Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,667 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

gafferino wrote: »
    Derby hairdooooooooo

Mario.PNG
    Brendão wrote: »
    He should have just gotten a Liverbird shaved in either side for the derby.

He did :)

Mario Balotelli gets the Liver bird shaved into his head as he prepares for Saturday's Merseyside derby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,424 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,346 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Vicxas wrote: »
    Conflicting reports about sturridge. Sky has him back. Where as a few other places have him ruled out.

Could use him second half against Everton.

I'd start him then take him off on the 60 mark regardless of score. If he's fit enough to be in the squad go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

This chap is really growing on me

just needs to start banging a few in

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

TechnoPool wrote: »
    just needs to start banging a few in

and scoring goals :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I dont think i have seen Balotelli run/sprint for us yet.

Is this just an indication of how deep teams are sitting against us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,424 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

naughtb4 wrote: »
    I dont think i have seen Balotelli run/sprint for us yet.

Is this just an indication of how deep teams are sitting against us

Hes not a sprinter, hes a jogging shooting machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

apparently David N'gog is missing/AWOL:
    Nobody Has Seen Former Liverpool Striker David N’Gog For Six Days
    Former Liverpool striker David N’Gog has gone missing and has not been seen by anyone in over 6 days.

N’Gog rang his new club Reims on Saturday to let them know he would not be travelling to play against FC Lorient. The club sent a doctor to the player’s hotel room, as is standard practice. The doctor diagnosed him with gastroenteritis and after his visit, N’Gog disappeared.

The hotel staff tried several times to call his room but failed to get an answer. There was no sign of N’Gog or any of his personal belongings when they checked the room earlier this week. His whereabouts are unknown.
    http://balls.ie/football/nobody-seen-former-liverpool-striker-david-ngog-six-days/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I had all the jokes written for that instantly, but nah, that could be something serious. Odd one, that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,422 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Hope he's okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

BMJD wrote: »

Sounds like most of his matches at anfield.

Is he missing from his family or just awol from club?

I'd imagine it's the latter? Hope so anyway

Nice goal against utd, great lad hope he is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It looks like the days of watching U18 and U21 games are over. LFCtv is dropping live matches due to costs if this is to be believed

http://www.reddit.com/r/LiverpoolFC/comments/2hgbeu/match_thread_lfc_u21_vs_mcfc_u21/

• Subscribers Posts: 32,856 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

It looks like the days of watching U18 and U21 games are over. LFCtv is dropping live matches due to costs if this is to be believed

http://www.reddit.com/r/LiverpoolFC/comments/2hgbeu/match_thread_lfc_u21_vs_mcfc_u21/

Well that's pathetic. Shows the actual priority of fans needs. All we are then is purely a revenue source. Might as well drop the whole TV channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

5starpool wrote: »
    Well that's pathetic. Shows the actual priority of fans needs. All we are then is purely a revenue source. Might as well drop the whole TV channel.

Might mean more fans actually going to the games though, kind of like not showing 3pm PL games on tv live was originally for that reason

• Subscribers Posts: 32,856 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

8-10 wrote: »
    Might mean more fans actually going to the games though, kind of like not showing 3pm PL games on tv live was originally for that reason

Very little I'd say, and if that was actually the reason at least it would make some sort of sense in a way, but it's nothing to do with that.

Does anyone know how you get entry to Anfield if you forget your fancard?

Do they issue you a paper ticket or whats the process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Does anyone know how you get entry to Anfield if you forget your fancard?

Do they issue you a paper ticket or whats the process?

Yeah, just go to the ticket office before game with proof of ID and membership number. They'll issue you with a paper ticket.

What's if it's not you but a mate going to the game on your card?

I'd imagine you might have to get him to call you from the office and you can confirm details over the phone....not sure if that would work, try calling ahead and ask the question, give them the heads up that he'll be showing up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Might still be ok, they aren't too strict in my experience. Just bring as much info (receipts, ticket confirmation etc) as you can. Maybe call ahead too, as above

Cheers lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Sounds like most of his matches at anfield.

Not at the standard we needed for sure. Despite lacking quality he scored more goals for LFC than Andy Carroll and Stewart Downing combined.

Not bad for a lad we picked up for 1.5m and sold on for 4m.

A mate eh? :)

There's a thread on IK as well that might be able to help. Would be interested if I could get over but not feasible. I'm still monitoring the ticket threads in the hope of a ticket for Wednesday. Thought there were more released today but I called up too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,199 ✭✭✭mosstin

Been clamping down on this in recent years is my experience. Might be ok but if I was yr mate, I'd be slightly nervous. Our local supporters club has tried to outlaw this completely. Everyone does it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,607 ✭✭✭brevity

Oh to be a rich footballer...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

brevity wrote: »
    Oh to be a rich footballer...

I know plenty of non- rich footballers who've don't that at some point :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Tiago Ilori in action against some French side, cannot embed it due to copyright malarky.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C8cBClzrups&feature=player_embedded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,799 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I was undecided on Mario but I said you know what, feck it.

He might grow up, he might work hard for team and his goals might outweigh his daft attitude.

The club knows best, what's the worst that could happen.

Still early in his Liverpools career but I'm always thinking Why Mario, Why always you.

We've all worked a with similar type of character and it never really ends well.

He'll probably score a couple in the Derby:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,112 ✭✭✭mada999

This chap is really growing on me

Mario will be fine for us :)
    Harmless fun, nice lad etc etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

So then. No match today to chat about?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

K-9 wrote: »
    So then. No match today to chat about?

I think everyone is off gathering supplies for when they are hiding behind the couch :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Must say I'm very confident that we will be right at it today. I think the switch to 4-2-3-1 is absolutely necessary defensively. I don't think we will be as exciting to watch but hopefully we will be better all round. Balotelli to score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Comfortable 5 - nil to Liverpool today. I'm so confident I'm putting them in my double with Southampton. :cool:

a €3 double

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Spook80

Have a feeling Gerrard will have a motm performance to silence the critics especially since its Everton. I'd like to see Suso start ahead of Markovic with Markovic competing from the bench for a while.
    I'm unsure how I'd like to see our defence line out. Reintroduce Skrtel or give Lovren and Sakho time to develop a long term partnership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,964 ✭✭✭✭klose

I take it sakho is injured as he's not on the bench today?

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

BBC.....

Liverpool start with Lazar Markovic, Mario Balotelli and Adam Lallana but there's no Daniel Sturridge in the squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

Might have been common knowledge but I didn't know Coleman was injured, that's handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

klose wrote: »
    I take it sakho is injured as he's not on the bench today?

Dropped I'd say for Toure, who can cover right back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,737 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Fescue wrote: »
    Dropped I'd say for Toure, who can cover right back.

There's even more accident-prone that Sakho is.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Ridiculous no Sakho in the squad:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

Surprised sakho didn't make the squad. Either he's injured, he's out coz toure covers right back, or else Rodgers is giving up on him for the time being. Id say it's the toure thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

Also disappointed to see Lambert make the bench ahead of borini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,046 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Rossiter and Williams warming up with the squad today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Should have got it over the wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Not convinced Markovic is quite ready for these sorts of games.

He's looked relatively neat and tidy but he's seemed to play within himself a little bit. Not sure is that him being sensible or whether he'd be better off trying things and failing.

Mind you, we don't have buckets of options today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,132 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I think Markovic needs to go on the same bulking up and work out programme that Sterling started about this time last season.