Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Registered Users Posts: 24,438 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

A few of the lads that will be heading to the mart this week

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Reggie. wrote: »

What age/weight roughly Reggie? What ya hoping for?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭mayota

You made a good job of them, hope you are rewarded.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Where's Muster gone?!

4FT2ML.png

AP2014 wrote: »
    What age/weight roughly Reggie? What ya hoping for?

17 months old. Range from about 420kg to over 500kg. AA made €2.20 to €2.30 a kg in local marts here last Friday so I'm hoping for a €2 a kg. Anything more is a bonus in my mind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

17 months old. Range from about 420kg to over 500kg. AA made €2.20 to €2.30 a kg in local marts here last Friday so I'm hoping for a €2 a kg. Anything more is a bonus in my mind.

Nice stock, hopefully ya get the €1000 for them anyway. Have a few continentals to go myself soon around the 500kg mark. Stores seem to be decent trade at the moment.

AP2014 wrote: »
    Nice stock, hopefully ya get the €1000 for them anyway. Have a few continentals to go myself soon around the 500kg mark. Stores seem to be decent trade at the moment.

That's what I'm hoping for. My uncle reckons he'll eat an onion if I get over 1000. So here's hoping :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Muckit wrote: »
    Yes it's good to keep your options open. Cattle could be old hat next year and elephants could be the next niche market :D

the gates might need upgrading though...

Elephants no, rain deers yes (breeding for the Xmas market):D

The field on the far side of the wall had no shelter whatsover. So hopefully this should do the job nicely.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

tanko wrote: »
    What do you think of favori so far Mac?

First calf by him, the cow calved him on her own life which is always a plus. Calf is handy enough but time will tell. The heifer out of elite flag looks to be a smasher at the moment.

tanko wrote: »
    Very nice jdi, nice bag of milk there, is she a lim x sim mother?
    Springer's mother was by simmental bull HKG and she is by limousin bull FL22.
    FTY is by Cerberus (WGE). I would be a bit wary of his docility because of that.
    I experienced the wild side of Cerberus today!! :D

So now I've a FTY heifer out of FL22 - she should be fun!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

The first monster out of a cf52 bull I bought last Christmas. He has to be at least 60 kg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Jaysus Miname! Hard pull?

He's almost ready for the fatstock in Carrick this year:D

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Jaysus Miname! Hard pull?

He's almost ready for the fatstock in Carrick this year:D

No pull at all but the cows got a huge back end. I'm going to start starving the rest of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Heading in for test TB14

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Miname wrote: »
    No pull at all but the cows got a huge back end. I'm going to start starving the rest of them.
    Ya, cow being right at the hips is the most important factor of all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Heading in for test TB14

Have you to brucellosis test aswell ? Makes it alot easier if not

Bullocks wrote: »
    Have you to brucellosis test aswell ? Makes it alot easier if not

No bloods this year TG. finished now. Stated at 7 am, can't beat early start. Try and minimise disruption to milkers

• Registered Users Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Charliebull

The first monster out of a cf52 bull I bought last Christmas. He has to be at least 60 kg

52 is/was a great bull, you were lucky to get him, whats the 52 bulls dam

Sorry meant cf 85 ( Balthazar). Bloody codes I keep mixing them up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Sorry meant cf 85 ( Balthazar). Bloody codes I keep mixing them up.

Was another good bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Happy with this girls progress. I think she will be a keeper. Cow is pbnr sim bought from Celtic herd, sire is Celtic herds stock bull. Nice beef to the heals type and mother has loads of milk.

You may have to downsize the photo mods, I didn't realise it was as big.

Are ye sure that's not Con on his quad? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Licked a month ago, jobs a good'un!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭893bet

Bb! Sell or squeeze!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭893bet

Handy if I attached pic....

Licked a month ago, jobs a good'un!

And the grass is flying ahead. Is that the spot you did after the u21 final? Will you top or leave it?

893bet wrote: »
    Handy if I attached pic....

How old?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

just do it wrote: »
    And the grass is flying ahead. Is that the spot you did after the u21 final? Will you top or leave it?

That's it alright, I might cut them with the strimmers in a few more weeks. Too many stones for the topper!