Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Registered Users Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

stanflt wrote: »
    Lovely sunny Sunday morning for herding

I thought that the like of them would be sack religious to you ha

• Registered Users Posts: 10,820 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I thought that the like of them would be sack religious to you ha

Long term plan must be to go suckling.:cool:

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users Posts: 24,451 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

He's finally figured out where the money is

• Registered Users Posts: 11,599 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Pipe work would have to be changed first.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Lovely sunny Sunday morning for herding

Tis gas, if they were in cork today at that distance you wouldn't have seen em with the mist. The rain last night you could nearly see the grass driving on today with it, then again everything looks greener after rain

• Registered Users Posts: 24,451 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Mooooo wrote: »
    Tis gas, if they were in cork today at that distance you wouldn't have seen em with the mist. The rain last night you could nearly see the grass driving on today with it, then again everything looks greener after rain

Savage fog down around me today also

• Registered Users Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭stanflt

Another batch of to grass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Another batch of to grass

Ah they won’t produce much white stuff, what’s the story??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭stanflt

Panch18 wrote: »
    Ah they won’t produce much white stuff, what’s the story??

Diversification
    Happy with holding cow numbers at 180

Bought 70 270-350 ch just for something diff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Diversification
    Happy with holding cow numbers at 180

Bought 70 270-350 ch just for something diff

Ah very good

Good to have a bit of variety around the place

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

He’ll be getting woolies next!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Panch18 wrote: »
    Ah very good

Good to have a bit of variety around the place
    Getting into better quality:-P

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭golodge

Over 20C heat for the past month doesn't look to help girls calve faster.
    This one is 12yo bbxdairy cow, on 288th day today
    DSCF3040.jpg
    This one is either on 298th day, or got bred on her second heat. Due with her 2nd calf.
    DSCF3050.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

The straggler limousin of mine finally calved today, 298 days i think? Big bull. She calved herself grand, watched her through a strategically placed hole in the wall :D But he was calved in the veil and stupid eejit heifer hadn't the cop on to leap up to lick him so I had a quick dash across the shed to whip it off.
    Would be a fúcking pain in the hole to lose a calf to something like that.

The straggler limousin of mine finally calved today, 298 days i think? Big bull. She calved herself grand, watched her through a strategically placed hole in the wall :D But he was calved in the veil and stupid eejit heifer hadn't the cop on to leap up to lick him so I had a quick dash across the shed to whip it off.
    Would be a fúcking pain in the hole to lose a calf to something like that.

Tags in & out the door today!:D

452120.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 10,820 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Love the way the cow doesn't even flince in this;

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Love the way the cow doesn't even flince in this;

Unreal quiet alright , it must've been some relief to get them off at that stage

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Wtf....he'd have been quicker with a butter knife

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭golodge

Finally! The old lady has calved today. 293 days. Nice heifer. Hopefully a replacement. The cow only had bulls for the last six years.
    DSCF3006.jpg
    DSCF3009.jpg

It's about a fortnight later than normal.
    But finally!!. The sceach is in great bloom.

ZkEIjgm.jpg

He's actually rather plain when dried off! He's big & wide and well fed with a deep tail, but not got the panache the heifer last year had imo. Won't go hungry anyway! :D

Looks like he might have some similar genes to his sister after all :pac:

De9T4E-XcAE3of3.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Seaba

A good Simmental heifer calf of ours - Curaheen Gunshot (SI4147)
    Nearly 3 months old. A keeper.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Seaba wrote: »
    A good Simmental heifer calf of ours - Curaheen Apostle (SI4147)
    Nearly 3 months old. A keeper.

Are them photos recent?

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Seaba

Are them photos recent?
    Yep. This morning. Had a cow in for the AI - had to bring them all in.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭Homer

Posted these over in the Dublin county north forum as thats where they were taken but thought the good folk of this forum might appreciate them also.
    Just taken in the field behind my house in Walshestown which is about 10 minutes north of Dublin airport.

42733241201_3a1727ecd4_c.jpgWalshestown Fields, on Flickr

27864352367_7ed6c1b3af_c.jpgWalshestown Fields, on Flickr

42684012472_f0b00d7abf_c.jpgWalshestown Fields, on Flickr

27864353507_f664b3c04e_c.jpgWalshestown Fields, on Flickr

He's doing well! Have TVR straws got for the cow but maybe I should keep the same :pac:
    There's also a cameo by my giant dock. :P

https://twitter.com/LadyHaywire/status/1007715932360278016

There's vegetables and fruit trees in some of these pics so it's kind of farming related.

A visit to the Colclough walled gardens on the Tintern estate, Tintern Abbey, Co.Wexford this afternoon.
    One walled in section is flowering plants with fruit trees trained on the walls and loads of apple trees and another walled in section is purely fruit trees and vegetables.

Edit: a tip from the gardener there for roses is to prune down hard in November and to dig in wood ash and chicken manure around them in the winter.

A few more!

The last few.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Woodville Gardens in kilcreest loughrea co Galway is a very nice walled garden also for anyone in the west or visiting.