Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

19 months

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Some of this years calves, enjoying the sunshine

2 bulls for the autumn. Both pbr Limousin

• Registered Users Posts: 24,450 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Mac Taylor wrote: »

Where did you find sunshine :)

Reggie. wrote: »
    Where did you find sunshine :)

In between the bloody showers, crap weather for almost the first of June.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭tanko

Mac Taylor wrote: »

Nice Bulls, what are they bred off?

tanko wrote: »
    Nice Bulls, what are they bred off?

The lad on the left is out of Ramses (14 months) and the lad on the right is out of adrlea Dan (13 months) half thinking of keeping the Ramses lad as my own lad is getting awfully big for my own cows (but he's throughing great calves and is quite)

Both are 4/5 stars whereas my own stock bull is only 3.5 (rocky bull)

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Justjens

Justjens wrote: »
    This fella decided to enter this world with his best assets first, at 3am, needless to say I had to wake my vet for assistance.

2 1/2 year old SH/CH cross heifer, thank God she was quiet......

DSC_0021_zps70fe3c88.jpg

AA sire, thankfully he has waited to fully develop once he hit terra firma:)

DSC_0024_zps01689ceb.jpg

And 8 months later...it's the cow that needs a break!

DSC_0091_zpshtyyxzcg.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭dzer2

Is cow back in calf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Jesus thons a brave size

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Poor little babba has had a very hard weathered start to her life! Two days of crappy weather to welcome her to the world.
    Thank feck for hedges and sensible mammies that shelter the calf or hide it. Just spent half an hour trying to find the wee yoke.

345t8SMl.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Kovu wrote: »
    Poor little babba has had a very hard weathered start to her life! Two days of crappy weather to welcome her to the world.
    Thank feck for hedges and sensible mammies that shelter the calf or hide it. Just spent half an hour trying to find the wee yoke.

345t8SMl.jpg

Lovely outfit it is. Nice shapey heifer calf, and a nice bag of milk under the cow.

She's a topper of a cow to be sure, off Tarot and a ET Hortensia dam, you're right about her bag, loads of milk and a nice tidy udder makes life so much easier for calving out! Only problem is she broke late last year so that's why she's so late calving. Have a serious overpopulation of heifers this year now.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Justjens

dzer2 wrote: »
    Is cow back in calf

AFAIK she is, to HE stock bull this time with any luck. All she needs is a few months of grass.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

345t8SMl.jpg

What's the calf by? Very well made deep bodied cow. She'd be the for the blue bull kovi!

RobinBanks wrote: »
    What's the calf by? Very well made deep bodied cow. She'd be the for the blue bull kovi!

Ere, she'll be the last of those for a while I'd say, have to think about the suitability of them for buyers! Aye she's had one blue before for her first calf, off VMP. He was a lovely fella, had great bone to him.

Sourced an SFL straw for her earlier, was thinking along the same lines as you! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Have a serious overpopulation of heifers this year now.

If you're stuck etc etc and the quality is right and the money is small, I'll help you depopulate.
    Wouldn't see you stuck like :-)

If you're stuck etc etc and the quality is right and the money is small, I'll help you depopulate.
    Wouldn't see you stuck like :-)

Arrah sure we'll see if we get through the test first :(

How's that looking? Many more go down around ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Seen in the ifj 16% of deer carry tb in Wexford

Reggie. wrote: »
    How's that looking? Many more go down around ye

About ten that we know of in a mile radius. About half of them would border us on land. But a few have been clear so there's a teeny-weeny chance.

There's always hope

• Registered Users Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

IH784man wrote: »
    Seen in the ifj 16% of deer carry tb in Wexford

Wicklow

As of midday

• Registered Users Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭High bike

I said wrote: »
    As of midday
    are they hail stones or drops of rain:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

From this D8E3C6C1-BB0C-4275-B8E8-4D7DB6DF07D1_zpsu5muq4pz.png To this in 9 weeks, some thrive! 3F167722-EA44-49E3-9C39-82359E9737B6_zpsyriqlrst.jpg D0582D9C-A912-4F80-A2AD-43C4CDBA68B7_zpskfkvae4i.jpg

^^^^^^^^

do-she-got-a-booty-she-do-cow-meme.jpg

High bike wrote: »
    are they hail stones or drops of rain:rolleyes:

Snow

• Registered Users Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭tanko

KJB bull, ION cow.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

tanko wrote: »
    KJB bull, ION cow.

Cracker! I take it the cow has a nice sup of milk, my bulls by ion but his milk figures wouldn't inspire you. Still 4.5 star maternal though :rolleyes: