Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A way into Software Development

Options
  • 05-09-2014 10:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 16

I'm wondering if someone with experience in software development could give me some advice on my strategy to get into the field.

I know the college degree vs self-taught debate has been done to death but this is a blend of both.

From my research I have found that the skills that are most widely demanded and have the highest level of entry positions are:
    Java
    Sql
    Html/Css/Javascript

So focusing on these should yield the best results in terms of marketability. I can't justify the cost + time commitment of getting a degree in University. Simply because if I were to devote 4 years studying the above technologies and avoiding a lot of the "filler" courses that I would have to do in University, I believe I would have a skills edge on a graduate.

But, at the same time many of the job adverts require a degree to get started. To mitigate this, I'm getting some industry certs. I know people have a mixed opinion on the value of these but I think they can help me tick the education box that hiring managers like to have.

I'm currently doing:

- Java 7 Professional Developer, Oracle
    - Database Administration Certificate, O'Rielly School

I'm thinking of doing:

- Udacity Nano Degree

I have also done: