Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Looking fit on the winterage so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Shockin lookin.......I’d sell them......let me know when and where they’!! be for sale :D

Very healthy looking...are they in calf to the CH...... will you put them on nuts...enough questions:D

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Shockin lookin.......I’d sell them......let me know when and where they’!! be for sale :D

Very healthy looking...are they in calf to the CH...... will you put them on nuts...enough questions:D

No didn't give them anything yet, might start giving them a bit next week, they are in mighty order so far but a bad week wouldn't be long changing them. Few of them starting to soften a little but aswell so they would want a bit. Don't think I've ever seen them to hold as well in it before. Think most of that bundle are in calf to the charolais alright and maybe a couple to the lim.

Are all your stock out or do you have any housed?
    Are they brought in for calving?

No they are all out, I try and bring them closer to home for calving but I always end up having a few calving on the winterage. I only have enough space to keep 5 or 6 cows inside when calving. I'd rather them calving outside anyway, no joint ill, pneumonia and way less scours. I could badly do with a few pens for the weanlings though because it's messy enough feeding them outside. Next year maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Grueller

No they are all out, I try and bring them closer to home for calving but I always end up having a few calving on the winterage. I only have enough space to keep 5 or 6 cows inside when calving. I'd rather them calving outside anyway, no joint ill, pneumonia and way less scours. I could badly do with a few pens for the weanlings though because it's messy enough feeding them outside. Next year maybe.

Delighted to see this post LC. Heard of that accident in Clare yesterday where a wall fell worker building on a farm and I got an awful thought in my head that you are from Clare and do farm building. Glad that I added 2 + 2 and got 1366.

Grueller wrote: »
    Delighted to see this post LC. Heard of that accident in Clare yesterday where a wall fell worker building on a farm and I got an awful thought in my head that you are from Clare and do farm building. Glad that I added 2 + 2 and got 1366.

The far end of the County from me, was talking to one of the lad's from our GAA Club that marked him a few time's over the years, was supposed to be a hardy bit of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,448 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I might have asked this before, but can marteye not be cast to a TV from phone?
    Have to plug in laptop with a hdmi. They have a post up on Facebook in August about casting to TV coming soon.

Don't know.
    But if you've chromecast on the phone and the tv you can mirror whatever is on the phone screen onto the tv screen.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Looking fit on the winterage so far.

Lovely photo. Will make a great screen saver. Thanks.

Not nice to think their days might be numbered due to profitability.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    Lovely photo. Will make a great screen saver. Thanks.

Not nice to think their days might be numbered due to profitability.

You're welcome. Don't think they will look as good tomorrow in the snow though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

250,000gns for a limousin maiden heifer.

Genuine question - Can someone please tell free why it is so much better than the others?

Or are the buyers/sellers in cahoots and just taking the piss out of everyone?

https://thatsfarming-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/thatsfarming.com/beef/250000gns-limousin-heifer/?amp_js_v=a6&amp_gsa=1&usqp=mq331AQHKAFQArABIA%3D%3D#aoh=16119598919018&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&amp_tf=From%20%251%24s&ampshare=https%3A%2F%2Fthatsfarming.com%2Fbeef%2F250000gns-limousin-heifer%2F

Full siblings making 15 or 20k , flush her a few times and you won't long be having loads of embryos and people will pay bug bucks for the embryos out of a heifer worth a quarter of a million,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Genuine question - Can someone please tell free why it is so much better than the others?

https://thatsfarming-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/thatsfarming.com/beef/250000gns-limousin-heifer/?amp_js_v=a6&amp_gsa=1&usqp=mq331AQHKAFQArABIA%3D%3D#aoh=16119598919018&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&amp_tf=From%20%251%24s&ampshare=https%3A%2F%2Fthatsfarming.com%2Fbeef%2F250000gns-limousin-heifer%2F

I took a liking to her and got carried away...... had a bit of money in the bank account due to all the lockdowns:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,469 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

She's out of Milbrook Ginger Spice. You see her here at 0:37.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=j5FZYRfmXuY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭tanko

Full siblings making 15 or 20k , flush her a few times and you won't long be having loads of embryos and people will pay bug bucks for the embryos out of a heifer worth a quarter of a million,

I wonder how much they paid for the embryo she came from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,529 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

they won't make it if there's a lot of her line around , you'll buy it for feckalL in a couple years, siblings might make a bonus but after that the place will be flooded with them and buyers will avoid them Buy them then and you'll be in too late

Well if its similar to how things operate on this side of the pond, then yes. Price agreed beforehand. Wouldn't you think they'd use their imagination some bit. 250,000 too tidy a number. Shell still end up in burgers at the end of the day.
    The gas thing is the grand-dam is out of a stock bull.

