Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Picket on Taoiseachs office from tomorrow morning

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

I think I can post photos now so....

Self explanatory titles except for "Fadianphoto", Tom Fadian (far right) is the previous IFA Hill Chairman.

Will just pick a few interesting ones.

Michael John King celebrated his 87th birthday on the Tuesday before the picket began, and again on the Wednesday of the picket :D He was on his feet from 11am until 5pm, never sat down, never took a lunch break.

PicketDay3. A 40 strong bus load of Donegal hill & commonage farmers travel down to Castlebar to support the scheduled picketers.

Luke "Ming" Flanagan MEP joins picketers outside of Enda Kennys office.

Paddy Armstrong 87, with daughter in law and son.

Achill Farmers picketing, including Tom Fadian former IFA HC Chairman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Will just pick a few interesting ones.

Michael John King celebrated his 87th birthday on the Tuesday before the picket began, and again on the Wednesday of the picket :D He was on his feet from 11am until 5pm, never sat down, never took a lunch break.

PicketDay3. A 40 strong bus load of Donegal hill & commonage farmers travel down to Castlebar to support the scheduled picketers.

Luke "Ming" Flanagan MEP joins picketers outside of Enda Kennys office.

Paddy Armstrong 87, with daughter in law and son.

Achill Farmers picketing, including Tom Fadian former IFA HC Chairman.

I think we ventured into the west today, did we come in under the radar, or was there peace declared
    or was it that balina......wait
    Must've been, it was on Midwestern radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭jjf1974

rangler1 wrote: »
    I think we ventured into the west today, did we come in under the radar, or was there peace declared
    or was it that balina......wait
    Must've been, it was on Midwestern radio

Think you were in Ballina;)

did we come in under the radar

Was someone looking for ye :confused:

WEREN'T WE BRAVE:cool:

No.

Day 10 Connemara.

A photo WAS supposed to attach to that post above, so lets try it again...

Day 10 Connemara!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Has Edna made an appearance there yet?

tanko wrote: »
    Has Edna made an appearance there yet?

Not yet, however we do know it is bothering him ;)

Very simple solution anytime he wants us gone :)

Bantry meeting Monday night @ 8.30pm.

EU meeting in 11 days time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

How ya know its getting to him

Reggie. wrote: »
    How ya know its getting to him

Everyone knows everyone in this country ;)

This is true

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

You know the theory of the Six Degrees of Separation ?

In Ireland, it's probably only 3 or 4. :)

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Fair fcuking play to ye. Spose he thought ye would be gone after a few hours all happy with yerselfs.

Is the bantry meeting exclusively on collective agreements?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

greysides wrote: »
    You know the theory of the Six Degrees of Separation ?

In Ireland, it's probably only 3 or 4. :)
    Aah but in this case it is a direct hit :)
    Fair play and well done to lads/lassies who are manning the picket on a daily basis.
    I think disillusioned beef farmers need to take a lesson from them.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Fair fcuking play to ye. Spose he thought ye would be gone after a few hours all happy with yerselfs.

Is the bantry meeting exclusively on collective agreements?

The collective agreement will be the headline issue I'd imagine. Another issue is zero hill/commonage farmer representation on the implementation committee. We saw historically that solutions cannot be dictated on commonages by people who only do desktop exercises without meaningful and substantive consultation of the people who farm that land.

A lot more came up at the westport meeting because people have different views and problems, it will be well worth going to as you will be told the straight facts of what's going on, particularly the implications of what the Department is insisting on. It's never a bad idea to have the full picture.

Forgot to mention the man far left of the photo above stood for election for FG once upon a time.

Base price wrote: »
    Aah but in this case it is a direct hit :)
    Fair play and well done to lads/lassies who are manning the picket on a daily basis.
    I think disillusioned beef farmers need to take a lesson from them.

That's not going to happen,

Cheers for the vote of confidence

There was a fellow boardsie at the picket today :) Me thinking they were for a different part of the country altogether :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Wooly Admirer

70 people in Bantry. No Ming!

Yeah, apparently so, that's very disappointing.

My understanding re Ming was he had accepted invite but conditionally as his wife was near due date, events must have become urgent in that department which is fair enough.

Yeah, apparently so, that's very disappointing.

My understanding re Ming was he had accepted invite but conditionally as his wife was near due date, events must have become urgent in that department which is fair enough.

Some things take presidence

Reggie. wrote: »
    Some things take presidence

Now you hit the nail on the head.

http://www.yourcommonage.ie/2014/09/commonage-crisis.html?m=1

Above is the website of a group of agricultural planners who have written articles on this for the guts of the last two years anyway if not longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Wooly Admirer

The meeting in Bantry last night was not good. The meeting was due to start at 8.30, didn't start until after 9.30. They had over 300 seats lined out, and at 9.30 they stacked 200 of them and took them away.

Eamon O'Cuiv was the main public rep, also present, Michael Healy-Rae, a FG lad, and a representative of a local councilor. B.Joyce and C.O'Donnell spoke very well. O'Cuiv spoke pretty well too, he's obviously done his homework. Having the others there to speak was a complete joke! Half the night listening to a party political broadcast from each of them.

Apart from that it was just an IFA bashing session. Anti IFA lads exchanging views with the pro IFA lads in the room. Very few ideas being put forward, just moaning.

2013 Teagasc profit monitor: Net profit per hill ewe was MINUS €5 per ewe. Not a mention about this!

The meeting in Bantry last night was not good. The meeting was due to start at 8.30, didn't start until after 9.30. They had over 300 seats lined out, and at 9.30 they stacked 200 of them and took them away.

Eamon O'Cuiv was the main public rep, also present, Michael Healy-Rae, a FG lad, and a representative of a local councilor. B.Joyce and C.O'Donnell spoke very well. O'Cuiv spoke pretty well too, he's obviously done his homework. Having the others there to speak was a complete joke! Half the night listening to a party political broadcast from each of them.

Apart from that it was just an IFA bashing session. Anti IFA lads exchanging views with the pro IFA lads in the room. Very few ideas being put forward, just moaning.

2013 Teagasc profit monitor: Net profit per hill ewe was MINUS €5 per ewe. Not a mention about this!

It's not for me to comment on the content of a meeting I didn't attend. We organised the very successful meeting in Westport, and obviously had our speakers at it. Following on from that Donegal farmers organised a very successful meeting where we sent speakers to. Obviously something has gone wrong with the organisation for the Bantry meeting. As far as I know ads were taken out in local papers, radio slots, and people spoke at local marts. We did our part with Brendan and Colm going down.

However it's not for farmers from Connemara, Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim, Donegal to organise a meeting in West Cork, nor vice versa. That's just not possible, we're not an official association with the contacts and financial support that gives. The only wage from this is lots of time spent on the road and on phones away from our families and our own farms.

I would say politicians are important in this, it's important they're informed and pressured, and kept pressured. Certainly it's a different vista seeing 1700 people vs 70 people but thems the breaks and life doesn't always run smoothly.

As I said previously the two main objectives of the group are to get rid of the collective agreement entry criteria in GLAS and also the min/max link to SFP (the latter has been changed). So, while we all recognise the difficulties in hill farming, inc Teagasc figures, they would not I would have thought fallen into the main points of any of the three meetings. But they certainly are another good reason as to why hill and commonage farmers should not be discriminated against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

lads, be very very wary of politicians, they have a mighty track record of shafting, in order to get their way.

flutered wrote: »
    lads, be very very wary of politicians, they have a mighty track record of shafting, in order to get their way.

Very true, being quite pragmatic about them to be honest :)