later

Patchy performance

Epic penalty shootout

Not sure what we can take from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Mario Balotelli's penalty taking reminds me of how Clayton Kershaw pitches, that little jerking motion near the end to put the keeper off, very effective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Lambert was terrible tonight. Too slow for us. Lallana,Enrique & Sterling all did well. Rossiter & Wiliams too did well. We need a confidence boosting win on saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

rossie1977 wrote: »
    what has rodgers got against suso exactly?

the kid showed more in the few minutes on the pitch than the majority of the players he has put out this season and yet he can't even get a start in a league cup game, baffling.

Suso might have a good agent.

Us supporters dont always have the ITK info

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I thought Mingolet was actually okay for the 120 minutes. Poor penalty shoot-out though.

mightyreds wrote: »
    Loved joey batons tweet

" has mingolet got hands under them gloves"

Some great penalty's loved both ballotellis

Here is another on Balotelli tonight.

https://twitter.com/Joey7Barton/status/514512322464071680

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

MD1990 wrote: »
    Lambert was terrible tonight. Too slow for us. Lallana,Enrique & Sterling all did well. Rossiter & Wiliams too did well. We need a confidence boosting win on saturday.

It's down to Rodgers to build a team to win the game.
    It's no more Lambert's fault than it's Suso's fault that he's not taller.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

Its a shame if suso is leaving. Di marzio has been reporting it as though its signed and sealed, dont know how reliable he is but I hope hes wrong. Looked very good in his cameo tonight, Im not sure if ever watched him and not been impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Sky sports1 has a good program on now about Liverpool from the 80s

The best peno was kolos where he just toe pocked it, none of that placement sh!te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Someone remind me how much we paid for Markovich?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Y2KBOS86

He has a point.

Balotelli is a long long way from world class.