Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2015

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭gandalfio

lbj666 wrote: »
    Otherway round i reckon on with underworld and Belle and sebastian. Just makes more sense to have the dance lads on last.

Just going by the announcement earlier that Belle and Sebastian are closing the EA. But I may have misread that

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭beansybeansy

He once said Daft Punk were hotly rumour, the year RAM came out. EP were recording majors loses and DP appearance fee would have been astronomical plus they don't like touring. He is not in the know as he comes across.

If Underworld are on friday , that means the "dancey" set late on saturday night is wide open , unless they want to put blur on and time it with rte's live coverage if they are doing it.

Could be Hot Chip , could be Hopkins.

Hot Chip would be a good shout for main stage, reckon Hopkins for EA. Seen Hot Chip play a main stage at Barcelona about 3am in the morning a couple of years ago and they nailed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭BananaR

Otherway round i reckon on with underworld and Belle and sebastian.

I concur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭pmalone

Mince Pie wrote: »
    I was there wearing me hat at 5.15pm. I got a bit delayed with the pitching of the tent.

Let's do this better this year ... this year we are going up on the thursday night in campervans, so I will deffo be there this year.

5PM at the Salty dog then .... how will we know its us .... or is it "Hi are you a boardie?"

Board is rather lively tonight, obvs naff all on telly!!

pmalone wrote: »
    Let's do this better this year ... this year we are going up on the thursday night in campervans, so I will deffo be there this year.

5PM at the Salty dog then .... how will we know its us .... or is it "Hi are you a boardie?"

That was pretty much the strategy and it didn't work! so we do need something more robust this year!! Anyone wearing fancy dress?? Offer to make a sign??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lbj666

declanleo wrote: »
    Friday

Florence
    Sam Smith
    Belle and Sebastian
    Underworld
    Chvches
    Ride

Saturday

Blur
    Roisin Murphy
    George Ezra
    Battles
    Mac DeMarco
    MK
    Low

Sunday

Manic Street Preachers
    Interpol
    Tame Impala
    Paul Kalkbrenner
    Jurassic 5
    Django Django
    Gavin James

Lads what Stuart Clarke said is very similar to this , which was pulled off the bands websites.

I still don't trust what he says fully.

That was pretty much the strategy and it didn't work! so we do need something more robust this year!! Anyone wearing fancy dress?? Offer to make a sign??

yes a sign or a daft umbrella

any suggestions ... bohdrandude will be there early for sure ... I think I know what he looks like from his blog.. but apart form that I don;t know anyone here.

Lads what Stuart Clarke said is very similar to this , which was pulled off the bands websites.

so he just nicked his info from here ... tut tut.

It would seem a bit odd leaving none of the "bigger" names left for the day trippers

so he just nicked his info from here ... tut tut.

It would seem a bit odd leaving none of the "bigger" names left for the day trippers

That's what Mr Beansy just said, he was fully expecting Blur or Flo for Friday for that purpose

• Registered Users Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

I wore a fecking hat, I had posted a pic of said hat on last years thread.
    I have a purple top hat with goggles I am more than happy to wear.
    We need to make it between 5-5.30pm in case of distraction or tent drama

I did have randoms coming up to me over the weekend asking me if I was a boardsie because of my hat. Lol

Although this year its looking like spot the muppet in the poncho.

I did have randoms coming up to me over the weekend asking me if I was a boardsie because of my hat. Lol

Perhaps my beer goggles were thicker than I realised last year! sorry

just wearing a hat is not enough though, we need something more "robust" as was said above. If it rains everyone is wearing a hat.

for reference I am the auld geezer who should have more sense :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Underworld have to be on the main stage. They ate one of the main acts ffs

for reference I am the auld geezer who should have more sense :)

I sense more than 1 or 2 of them as well....

Ok, I'm gonna throw this out there, please dont quote so i can take edit at a later stage.

Look for this muppet in the hat.

11885380_10152891983761735_6767382298019834866_n.jpg?oh=4633dbd689ca69e4323d0fc4eaba4854&oe=563EADC6

cant miss you for sure ...

Yup an oul wan who should have more sense. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

So underworld in the EA tent and the rest of them on the main stage ?

suppose the running would be Ride, Chvrches, Belle & Sebastian, Sam Smith, Florence .. or am i overestimating Sam Smith as a big draw (personally I don't like that album)
    Belle & Sebastian are headlining the EA.
    going on previous Friday nights, there won't be anything else of note in the EA.

Bowlardo wrote: »
    Underworld have to be on the main stage. They ate one of the main acts ffs
    last time they played they were on the main stage, before Pulp, so I'd imagine they're doing the same this year for Florence & the Machine, assuming those days are accurate.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,754 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

just wearing a hat is not enough though, we need something more "robust" as was said above. If it rains everyone is wearing a hat

Not wear any pants?

yeah, just checked his twitter and he says that he's getting the days off the websites, so it's obviously not worth a sh1te.

https://twitter.com/stuartclark66/status/636180563020382208

yeah, just checked his twitter and he says that he's getting the days off the websites

Sure we could all do that! Where's my radio slot then?

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭Slobberdawn

BananaR wrote: »
    Sure we could all do that! Where's my radio slot then?

I actually quite like Clarke but that is some ****e to be coming out with.

I'd be amazed if Florence isn't on Sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 689 ✭✭✭bennyob

Yup an oul wan who should have more sense. :P

Me and a friend met me ye last year. We'll probably drop down again.

bennyob wrote: »
    Me and a friend met me ye last year. We'll probably drop down again.

yes, I keep forgetting yer names. Lol. Met in Trenchtown. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

I don't know Melvin Benn was on the same show but never corrected him. I suppose we will all know next Thursday :):)

I don't think Benn was on the line then, he probably wouldn't stop him anyway as Benn wouldn't be involved in the scheduling/booking so probably doesn't know exactly when most acts are playing.
    i think someone from Villagers noticed and corrected him anyway:

https://twitter.com/stuartclark66/status/636196828791316480

yeah, just checked his twitter and he says that he's getting the days off the websites, so it's obviously not worth a sh1te.

https://twitter.com/stuartclark66/status/636180563020382208

Seriously .. he just took that form here... !

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭gandalfio

I don't think Benn was on the line then, he probably wouldn't stop him anyway as Benn wouldn't be involved in the scheduling/booking so probably doesn't know exactly when most acts are playing.
    i think someone from Villagers noticed and corrected him anyway:

https://twitter.com/stuartclark66/status/636196828791316480

And was it not Sunday he said for Villagers? Guy seems to be a bit of a moron