Fools and their money are easily parted. For the last few years, most heifers are not even getting a bid at the Premier sales in Roscrea. € 3000 would get you a smasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Fools and their money are easily parted. For the last few years, most heifers are not even getting a bid at the Premier sales in Roscrea. € 3000 would get you a smasher.

Way too many limos around, good for the lad buying a bull

I know a fews lads here who are putting char straws in their pedigree lim cows now. Too many in the country. That heifer was Elgin by Vantastic. Just checked there and 62 animals with that breeding on the Irish society herd book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,332 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I know a fews lads here who are putting char straws in their pedigree lim cows now. Too many in the country. That heifer was Elgin by Vantastic. Just checked there and 62 animals with that breeding on the Irish society herd book.

It can be luck too
    Remember a PB CH breeder telling me he’d 2 ET bulls born within days & were like twins (hard to tell apart)
    Brought them to a big CH sale
    1 came 2nd in class & other 3rd
    The 2nd got €3500 while the 3rd got €10000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

The lad born at the weekend at 303 days. Off homebred Loyal bull. Came very CH-ish like the cow.

mgwMg7el.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,332 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

The lad born at the weekend at 303 days. Off homebred Loyal bull. Came very CH-ish like the cow.

mgwMg7el.jpg

Fierce size
    That’s where a good roomy cow comes into her own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Fierce size
    That’s where a good roomy cow comes into her own

That's her there back left, 3rd calver. Once we got the shoulders through the pelvis he came handy enough, looks a grand sort at the moment anyway. Hard fed calf though, he'd eat udder & all if he could.

Charolais yearling heifer out of a he x fr cow. Very quiet, should make a nice replacement in time.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Charolais yearling heifer out of a he x fr cow. Very quiet, should make a nice replacement in time.

You can see the Charolais in the thick bone!

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

She's a smasher. Lovely shape to her and nice feminine head.

I like those types, easy fleshed too for the winterage. She hasn't got any silage all the winter just 3kg nuts a day on the winterage. I know a lot of fellas don't like keeping anything with a white head but the ones from the milker cows nearly always have some bit of white breaking through somewhere on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭390kid

I like those types, easy fleshed too for the winterage. She hasn't got any silage all the winter just 3kg nuts a day on the winterage. I know a lot of fellas don't like keeping anything with a white head but the ones from the milker cows nearly always have some bit of white breaking through somewhere on them.
    I’d be with you on that one they have to have a white face, belly or elder if there to make it as a suckler in my eyes.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Is there a big difference at the mart selling stores castrated vs non-castrated?
    Got a few which we'll not be able to finish that are intact and are about 410kg @ 8mths.

From now on there's usually a premium for store bullocks over bull's at lighter weights due to demand from summer grazer's. In the autumn time there isn't much of a difference in most cases.

However imo they'd want to be done a month or more and visibly looking like a bullock to get a premium. Castrating them today and selling next week means they still look like a bull regardless of what's announced and lads will usually buy them as such. If your going to sell in the next fortnight I'd leave them as they are tbh because I don't see it making much of a difference. As above if you could hold them for a few weeks then I'd get them done ASAP and you'll have something that should appeal to the type of lad that wants a handy time of it for the summer. The same lad will give them a dose in the mart chute before loading and let them straight into the field when he goes home and is well prepared to pay for this convenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Barron lad

If they were my cattle I wouldn't castrate them as at that weight I would fear they would melt, with the prices good bulls are making at the minute, I would save yourself the hardship and sell them as they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

LC, you have great stock fair play to you. I would love a small spot like that to keep a few cattle out for winter