Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mortgage query - can banks do this?

Options
  • 30-08-2014 10:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20

So myself and my other half applied for a mortgage about 8 weeks ago with BOI. He is permanent and in full time employment, I am a teacher (post primary) and unemployed but i sub casually. We inherited a house two years ago and everything to do with that was paid off etc etc. It doesn't suit us to live here anymore space wise as we have kids and so looked to move and applied for an average mortgage.

So we applied not having a house in mind and then a house came up that we did want. All relevant forms were filled correctly and accepted by the bank- the salary certs for both of us were cleared and accepted and mortgage offer was made with no outstanding criteria.

Of course went to solicitor got the ball rolling and went sale agreed on the property. Bank said we didnt have to sell current house so wrote it down as an investment.